We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked this hotel to have a family vacation (mum, dad, sister, wife and two kids) over the festive break. The place is a paradise with 2 pools, nice little beach and snuck between 2 villages a short cab fare away. My room was beautiful overlooking the second pool and was spacious with my five year old in the double bed and 1 year old in his cot. The temperature was prefect and did not seem to have too much issued with the local pests compared to other locations in Thailand. My son has bad allergies and is asthmatic and the staff (especially the executive chef) supported our special needs and was very accommodating. If you want good food, relaxation and watch the sun go down over the horizon while sipping cocktails on the beach at happy hour it is the place to be. Had a fantastic time and would love to get back over there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray-Garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we very much appreciate for this. I already share your comment with all of our staff and hope that this feedback will stimulate to all of our staff as we aim to improve the quality of our service.

We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway very near in the future.


Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    223
    88
    43
    24
See reviews for
145
312
31
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had dinner every night at the restaurant. We found the Thai food prepared by the kitchen was outstanding. Credits to the chefs and all other kitchen staff involved. Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive. The relaxing time at the pool with happy hour cocktails were a great way to slow down after a long and tiring diving day. Check in and check out were a bit slow, but what the heck, it was holiday after all and we were not rushing :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding you stay at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway, I already share with all of my staff especially kitchen staff. I sure this feedback will stimulate to all of our staff as we aim to improve the quality of our service.

We do hope to welcoming you back to stay with us very near in the future.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel has everything going for it, a great, private beach front location, beautifully designed with all of the right facilities. It just completely prices itself out of the market for food and drink. there's a great little restaurant 50ft up the beach for dinner at less than half the price and a super place just 150 yards up the road for a great breakfast so nobody stays around the hotel to give it any real atmosphere - such a shame. Stayed for 4 full days and only had one meal in the hotel and that was a special Christmas eve party buffet on the beach. The food was very good but you can get good food at half a dozen different places in very easy walking distance. So I can firmly recommend staying at this great place but wandering out to eat.

When it comes to drink you can generally get them in local hostelries for half the price that the Mercure sells it at and the minimart 100ft from their front gate sell is at almost a quarter the price. The Mercure has good fridges in their rooms so I recommend doing what we did - buy booze at the minimart and keep it in the fridge. Their Prosecco was very drinkable - the minimart even sold me a corkscrew for the local wine!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms, well worth the extra - waking up to the sound of the waves lapping on the beach. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, I already share this feedback to all of my staff especially food and beverage side. I am sure that this feedback will stimulate to all of our staff as we aim to improve the quality of our service.

Thank you again for this, it would be our great pleasure to welcome you to stay with us again and hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phuket
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have selected Mercure cause lot of people advised about beautiful beach of Mercure hotel. I do presume now they don' t know what is a beautiful beach.Mercure should have one of the worst beach around. First its beach is polluted and it is really unpleasant to swim into excrements of each others. Secondly sand is not white and full of stones , corals that s hurt your feet. Personnel is not trained and you need a lot of time for check in and check out. Rooms small and you sleep ont the tile floor , no spring box . I am really disapointed regarding comments as lot of people I met at Mercure Hotel. Far away from accord standart !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanp22002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us and I will share your comment with our team. We sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of service.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you to stay with us again and we hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous stay.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile


The first thing that struck me about this hotel was the amazing design. Imagine if you will, a giant flying saucer, that has landed. It then splits in half and the top half is lifted from the lower half by a series of posts, revealing an inner atrium, ie reception area. The "saucer" is encircled by a water canal and gardens. Imagine the Holy Roman Empire and an alien civilisation got together to design a space craft and you'd get the idea! Anyway it is situated on a nice beach and the staff are quite friendly, but not as welcoming as you come to expect from hotel staff in Thailand. On our arrival we were ignored whilst the girls studied their computer screens. Normal behaviour in the UK, but not over here. The breakfast at 495 baht is ridiculously expensive and if you simply walk down the road outside, you can get a nice breakfast with all the trimmings for 160 baht. Also the walls between rooms are totally useless sound insulators. The couple next door could just have easily been inside our room and on one or two occasions I almost stepped in to referee their odd argument as the wife's point of view always seemed more reasonable than the husband's. All in all, I think the sound insulation could be a problem if you are a light sleeper, so bring some ear plugs.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pcgrowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we very much appreciate, I will share your comments with our team and very sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of the hotel and our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope to welcoming you back to stay at the Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway many more time in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Stayed in pool access room.
The management have to improve restaurant and bar including lowering the prices...both were empty for whole duration of holiday giving the hotel a soulless feel.
My advice also would be to take a Russian Vocabulary if you want to make friends. Unfortunately the atmosphere is like a Hotel in Russia and loses the friendly, hospitality vibe which I'm used to from Thai people.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miolsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKC_Management_Team, Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway. I will share your comments with our team and sure that will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.1 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
8.8 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
3.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
3.0 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel

Property: Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Address: 111/1 Moo 1, Ao Bai Lan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Bai Lan Bay, Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway, a 96 room modern beach front resort, is East from Trat Airport. Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand has large areas designated as its National Marine Park, providing a natural retreat filled with fascinating wildlife and marine life, high peaks, scenic waterfalls, lush jungles and diving and other water sport facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing