We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with swimming pool access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms with swimming pool access”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and did enjoy a room with direct access to the second swimming pool. Check in and Check out was efficient. Service was friendly. Food in the restaurant was not cheap, but delicious. However chairs and tables in the restaurant look a little bit cheap.

But you can dine at 2 special tables close to the beach.

Located really in the South of the Island it is a 45 minutes drive from the Ferry. But we did like the quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    229
    95
    45
    26
See reviews for
153
320
31
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just stayed one night at the Mercure was fantastic, we had very warm welcome from the hotel general manager Khun Daphne and friendly staff. The twin bed room is very comfortable and cozy, we really impressed with the stunning environment. The spa is a nice place to visit, to rejuvenate and pamper yourself. We used the fitness facilities, while worked out we enjoyed garden panorama view.

We had Phad Thai, rad na and pizza for our dinner, it was so delicious. End of our night at the karaoke bar where we chilled out and kind escorted from Khun Daphne.

The varieties of breakfast is not much may according to the low occupancy but still hight quality.

Overall we enjoyed the hospitaily, staff are very helpful. In our room have a bath tub with jacuzzi. We would like to reccommend this hotel as a top property for your selection.

Room Tip: Every rooms are face to the sea. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangnoyKhumklao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed for 4 days mid May and the hotel was empty, most days had the main pool (Green) area to ourselves.

This place is in need of renovation, you can see signs of wear in many areas including the rooms.

Check in and out quick and efficient. We booked room only and on arrival was informed if we wanted breakfast 600 baht each plus taxes. Kidding eh, Just a couple of hundred metres outside the hotel is the Happy Turtle Restaurant and Bar and food available at a fraction of the Mercure cost.

The room was large as was the bathroom, water pressure fine and hot, bed soft, and all expected amenities.

The place is very quiet, but you can hear the hum of room air conditioning motors all over the place, not intrusive enough to interupt sleep, but still audible enough to know they are there.

Plenty of hanging space but no drawers for clothing, what is it with this place, such a large room and no one thought of drawers for clothing, we dumped our clothes on the floor a la backpackers.

Great view on the Blue pool and the scenery from our room. But who in their right minds makes pools with green tiles. The Green pool looks like a slime pit, but still very refreshing if you can overcome the green hue.

Nice beach, but as they seem to have created a pond like area of the sea with a barrier enclosing the sea water and as such the water is hot, hotter than the shower water, and very unhealthy I would think, Leave the sea and swim in pool(s). Blue one to my liking.

Nice gym.

Due to the high cost of food we did not eat in the hotel at all.

I do not understand hotels such as the Mercure, the infrastructure is there, very few guests and not once were we offered an incentive to eat or drink in the hotel with special offers, or to spend a few dollars more and upgrade our room. The staff are there just waiting to serve, and no one bothers to entice guests to partake. So we spent our money elsewhere. Just very poor management.

Would not recommend this hotel, there must be better places on the island that would offer better facilites at better prices. And closer to the ferry. This hotel is way down the southern end of the island over 30 minutes or so from the ferry.

When in next on Koh Chang we will select another hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps a sea front room oversooking the Green pool would be better than those overlooking the Blue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Was staying in Mercure from 20 till 25 of May. Located pretty far from ferry pier, but signs are everywhere and it is impossible to get lost.
Nice parking with security.
I stayed at pool-access room. Very spacious and light room. Everything is there. Laundry is also very fast and reliable.
It was low seaso, so sea was away)) u had to walk around 500 meters to swim. Free coral shoes are included.
But big green pool rescues situation.
Very kind personnel (especially french guys).
As usual accord group holds hotel in cool state.
Only one disappointment - had to wait for 1 hour till my room was ready (arrived at 14, moved in at 15.10) and Boone cared (just said, please wait). Room was booked in advance and fully prepaid.
Everything else is just awesome.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I m sure the hotel was really nice when it was opened some years ago! But now the rooms are run-down, everywhere in the hotel you see that the renovation would be necessary. The bay offers a nice view in the evening but the beach is not usable for swimming as the the waters is not deep enough. Because of the barrier built to avoide waves, the waters is trapped like in a pond and gets too hot (and starts to stink)...This island offers amazing beaches but in this hotel you are trapped at the pool, the whole bay is not usable for swimming in the sea!!
What is really nice is the pool area overlooking the sea!

Breakfast costs about 15 Euro/person/day, a real rip-off in Thailand! If Internet is not included in your room rate you have to pay ridiculous high sums! (wifi was included in our room, if not rate are : 1hour =6 euros).

TVs are really small, even in the superior rooms overlooking the sea! Mosquito nets in the rooms are just for decoration and let a 1 meter gap between bed and ceiling if used...but there are a lot of mosqutios so u better take your own net with you!!

The service is of poor quality as well! It seems that in this hotel work the unfriendliest Thais of the whole island, nobody ever smiles, no good morning when you pass the reception...the service team is not sufficiently trained...

Definetly not worth 4-stars. Better go for a hotel on another beach (like White Sand Beach- K.C. Grande Hotel), there go get much more for your money!!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne Y, General Manager at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Stefanblu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedbacks following your stay at Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway.

We have taken note for your comments regarding the various issues stated including the sea, renovation needed as well as the overall service level. These concerns have been addressed to the Department Head concerned. Please rest assured that the hotel is taking appropriate measures to rectify the problem and prevent future occurrence. We do appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention and therefore giving us an opportunity to improve.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon, and hopefully with improvements as to your last visit.

Best Regards,
Daphne YUAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.1 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
291 reviews
8.7 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
3.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
2.1 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel

Property: Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Address: 111/1 Moo 1, Ao Bai Lan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Bai Lan Bay, Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway, a 96 room modern beach front resort, is East from Trat Airport. Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand has large areas designated as its National Marine Park, providing a natural retreat filled with fascinating wildlife and marine life, high peaks, scenic waterfalls, lush jungles and diving and other water sport facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing