We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Best Place in Granada!”
Review of Hotel Terrasol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terrasol
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We spent three lovely nights at Hotel Terrasol. The owners are so helpful and friendly, they really made the rest of our trip so much more successful. Our room was clean and well appointed, the breakfast in the morning was simple and delicious. The location is a couple blocks from the main square making it a quiet choice at night! We would never think of staying somewhere else on our return trip to Granada (we've stayed in 5 different places before).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 418 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you are staying in Granada and looking for an affordable, clean and comfortable place to stay, you must stay at Hotel Terrasol. We had an exceptional experience here during our 4 days in Granada. The hotel is small, clean, and feels very secure and safe. And best of all, the owners Katya and Victor are wonderful to stay with. They are friendly, warm and perhaps most importantly, they were very helpful while we were there. They provided us with great suggestions and recommendations on the area and places to go/things to do. My fiance and I were unfortunate enough to contract a bacterial infection (eating somewhere in Granada) while we were staying there. Katya and Victor helped us find the correct meds to recover, helped us change our travel plans because we were ill, and made us feel incredibly comfortable under difficult circumstances. We have said dozens of times since then, that we felt so lucky we were staying at Hotel Terrasol when this happened! I couldn't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a week in decembre 2011. The room on the third floor was quiet, spotless and had a small window - the three most important items for us. The lack of hot water was actually a plus, since it was quite hot in Granada. We had a fan that kept us confortable at night. The neighborhood was both animated and quiet. One can safely walk to the town center or restaurants in 5-10 minutes.
We told the owners that we did not like tours, and they helped us organized all our outings around Granada by public buses or trustable taxis when buses were not available. They got us brown bread for breakfast when we told them that we preferred bread to croissants. There are two good and cheap restaurants on the same street - a Mexican and a Costa Rican (Florestal, I think). Would stay there again anytime especially at that price.

Room Tip: Room on the third floors are very quiet, especially room number 9 which had a small window on the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I recommend this hotel to everyone! The owners are very friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast is great, the art and decor of the hotel are charming and the price can't be beat! Every time I go to Granada, I stay in the Hotel Terrasol (actually, I switched it up once-- but never again!) This hotel is my #1 top pick!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have a balcony overlooking the street (cool view, maybe a little more noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SummerB723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The owners of this hotel make it a great place to stay. They were so helpful with recommendations on the area, places to see and go eat. Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Granada!! They did not have a room for my second night but arranged the same rate in a place just a block away but offer that if I needed anything to just come on over!!

Rooms were fine, no hot showers but that is typical of rooms in this price range. The warmth and helpfulness of the owners makes this a top place to stay in my book!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RadiomanADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel was fantastic! Victor and Katya were most helpful as was the rest of their staff. The location is great. The breakfast is just right. We both slept really well because the room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Never needed hot water because a cool shower was refreshing after a long day of walking so I can't see why that's a big deal to other travellers. The computer in the lobby has a great internet connection, or if you bring your own laptop you can sit in the dining room and have a great connection there too. When we had to catch an early morning bus, Katya got up early to give us both a coffee and packed us our breakfast so we could eat it on the bus. They clearly love what they do, and they do it well! We really enjoyed our time in Granada because of them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angmichsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Chose this as our last stop in Nicaragua and were disappointed. Had false expectations from reviews on Trip Advisor (in fact, this is really the first time Trip Advisor let us down). The room was very hot and didn't smell quite right (although the mosquitos must have liked the odor). Not having hot water was a drag and when I went downstairs to ask whether there was normally hot water, I couldn't get an answer. I'm not sure who Victor and Katya are, but they certainly weren't around whn we visited. It's probably a good deal if you're looking for a simple, budget hotel and don;t mind carrying your bags up a couple of flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katyanajlis, Owner at Hotel Terrasol, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Dear Howard and Janelle
We are very sorry that our humble Hotel did not meet your expectations, We do try very hard to please everyone that stays with us. We are going to look into the items that you mentioned and will resolve them right away. We have never claimed to have hot water in the Hotel. For the type of accomodations we are the foremost Budget Hotel in the city.
Again we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you and we hope to make it up to you if you ever visit Granada in the future.
Thank you
Victor and Katya
Hotel Terrasol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 45 in Granada
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Generalife
Hotel Casa Generalife
#41 of 45 in Granada
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasol

Address: Avenida Barricada | Antiguo Teatro Colonial 75 Varas al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $28 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrasol hotel is constructed as a neighbor's typical colonial house, which turns it a hotel with enchantment totally equipped to the present necessities of comfort, keeping a esthetic and a decoration, so that their stay and lodging in Granada are unforgettable. Our hotel in Granada respects the initial structure of the building, that is to say, the rooms are arranged around three balconies with huge views to the outside, from which the majestic Mombacho volcano can be appreciated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Terrasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing