We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Dewa”
Review of The Dewa Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dewa Koh Chang
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the Dewa”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for nights on the last leg of our honeymoon.

It is a lovely hotel with a great pool area, they cocktails from the pool bar were lush. We hired a moped from the hotel and it is a great base from which to explore the island.

Breakfast was good with a great selection and we had the BBQ on the beach on our last night that was fabulous.

They also deliver cake to your room each evening!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnGrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Donngrim,

Thank you very much for the compliment.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    310
    58
    23
    16
See reviews for
199
557
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Family of 5 with pre-teen and teenagers all enjoyed hotel. Lovely white sand beach. Breakfast is good but lunch at the beach front restaurant not great. Try the Thai beach shacks for lunch. Rooms modern and clean. Pool is great for morning laps and not busy during the day. Worth hiring kayaks to visit island off beach.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dibbbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Dibbbkk,

We are very glad to hear the you love our resort. Our management and staffs are looking forward to have a chance to serve you and your family again soon.

Paul - Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Design
The design of the hotel is stylish/industrial with exposed wood and concrete, metallic fabrics, a dark tiled pool and thatched roofs. We liked the style, and it is certainly unique in Koh Chang, but it might not be to everyone's taste. This is a quirky boutique hotel rather than a standardised chain hotel.

Cleanliness/state of repair
Overall fairly good although some of the common areas and parts of the rooms are starting to show age, ie plumbing and tiling in the bathrooms and the balconies. A little maintenance is needed in some areas

Rooms
We stayed in a room on the 2nd (top) floor, with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room was a good size and well equipped with a tv and DVD player, mini bar wardrobe and safe. The lighting in the room was quite dark which added to the stylish look, but could be a bit impractical for doing make up or looking for items in suitcases. The bed was a good king size, we found it a bit hard but asked for a mattress topper which was provided immediately. The air conditioning was effective but incredibly noisy even on the lowest setting, so we had to turn it off at night, it would have been good to be able to leave it on. The rooms overlooking the pool could also get quite noisy early in the morning (about 6:30 onwards) from other guests using the pool, the set up for breakfast and cleaners. Also the pool fountains come on at 8am which are quite loud. On a few nights we could hear loud music from other resorts but this stopped at about midnight. I think the villa rooms would be quieter as they don't overlook the pool and restaurant. The bathroom was large in size with good amenities regularly replaced. One night we had an issue with the plumbing (shower wouldn't turn off!) but this was immediately fixed.

Food
The included breakfast was really comprehensive and good, with toast, yogurt, fruit, cooked meats, cheeses, pastries, rice and Thai dishes including made to order soup and omelettes. Basically catering for any possible nationality staying at the hotel! Breakfast was buffet style so you could each as much or as little as you like.
We also had the NYE gala dinner which had a good range of salad and meat plus Thai dishes such as noodles cooked to order. Again this was buffet style and really comprehensive.
The lunches at the beach bar were a bit hit and miss, generally the Thai food was better than the western food but this is expected considering we are in Thailand!

Pool and beach
The pool is very large and inviting, and looks stylish with black tiles. It's possible to have a decent swim and it wasn't usually busy even though the hotel was fully booked. However, the area around the pool gets very little sun so it isn't really possible to sunbathe by the pool except for maybe an hour in the morning. I thought this would make the pool cold, but the temperature was actually pleasant.
The hotel is right on the beach, which was sandy (beige not golden sand) and had shallow, warm water with no waves, perfect for swimming at this time of year. The hotel does not provide enough sun loungers for all guests, so you need to reserve one early or miss out. The signs saying that guests are not allowed to reserve sunbeds are not enforced by staff, and staff don't assist with sunbeds and umbrellas like they do in other similar resorts we have visited. There are hawkers on the beach but they don't hassle you if you politely say "no". Music from other resorts or restaurants occasionally spoils the beach atmosphere. Klong prao beach is a nice long flat bay which is ideal for watching the sunset and walking along to soak up the atmosphere. There was a little bit of rubbish on the beach during our stay but most of this was remnants from NYE celebrations and decorations and the staff made a daily effort to tidy the beach.

Atmosphere
The hotel is trying to market itself as a stylish boutique hotel, and in many ways is succeeding. We were surprised by the number of babies and small children at the property, since it is not specifically adapted for or aimed at families. Other guests should be aware that a lots of young families stay at this resort over Christmas and New Year.

Staff
The majority of staff were very pleasant, including Tor (the manager) who was a really friendly, and nice guy, our cleaning lady who was very helpful and the soup chef at breakfast. One of the guys on reception (who checked us in and showed us our room) was quite rude and abrupt, we were quite shocked by this when we arrived as it would have been nice to have been shown the room and its amenities properly. We didn't deal with him again, and don't know his name.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TandA2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We made our reservation shortly in advance by booking.com. and the reviews there were good. Therefor stayed at the Dewa for 7 nights and felt sorry not to read the reviews better at Tripadvisor before.
Indeed the resort is nicely situated on the middle of Koh Chang. Although it's overpriced. The bungalow indeed nice but it is dark and without place for putting your luggage. Breakfast is perfect, with nice staff. This is different for the frontdesk! Simple rude and not professional and not speaking their languages. Many russians, sorry for the nice ones! People claiming their beachchairs early in the morning and not showing up! Therefor a nice and quit pool. So for us it's an average hotel and nothing special. Being there, sure visit the HATTA Spa just on your way to the mainroad. The best Spa with the most professional staff we visited during our monthly trip throughout Asian. Also go to Leslie opposite the main road, nice and clean and food made with love by his lovely Thai wife.

Room Tip: Try to bargain about your price, certainly if you intend to stay a bit longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zinkviool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I'm afraid I have to strike a discordant note with my review of The Dewa. My rating of 2 averages a 1 for appearance, 2 for restaurant, and 3 for service. We did have some doubts about the 'distinctively different' concrete design before arriving, but had read the reviews and seen the photos. We didn't like the overall design, but when taken to our room thought much of it was plain ghastly. The rear part of the circular villa contains the toilet, basin, bathroom and shower, but right next to this the wardrobe and suitcase stand, so our clothes were always in a damp area. The toilet and shower we thought particularly grim, all horrible dark grey concrete, squeezed into a corner (I have put two photos on with this review) Under the basin, instead of tiling, there was a bed of pebbles. This was permanently wet, which could have contributed to the unwelcome visit of a cockroach. I rated 2 for restaurant, not because there was anything wrong with breakfast, where there was a good selection of food on offer, but because I understood from the hotel guide book and the website that the restaurant was open until late evening every day. We hoped to have our meal at the hotel on our first evening, only to find the restaurant closed. We discovered that all that is offered is 'BBQ on the beach'. This may please some people, but we expect a hotel of this sort to offer an evening dining facility with a refined setting and a la carte menu. We were able to enjoy evening meals at the nearby Amari. Service was always acceptable but never outstanding. Many reviews mention the manager, but after four days we were not aware who this was. I very rarely submit reviews as critical as this, and obviously we are in the minority here, but coming in to, or waking up to, the sight of the gruesome concrete, like somewhere that ran out of money before it could be finished, made us miserable. I also felt very displeased that The Dewa claimed to have an evening restaurant when it clearly did not.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our visit to Koh Chang was made very special by our choice of resort The Dewa. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome and the peace and quiet of the Resort was super after our very busy schedule. The room, ours was on the ground floor, lead on to the swimming pool, was very well presented, clean and with interesting design - sunken bath, with steps leading into it, rain forest shower head and then all the little extras left in our room each evening, fruit and cakes..nice touch. The breakfast was excellent, as good as it gets anywhere with lots of food choices - excellent start to the day! The beach was lovely and there was the opportunity to eat on the beach at sundown - oh and the cocktails were very good also.... Great place to stay - we had brought a car over on the ferry which made travelling around the island very easy but there seemed to be loads of taxies and motor bikes for hire- would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were at the dewa for a week and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The service staff are all very friendly and attentive.
We had a nice villa near the beach, which we liked a lot as the normal rooms seems to be quiet small (from what we saw). Unfortunatelly loud music from the beach could be heard in some evenings in our villa until around 11pm. We didnt mind as we were still up anyway but I believe for some other guests this would have been a reason to change room.
Breakfast and food at the beach restaurant were good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank downtownviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dewa Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dewa Koh Chang

Property: The Dewa Koh Chang
Address: 24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dewa Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different and absolute unique is how we describe The DEWA Koh Chang. With its famous fusion architecture The DEWA blends in rustic, tropical and modern contemporary elements and celebrates in perfection the harmony with its surrounding of the beautiful Klong Prao Beach. You will enjoy the powdery beach where you can stroll along with spectacular sunsets, impressive views on the mountainous rain forest and the Gulf of Siam. Splash in the black shiny 700 sq.m. Pool, and enjoy excellent Thai and European cuisines and last but not least our spacious and totally designed Deluxe rooms, Villas and Grand Villas. We aim to contribute to your happiness, well knowing that this is more over a lifetime task. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dewa Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dewa Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Dewa Koh Chang
Dewa Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing