We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dewa Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dewa Koh Chang
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Overall Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros: something a little bit different - good east meets west fusion. I stayed in a villa - very nicely furnished, good quality etc. The pool was stunning also, as was the resort beachfront - very relaxing. The bar / food was excellent.
Cons: the staff whilst not rude were not very engaging on the whole. English was very limited too. I usually find Thai service quite warm but not here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tim,

Warm greetings from the team of THE DEWA and thank you for your recent stay with us.

Thank you for kind comments regarding the facilities, your Villa and the design of THE DEWA.

Regarding the English language, we are sorry that you find our team members as not as engaging as you might used to.
We will take action during the low season to improve the team's skills, but also remind in the meantime that all of our team members are willing to learn from our guests their languages coming from different parts of the world.
As I have met you before your departure, I look forward to your next visit here and thank you for your valuable comments.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    298
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
193
537
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The staff were great, and the rooms were lovely. The whole resort was just great. It is a little oasis. The pool is wonderful and quite large, it is on one of the best beaches in Koh Chang as it is not over crowded. The breakfast was great with lots of variety. You wont regret staying here.

Room Tip: The top floor is the pick as you have a nice balcony to sit on at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gcboo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear gcboo77,

Warm greetings from the entire team of THE DEWA and thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday.

I have passed on your very kind comments to our team members and they are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed their services during your stay.

I thank you again for choosing us as your holiday destination and I look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is not an exclusive adults only resort but because it is not a huge massive resort, you can expect less children crying and cannonballing into the pool (though you will find adults doing that). Wonderful place for couples to spend some quiet, quality time together. The Dewa has their own private beach so that is a bonus. Although when you walk into the sea, be careful of rocks, don't let the pristine sand fool you. Klong Prao beach is less choppy as compared to the white beach plus it is shallow so it's nice to just sit in the sea and enjoy the view.
Room
We got a villa room at The Dewa, very spacious with private balcony. The toilet is split into 3 individual spaces for toilet, bath and shower.
Food
The resort has BBQ dinner by the beach and it is YUMMY! Order a BBQ main of fish/ prawn/ squid/ pork chop/ ribs/ beef/ lamb and you get to enjoy the salad bar for free. We had fish, prawns, corn and pork chop + a bottle of wine, all for 2700B. There are some restaurants down the beach so plenty of options for dinner. Breakfast at the resort is great too with wide selection from Thai noodles and porridge to the usual american breakfast.
Note: If you don't have your own car, do rent a bike if you choose to stay at Dewa, in fact, just rent a bike if you are planning to stay at Koh Chang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fatyogitoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Fatyogitoes,

Warm greetings from the entire team of THE DEWA and glad you stayed with us a couple of days ago.

I have passed on your very kind comments to the teams and they are especially delighted to hear that you enjoyed our fresh BBQ and the variety of our breakfast buffet very much.

We thank you again for your kind comments and your recent stay with us and look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned from a friends wedding at The Dewa. Hotel was marvelous. Check-in easy, standard room very spacious if a little dark. No problems with the bathroom, had separate shower stall and bathtub which was nice.
Swimming pool is huge!
Beach very nice and clean.
If you're looking for a nice resort style hotel on Koh Chang then this should be on your shortlist. I would recommend the standard pool view rooms over the 'sea view' villas, a friend was staying in one of those and it had no sea view and seemed to be smaller than my standard room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear JBFlow,

Greetings from the entire team of THE DEWA and very glad to had you here during Chris's and Ramona's wedding.

I am delighted to read that you found our Resort marvelous and that you would be back again.
Our Villas are not advertised with a sea view since we have 4 of those who are closer to the beach with a partial sea view only
Our very popular 2 Grand Villas are the only rooms with a unobstructed Sea View.

I thank you again for your recent stay with us, the kind comments you have left here and I would be very glad to welcome you again.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vosselaar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are staying for 5 nights on the island of ko chang and booked the Dewa.
The hotel is build up in concrete which gives it a special look, very nicely done.
The rooms are also very nice and has everything you need.
Breakfast which is included has something for everyone and is decent (continental and thai style)

The beach area is also lovely and if you come before 9:00 you have a variety of choice where you want to lay down. Keep in mind: they have a sister hotel (Ramanyana) which provides a shuttle for those guest to sit on the Dewa beach

Conclusion: great stay at ko chang
Rooms : 8,5
Breakfast : 8,5
Pool & beach : 8
Fitness : none

Negative : we saw non residents take seats on the Dewa beach spot which is a bit frustrating for paying residents .... Nothing seems to be done to it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jangvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Jangvos,

Greetings from all of us here at THE DEWA

Our Team is very glad to read that you have enjoyed your visit very much, in particular your room and the American Breakfast Buffet with Thai and international dishes to choose from.

We are aware of the unpleasant situation with the neighbor hotel using the sun lounges and we are taking proper action when we see them.

I thank you again for your recent stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have been stay The Dewa Resort Koh Chang since last year. I would say here is a really good place for relaxing. I love the style of resort, a bit rock & raw, while nice service is still provide by local staff. English is good enough to serve you.

Resort is located direct to Klong Prao between 03 resorts in the Area Amari, VJ, and the Dewa. Beach is a bit rocky in some low tide, but I would say it's still ok. 10 - 15 mins ride on motorbike to White Sand Beach,

Room is size, 04 star facilities, Nice room decoration and view , room is nice bathtub beside to the bed , where you can see TV and view in the same time. Wifi is FOC but work a bit slow, Air condition in room is not cold immediately, have to wait a bit long time to boot it.

Resort facilities is Good, nice black pool and with Jacuzzi, They have DVD corner, library and so on activities.

Breakfast is OK, unless they serve some continental buffer with order main dish, but I would say enough.



I love this resort in total, can't wait to be there in someday :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Khun Nattawut,

Thank you for your last year's stay with us and for sharing your kind comments to other travelers.

We are all very happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly Staff's service, your room and other facilities.

The WIFI has improved a lot since your last stay and I would be delighted to see you try it out again.

During the period where not many guest staying with us, we serve a mini buffet with a la carte hot dishes for breakfast.

I thank you again for your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I went there last year with my husband, his family and friends for our small wedding party.
Everyone loves the hotel and the food was nice. The staff is very polite.
Breakfast so amazing and so many options more than enough for everyone.
The room was nice.

Only one little problem was the beach so many rocks under the sea hard to swim. Everything else was perfect.

Will go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chiccks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Chiccks

Greetings from all of us at THE DEWA

We are delighted to read that you had a great wedding here with us last year.
The 1st Anniversary of yours is coming soon, so I would be very happy to welcome you here again.

Thank you for your kind comments to the entire team.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dewa Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dewa Koh Chang

Property: The Dewa Koh Chang
Address: 24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dewa Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different and absolute unique is how we describe The DEWA Koh Chang. With its famous fusion architecture The DEWA blends in rustic, tropical and modern contemporary elements and celebrates in perfection the harmony with its surrounding of the beautiful Klong Prao Beach. You will enjoy the powdery beach where you can stroll along with spectacular sunsets, impressive views on the mountainous rain forest and the Gulf of Siam. Splash in the black shiny 700 sq.m. Pool, and enjoy excellent Thai and European cuisines and last but not least our spacious and totally designed Deluxe rooms, Villas and Grand Villas. We aim to contribute to your happiness, well knowing that this is more over a lifetime task. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dewa Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dewa Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Dewa Koh Chang
Dewa Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing