We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Surprise”
Review of The Dewa Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dewa Koh Chang
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

On our Honeymoon we stayed here not knowing what to expect. With the service and professionalism of both Thai and International staff we were greeted with the utmost care and sincerity of the Thai Culture. Fine tuned down to very last day there was nothing impossible for the team at Dewa. The Pool Bar guys where chill and very helpful. Management making sure we were taken care of in every aspect. "Max" an intern from Switzerland showed his promising skills of knowing what the local area had in store. Love the Dewa

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 13Crowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hello 13Crowns,

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent honeymoon with us (congratulations again, by the way!).

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service and professionalism, and that we were able to handle your various requests throughout your stay.

I am particularly thankful for highlighting Max, our Front Office Trainee. It doesn’t surprise me that he made such an impression. Since coming here from Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne in August, he has been a key member of the front office team ensuring that we constantly aim to impress at every opportunity.

I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back and thank you again for sharing your experience with everyone here.

Wishing you years of happiness together.
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
There are newer reviews for The Dewa Koh Chang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our stay at The Dewa was nothing but fantastic. From the friendly reception to the moment we left, we felt we were in a very special place. It was very personable, and we appreciated the help and advice from all staff, especially Tor, the manager. Beautiful, picturesque beach, and lovely surroundings, especially the pool area. Rooms were decadent, and very much suited for romantic couples! The spa was professional. Our only disappointment was the lack of gym facility. We would recommend The Dewa to all, and it was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Hello Fiona L,

First of all thank you for taking the time to leave this “fantastic” feedback on TripAdvisor and for singling us out as your highlight of your trip.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel including the beach, pool and rooms. Also thank you for commenting on our professional SPA, for sure something different than the regular road side massage in Koh Chang.

We always try to connect with guests staying at The Dewa, and I am pleased to see we have managed to impress on this occasion.

As for gym facilities, I do acknowledge we do not have it on site, however, we can make arrangements with our sister hotel, Ramayana, where you can use their gym for a minimal fee.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and please reach out to me personally for your next trip!

Best Regards,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation on an island, great service and direct access to the beach included, and The Dewa turned out to be everything that we expected.

Though August considered as wet season, we haven't seen much rain, most days in the end of August were cloudy with occasional sun, which was enough for those who like to have a sunbath. As for the ocean, well, it's definitely better not to step in it if red flags are on the beach, and not because of any storm, but because the water is opaque and you can step on a sharp stone while going deeper in the water. These rocks are easy to escape when seen, so if water is not still, it's better to use the hotel's pool, which is gorgeous. It is really big, beautiful and water is clean and of nice temperature.

The overall quality of food is one of the best on the island: breakfasts are various in dishes and french toasts with maple syrup are nothing but delicious. Some would consider dinners expensive, but they worth it – both thai and european dishes are cooked on the highest level. The only thing I would not recommend to order is fastfood – burgers and pizza are not as good as you might expect it to be.

Hotel and room interior is stylish and chords with bright nature around. Room service was flawless. We occupied Deluxe on the 3d floor and this is the best place for those who look for more intimacy and a great view. Room TV is not really big, but it has sufficient amount of international channels and you can take some quite new DVD's downstairs.

To sum it up, I can say that if you live in this hotel, you might not get outside, as it is really big, cozy, interesting and has direct access to the beach. We walked outside just couple of times to explore the island and buy some things in the supermarket (the road to the main street is quite picturesque as well, as it goes near a water channel).

If you look for the place to relax and do nothing with the best service and nicest atmosphere – Dewa is one of the greatest places on Koh Chang for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello StrSofia,

Thanks for the great review, so glad to hear you had a wonderful time at The Dewa. We appreciate you taking the time to share such detailed information on TripAdvisor, particularly your impression of our Food & Beverage offerings.

Rest assured we have plans to make the food offerings even bigger and better in the coming months with our new Executive Chef, Khun Nok, onboard. Your comment about the pizza and burger is taken on board, and we will see how we can improve this. I would also agree that our swimming pool with the swim-up bar is one of the highlights of the hotel, along with our culinary offerings.

Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon again at The Dewa.

All the best,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A combination of traditional thai service with western elements and great staff makes it the right choice!
There is also a wonderful pool and a lovely private beach. The place is ideally for couples, quite and peaceful.. rooms are very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twizer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello twizer23,

Thank you for sharing your brief review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed everything ranging from our 700 square meter design pool, our beach to our rooms. I would certainly agree with you that the hotel is ideally set up for couples and offers the quietness and peace one want when on holiday. We certainly aim to impress and I delighted to see we did on this occasion.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Warm wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Dewa during the rainy season.
The room felt very nice and was well equiped for a luxureous stay.
We came here as honeymooners and upon arrival our bed was well decorated with flower.
The staff of the hotel gives you a neutral and good feeling.
Breakfast was also oké.
Only thing missing was a small buddhist temple as you see all over Thailand.
For the rest, worth a stay!

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank PankyMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hello PankyMaya,

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent honeymoon with us (congratulations, by the way!).

I am pleased that our team of talent made you feel good, and also for your compliments of our breakfast. We are currently developing some new items to be added before the high season to lift it even further!

For temples on the island it is true we do not have as many as other parts of Thailand, however, I can recommend both Wat Salak Phet at the other side of the island and Wat Klong Prao only a 10 min walk from The Dewa.

I certainly hope it won’t be the last time we welcome you here at The Dewa and thank you again for your comments.

Warm wishes,
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly manager (Norwegian chap sorry forgot his name) who spoke to us and welcomed us with a cold drink and cold towel, Our room wasn’t ready so he arranged for some pool towels and kept us updated and was always polite and friendly, After booking the hotel through agoda and looking on trip advisor reviews we were not disappointed at all in fact the pictures do not do it justice. the first impression was that the place was very clean and the pool was huge which was also empty because of the time of year. The room was stunning and well presented with a shower and sperate bath and a large balcony. and comfy bed
The beach is about 200m walk from the pool area and the sand is golden and the sea is warm and clear. The hotel was really clean and the staff always smiling and there was lots of cleaning and maintenance going on but this did not disturbed us in any way.
After a week in Pattaya and Bangkok this was a perfect get away from it all hotel...Highly recommended

Room Tip: All the room here a good standard
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sando8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hello sando8864,

First of all, thank you for your “stunning” review of your recent experience with us.

It really seems as though you found so many areas of the hotel to enjoy...from the pool to the beach, to the cleanliness to the team of wonderful talent we have here at The Dewa.

Thanks again for sharing such stunning comments and I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you and your family back in the future.

Until then, warmest wishes
Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

In all was a very good stay there, and
Khun TOR was a very warm symphatic man with good take the guest......
The Hotel have a very good place Close to the beach.....the Breakfast was excellent fresh and good......the pool so nice...and the staff very friendly...
ever we come back to Koh Chang we will choice this Hotel again.....

Room Tip: come over from alone. good rooms at all.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Guenter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hello Guenter D,

Thanks for the great review, so glad to hear you had a wonderful time at The Dewa.

I would like to thank you for your comments on the breakfast, beach, pool and talent in general- it is rewarding to know that all the effort makes a difference to our guests.

For the air-condition units we are working on replacing some of them, and I am glad we were able to relocate you to a new room after our conversation on your second day.

Once again thanks and look forward to seeing you soon again at The Dewa. Do please reach out to me personally for your next reservation.

All the best,

Torgrim Viken
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dewa Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dewa Koh Chang

Address: 24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $56 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dewa Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different and absolute unique is how we describe The DEWA Koh Chang. With its famous fusion architecture The DEWA blends in rustic, tropical and modern contemporary elements and celebrates in perfection the harmony with its surrounding of the beautiful Klong Prao Beach. You will enjoy the powdery beach where you can stroll along with spectacular sunsets, impressive views on the mountainous rain forest and the Gulf of Siam. Splash in the black shiny 700 sq.m. Pool, and enjoy excellent Thai and European cuisines and last but not least our spacious and totally designed Deluxe rooms, Villas and Grand Villas. We aim to contribute to your happiness, well knowing that this is more over a lifetime task. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dewa Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dewa Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Dewa Koh Chang
Dewa Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing