We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, beautiful pool”
Review of The Dewa Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dewa Koh Chang
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, beautiful pool”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for four nights just after New Years. The best thing about this resort is the beautiful pool. Staff were very friendly at check in. The rooms were as shown on photos. Clean, but not luxurious. Bathroom was fine, except not much water pressure from the shower. Not a big deal.

Breakfast was above average. Heaps of options - both western and asian. would have liked to see more of the food options covered with fly nets as there were flies over the cheese and lots of the uncovered food items.

Lying by the pool, you could press a button for service and a waiter would come and take your order. Nice touch! Club sandwich was tasty. Had dinner at the beach restaurant once which was ok. I found the food in Koh Chang in general to be average at best, as it caters for Russian and Swedish tourists. The thai food was often too sweet and bland, and not spicy at all. This is not a complaint about the hotel, but an observation about Koh Chang in general.

Sun chairs at the beach were always taken. Annoying guests who would get up earlier and put their towel and book on deck chairs to save them for the day.

A nice touch was an evening treat in the form of a small cake each evening left in your room!

We did use the spa once for a facial. I must say, the treatment was average. When the mask was put on, we were left lying there for a good 30mins. Usually, you are massaged while you wait for the mask to set. Yes, this is a first world complaint, but I'm just providing my thoughts and comparing to other spas I've been to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    313
    59
    23
    16
See reviews for
206
568
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We spent one fantastic week at the DEWA around New Year December 2013-Jan 2014! We were six adults (parents, siblings and grandparents) and five children from age 3 and up, so we came with different preferences and we are quite exigent in terms of expectations - we all ended up extremely happy with our stay! Rooms, beach, meals and services –everything was a delight!

The resort is tasteful and stylish in its decoration with mainly natural materials, which makes it very relaxing. It is directly on the beach and it is a part of the beach which is calm and beautiful and definitely the best stretch on this beach (we were so happy we actually did try any other beaches). The pool is also very nice! We walked around and looked at the other hotels on the beach and no one is nearly as nice as the Dewa.

On the beach the resort’s massage services and food and drinks are available. One treat with this hotel is that massages and treatments as well as mini-bar services actually don’t cost what they usually do at hotels, but for example a massage is what other massages on the beach would cost. We usually don’t use the hotel’s minibar or massage-services as prices tend to stagger but at Dewa we did – a lot! This all made our stay at the Dewa feel like a treat (instead of when you come to a hotel that is nice but somehow you feel ripped-off by everything being so expensive there).

The breakfast buffet is excellent as is the restaurant with good both Thai and European dishes. We ended up having all our meals at the hotel with very nice evenings on the beach! During lunch rush hour services were sometimes slow but when we did not all order at the same time the plates came quicker.

While the hotel doesn’t cater specifically to children with specific activities or services, we felt very welcome coming as a family with small children. When we were there lots of children were there (apparently more than ever before) but all were playing in a way that I don’t’ think was disturbing to guests without children. While resorts with waterslides and playrooms can be handy for families, to play in the sand, in the pool or just playing cards is probably the best vacation a family can have. Extra beds and high chairs are provided, connecting rooms and even a children’s pool are available, and staff and management attitude welcomes children, so even though the hotel does not market itself as a family hotel I would highly recommend it to families!

We occupied one deluxe room on the third floor, two connecting rooms on the second floor and the upper floor of one villa. All rooms were very nice, but we all agreed that the connecting rooms on the second floor were probably nicest with the best balconies and as they were the rooms that felt the most spacious.

To get to Dewa was also very easy with some of us coming in our own car and some through the hotel transport. We found it very convenient to not have to make sure we were at the ferry at a specific time as it leaves every 30 minutes, and also to have all luggage door-to-door. Those who took the Dewa van said that the van used on the return, while in good condition, must have had a problem that made them truly lift from their seats, which hopefully the hotel can fix.

We live in Bangkok and have been around to many places here. We really loved the Dewa and we will certainly come back!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were the best - best balconiese and spacious layout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TessBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hello TessBangkok,

Many thanks for sharing your detailed review with the TripAdvisor community.

Needless to say I am very pleased that you found everything to be a delight. As you mention we do not have waterslides or a kids club, however, we are pleased to accommodate families and as you experienced over New Year we had a lot of families in house.

The Beach Massage is indeed popular and we have priced it in accordance with the other beach massages around. For a slightly more expensive, though different experience, I would recommend The Spa which is located in the main building above The Café. With its four air-conditioned treatment rooms, sauna and jazzuci it’s a place not to miss while staying at The Dewa!

For your concern about the van that brought part of your family back to Bangkok I am pleased to announce we have taken delivery of a brand new luxury van in late January to replace the older van which we used for your transfer.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we look forward hosting you and your family again on another occasion. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for reservation of your next trip to Koh Chang at eam@thedewakohchang.com.

Best wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

End of January 2014 spend 5 days / 4 nights at The Dewa and it was overall a lovely experience.

The hotel layout and beach location - slightly away from the main road - is good. As commented by other travellers, architecture is particular and we found it great.

We had room 216 which was on the ground floor and gave us 'direct' access to the pool and the sunbeds (in front of our room). This was really nice. Pool area is absolutely nice.

The sand beach in front of the hotel is very wide. Sunbeds on the hotel grounds facing the sand beach are however limited and sometimes there are no sunbeds available (also because people tend to 'reserve' these sunbeds. Management indicates that they will remove 'reserved' sunbeds after one hour, but that never occured....

Room was of a decent size and was pretty clean. Storage space was however rather limited.
Bathroom was absolutely adequate and everything in the room and bathroom was properly working.

Staff was friendly to very friendly and helpful.
Beds are pretty hard but we asked for a top layer which was immediately provided.

As mentionned, a lovely experience it was.

Room Tip: Groundfloor rooms give direct access to the pool and the sunbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thibojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello Thibojo,

I would like to thank you for sharing your “lovely experience” at The Dewa in January with the TripAdvisor community.

Particularly pleased you enjoyed our design and our friendly and helpful team. As I mention often here on TripAdvisor, our design is distinctly different from the more traditional Thai resorts and of course subject to personal preference.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and please do not hesitate to contact me personally upon your next trip to Koh Chang.

Best wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
eam@thedewakohchang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,547 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at THE DEWA because we very much like the design of the hotel, modern, not the typical old-fashioned Thai style.

But there're also quite a lot of lows:
- People reserve beach-beds already very early in the morning. So when you come to the beach after breakfast (10:00) all beach beds are taken - even nearly nobody is there. They do have a sign that after 1 hour they do remove the towels, books, heads which were placed by guest, but in reality they do nothing. We spoke to the staff there, but he only said 'all booked'.
- Breakfast isn't up to the standard. There's very cheap cheese, terrible 'supermarket-Sushi', no Mango at all, no fresh juices.
- the staff wasn't very friendly. I often had the feeling that they feel disturbed when I asked something
- there isn't a nice place to sit and have a cocktail in the evening. Even they do have a lovely beach they don't put there any lounge-chairs to sit in the evening.
- No fitness center

Why I wouldn't return to Koh Chang? Because of the sand flies!!! We've been bitten every night. After 4 days on Koh Chang we each had more than 10 sand fly bites! And they're terrible, last at least one month.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello HONkiev,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Dewa. I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations on this visit. I am still glad you enjoyed our design and the lovely beach.

We have taken note of your comments about the sunbeds and staff friendliness. As for our breakfast we offer three imported European cheeses; Emmental, Gouda and Edam. Our sushi is made in house and our fresh fruits follow seasonal patterns, hence why mango is not served in January.

Apologies again and hope to see you soon again at The Dewa.

Best wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Loved our stay so much that we extended our stay by a couple of days. Superb rooms and amazing service. You can do a lot of water sports and spa treatments from the hotel itself. We hired a moped and when its tire blew out, the hotel sent a car to rescue us on the house. Service is exceptional!!!!

Room Tip: Eat at the restaurent of the beach shacks close to the resorts...Food is absolutely awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Hetro,

Thank you for your excellent brief feedback here on TripAdvisor.

Glad to read we impressed so much you decided to prolong your stay. Always great to hear!

Your comment that we provided exceptional service is heartwarming and I will be pleased to share it with my team. Once again thank you for your post.

Best Wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great place to stay! It's situated at Klong Prao Beach, more quiet place compared with White Sand Beach, but still enough to do and enough good restaurants on walking distance. If you do would like to go to White Sand Beach so now and then, you can easily take a taxi. We stayed for 2 weeks @ The Dewa in a deluxe room on the 2nd floor, grand balcony and enough space inside. I do agree with the comments about the bed. Tor (EAM) and his colleagues indeed took care of this problem immediately but still it was a little bit to hard for me, but my partner didn't complained about it so it realy depend on what you prefer. The hotel is situated by/on the beach and also has a very nice swimming pool. Food at the beach restaurant and breakfast were good, only the coffee served during breakfast sometimes tasted not good. But if you asked for a new and fresh cup, they immediately took care of that. All the staff work very hard to keep all the toerists happy and satisfied. The staff not always speak fluent English, but they really try and do their best. If you looking for a good and relaxing place to stay, I can recommend The Dewa for sure!!

EXCURSIONS WE RECOMMEND:
- Coocking class @ Napalai Thai Cuisine School. The teacher (Bunny) whom give the classes speak fluent English and is very funny. You definately will enjoy this!
- Elephant trekking @ Chang Chutiman Khlong Phrao. We dit the 2 hour tour and also wend swimming with the olifant, it was AMAZING!

RESTAURANTS WE RECOMMEND:
- Ciao (Italian cuisine) at Kai Bea
- Ka-Ti (Thai cuisine) at Klong Prao
- Pilot Bar (Thai cuisine) situated on the beach almost next to The Dewa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank precillaENmarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello precillaENmarcel,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

Good to read that you really enjoyed your stay and thank you for your complementing our pool, breakfast and the beach dinners. I will look into why the coffee was not consistently good. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

As mentioned before, we do acknowledge that English language is hard for some of our Team Members, but there is always another staff member who speaks better English close by, and if they do not understand they will get a person who does to attend to you.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to The Dewa on another occasion.

Best Wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place yo stay. Located by/on the beach, but has a very nice pool area. If we had ever had any requests, challenges or questions the management service by Tor (EAM) was outstanding! That alone makes us want to come back.
If I'm going to point out any options for improvements it would be the time it took to get our lunch. Some days it went fast, some days it took longer time. However, it does make us love this hotel less.
Thanks for a pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vTRAVELv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello vTRAVELv,

Thank you for sharing your brief review with the TripAdvisor community.

I am thankful for your words of praise and that you enjoyed the beach and the pool area.

With regards to our service time for lunches I would agree that sometime during rush hours (13:00-14:30) we could be faster. This is something we currently work on and I am pleased to let you know that the past weeks the speed has improved.

Once again, thank you for your comments and suggestions.

Best Wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
976 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dewa Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dewa Koh Chang

Property: The Dewa Koh Chang
Address: 24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dewa Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different and absolute unique is how we describe The DEWA Koh Chang. With its famous fusion architecture The DEWA blends in rustic, tropical and modern contemporary elements and celebrates in perfection the harmony with its surrounding of the beautiful Klong Prao Beach. You will enjoy the powdery beach where you can stroll along with spectacular sunsets, impressive views on the mountainous rain forest and the Gulf of Siam. Splash in the black shiny 700 sq.m. Pool, and enjoy excellent Thai and European cuisines and last but not least our spacious and totally designed Deluxe rooms, Villas and Grand Villas. We aim to contribute to your happiness, well knowing that this is more over a lifetime task. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dewa Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dewa Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Dewa Koh Chang
Dewa Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing