We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“miscellaneous opinion”
Review of Hostel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“miscellaneous opinion”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

this is a typical backpackers with many facilities, nice atmosphere, beautiful building, internet, great people to meet, but............. i paid 14 dollars for the smallest room i ever been in and without shower, and it stayed warm, the room was not a good deal. for that price you can get a much better room. So do check out your room before you decide to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    205
    76
    21
    15
See reviews for
12
162
151
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

On my first visit I stayed in a single room by the pool. The room was small but functional. With only one window and low ceiling it was quite hot but bearable with the fan. To get to the room one must walk on the tiles around the pool, and these can often be wet and slippery. Non-smokers may be irritated by second hand smoke wafting in from nearby pool users.

Several days later I returned and requested a different single room; this one much closer to reception in the old part of the building. High ceilings and thick walls ensured a quiet and cooler nights sleep, and this room was at least 50% larger than my first one.

The hostel has numerous areas in which to hang out, relax, and meet other travellers and I would recommend it for this reason above everything else. There was a great friendly atmosphere here that is too often absent in backpacker accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms before accepting one. Staff seem to just grab any old key in order to show...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RandomPunter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I ended up staying at Oasis for over a week as we did 5 days of Spanish school in Granada - we really enjoyed our stay.

Our private double room was basic but all we needed. If you want to get your room cleaned you just have to let reception know in the morning which was a nice touch.

The kitchen was reasonably big and well equipped - only thing I would have suggested was perhaps the addition of another fridge - the one they had got extremely full when there were a lot of people staying there!

The place is massive and in an old colonial house which has the typical large courtyard featured in the middle. There is a small pool which was great on the hot Granada afternoons and so many hammocks and comfy chairs to chill out on through out the day and night.

The place had a nice social vibe (without being a crazy party hostel) while we were there and we met some great people. The location was fairly central to everything and I'd also recommend there day trip to Laguna de Apoyo - very relaxing!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I read a lot of the other reviews and I looked at staying at Hostel Oasis as an adventure. I was pleasantly surprised! The hostel was clean, charming and had architecture characteristic of Granada. There was a large common area with two small courtyards-- one had chairs and trees and was surrounded by hammocks; the other was the pool that had a TV nearby and the restaurant tables. The pool was spotless and looks like it does in the pictures. The hammocks were comfortable and there were plenty of computers with high speed internet for everyone to use. The dorms were very clean (white sheets!) and there were plenty of bathrooms. I loved the 11pm quiet time rule-- they really mean it! After 11, the place sorta shuts down; it's dark and quiet and you can get a pretty good night's sleep (for being in a shared hostel dorm room). The staff was friendly, but not over the top (let's be real; this isn't the Four Seasons) and they sell beer, water and soda for good prices. If I was to give one piece of advice to them, it would be: get new pillows! The pillows were lumpy and sorta weird, but again: it's a hostel. Most backpackers either have their own travel pillow or don't mind wadding up their towel or their backpack for firmer head support. Oh, and another thing: big lockers! If you have a big backpack, you can probably jam the whole pack in there. What a plus!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerB723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here the first week of may for 3 nights. Was our first spot we went, and we were not used to the heat so we got the ac room. The staff were friendly, spoke a little english and helped with my lack of Spanish. The little pool was an amazing place to relax after our jam packed days and then heaps of hammocks and chill out space to relax or meet some people. Probably wouldnt do ac again, and get one of the other rooms for better value. Also they offer a good shuttle service to their sister property at laguna de apoyo. Defiantly worth the day trip at least.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canoz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is an ok, cheap place to hang out and explore Granada and vicinity. But watch out - another guest had her passport and wallet stolen from her room while we were here. I would stay here again, but use common traveler's sense don't leave your valuables laying around and lock the door when you aren't around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed two nights in a private room. First night we went without AC, but since there was no breeze into our room it was pretty hot. The only place in Nica where I felt (at least in this room) AC was necessary.

Although the pool may be small, it was great to jump into. The location is very central as well.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 43 in Granada
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#13 of 43 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Oasis

Property: Hostel Oasis
Address: C. Estrada 109, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Oasis Granada
Hostel Oasis Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing