We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we expected”
Review of The Dewa Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dewa Koh Chang
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“not what we expected”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon. We arrived at the Christmas Eve and we had to book the room including the Christmas Dinner (almost 200$, drinks not included!!!). The Christmas Dinner was served in form of a buffet on the beach. The food was really mediocre...It was European food of buffet/cantine quality. When we arrived there was no choice of fresh meat or fish anymore and we felt really disappointed and betrayed. Most of the dishes were already finished and we ordered a Mojito to drink that was prepared with frozen mint! Then there was a stage with a lady who tried to entertain the guests....
The room we received first smelled like mold. It was one of the rooms on the first floor next to the pool. Despite the moldy smell you could not open the windows, because they were just not made for it!After having complained and having talked to the hotel manager, the manager found a room closer to the beach (no view though). The room was much better since you could open the windows and it had a small terrace. The breakfast was not that good either, the only time I ordered a pancake it was served almost raw! i had to bring it back and ask the chef to cook it properly. I ate during my whole stay cereals for breakfast and the breakfast was not what you expect from a 4* hotel. Only the coffee they served was good! The beach was nice. You had a possibility to have a massage on the beach which was really cheap or have a drink. Also I would not recommend to take the transfer organised by the hotel since it is at least 2 times more expensive than the transfer you can book with one of the travel agencies.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Anna_1507,

Greetings from THE DEWA and thank you from the entire team for staying with us over the Christmas period.

We are sincerely sorry that you had not found the room and the breakfast to your personal liking.
We strive to impress every guest with our service, but in your case it seems we weren't successful.

The mandatory Christmas Event is well published in several broshures and websites to inform our potential guests that it is included during their stay. To keep the prices for those events reasonable, we unfortunately can not include drinks in the price. We have a reception before the event with 3 different drinks and a vast choice of snacks to "make up" for the non included drinks during dinner.

Our breakfast buffet is one of the biggest on the island with over 30 different items, from fresh made juices (daily changes), 4 kinds of cereals, 4 choices of bread, 6 different choices of danish/bakeries, homes made yoghurts, vast variety of Thai and Western dishes, fresh egg station, etc.
Not to mention 5 different teas you can choose from and on request we brew cappucino as well. My Team and I am surprised that you couldn't find anything to your liking.

All drinks at our bars are freshly made and we sure not use frozen, but chilled Mint for our Mojitos, since in the heat the leaves wouldn't stand a chance. All fruits, leaves, herbs are in the refrigerator to keep them fresh.

If guests like to choose a private transfer it is reasonable priced for 2.300 Baht for the whole Van and the convenience you have when you can decide when to leave and not have to wait for others in other hotels. If guests prefer to use a shared transfer to Trat airport we can also arrange this for 550 Baht per person, which is not 2 times higher than "outside" but just 80 Baht more than to walk out in the heat looking for a bargain.
We would like to clarify this for fellow travellers who might misunderstand your comment in this matter

The entire team thank you again for your stay with us and we all wish you a happy marriage.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    310
    58
    23
    16
See reviews for
199
557
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at The Dewa for three nights at the end of our trip to Koh Mak and Koh Chang. We booked their most basic room - The deluxe room and were very impressed bearing in mind it was their "cheapest" room. The bathroom was well equipped with lovely bath, large shower and the room itself was very spacious. We had two single beds pushed together but this meant we had a very large bed.

The hotel is located in Klong Prao Beach, which is ideal if you want to be close to White Sands for some night life as it is only 10/15 minute taxi ride away (50BHT per person) or if you would rather have a more relaxing stay exploring the local area. The beach is fantastic - when the tide is out you can walk all the way around the bay if you wish and see all of the local hotels and restaurants on your way. The sea was calm and quite clear.

The hotel itself is very impressive - it has been designed to a high standard. The pool area is great for sunbathing and it has it's own bar - good for happy hour! We enjoyed seeing the happy staff sounding the daily gong to announce happy hour at 2pm! The hotel bar/restaurant was also good - we ate there for lunch every day and we had a BBQ dinner on the beach twice - try the thai beef kebab as this was delicious (also much cheaper than the imported beef). They also had a good wine menu - the Malbec was 1,400 BHT which is about what you would pay in England. The waiting staff were very friendly and provided a great service.

However, there are a few things that I think the hotel need to work on -

Firstly, they appear to permit guests "reserving" sun beds on the beach before breakfast. It was incredibly frustrating to walk to the beach at 9am after I had already eaten my breakfast to find ALL of the sun beds already had towels and the odd t-shirt or book strategically placed on them with NO ONE to be seen. This was a real shame as the beach area had a lovely breeze, views of the beach and ocean and the bar close by for drinks/food but I never once got to spend any time there due to this ridiculous allowance of sun bed reservation. Furthermore, following a rain-shower on our last day, the majority of guests had disappeared into their rooms to get out of the rain. We decided to have lunch by the beach and noticed that a lot of the of sun beds were now empty, therefore I asked for two towels and chose two sun beds that were free - they happened to have two empty coke bottles and two screwed up wet towels on the table (which I believe to mean the beds are no longer in use, especially as there were no personal belongings?!) but I was swiftly told that I could not lie there as they were in use. Most hotels I have stayed in have a policy whereby they remove towels if sun beds are left unused for over an hour. Please Dewa, sort this out.

Secondly, my partner and I returned from dinner early one night - 9.30pm. We decided we would like to watch a DVD on our big tv in our room. We asked reception if we could take a look at their DVD collection and rent a film but we were told a) sorry, you can only get a DVD from the shop which is now closed and b) our film collection really isn't that good anyway. Surely most guests are more likely to use their DVD players at night, not during the day when the sun is out, so I don't understand why the DVD's are under lock and key at the local shop which closes at dinner time and I also don't understand why they offer DVD players in every room but have a DVD collection of about 20 DVD's which they believe is "not very good"! We rented a dvd out the next day and when we settled down to watch the film that night the DVD player wasn't even plugged in or connected to the TV!!!

Lastly, we were given room 121 which was over looking the pool / reception area. Our room was at the end of the building which we didn't mind at all as it meant we only had neighbours on one side. However, for the first two nights we appeared to have a make-shift clothes horse outside our room with somebodies wet clothes hanging up to dry - this I did not appreciate. Also, we had an abandoned blue cot outside our room, which I also thought was quite unsightly and I couldn't understand why it was just left at the end of the corridor opposite our front door.

Overall, I think the Dewa is a top quality hotel in Koh Chang. It is in a great location on the Island and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are impressive as is the pool and I would consider staying here again. There are just a few things that I think they could work on if guests are paying over 5,000 THB a night to stay there.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were v.nice. Also the ones on the ground floor have a nice front terrace, with seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AD1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear A1119,

Warm greetings from all of us at THE DEWA and thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us during your stay, to read that you enjoyed the service of our happy Staff and that you found our food and the hotel overall to your liking.

I personally thank you for pointing out the things that were not your liking and we currently working on them, especially the sun bed reservations issue.

All of us at THE DEWA thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcome you here again if you have a chance to come to Koh Chang in the future.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our second visit to The Dewa. Like all second visits, the wow factor is absent, but still good value for money. We enjoyed the diverse breakfast, friendly staff that make your stay pleasant and the reality it is a smaller boutique style Thailand resort.

Advice to The Dewa: (1) consider providing beach ashtrays to our Eastern Bloc and European friends who perhaps do not apppreciate that cigarette butts do not add ambience to a tropical environment. (2) continue with free Wifi. (3) consider replacing chairs on balconies with more comfortable ones.

Advice to The Dewa guests: (1) consider more effectively managing your expectations of value for money and adapting your engagement with the Thais. For instance, resorts can cost $800++ a night whereas The Dewa ranges from approximately $140-200 per night. If you cannot afford high end, don't expect to be treated like royalty. Additionally, a demanding and entitled style of communicating can create noticeable dissonance when compared to the accommodating and polite Thai style. If you are on holidays, perhaps act like you are and enjoy the opportunity to relax, and leave your brittle and enduring unhappiness for when you return to your cold clim
ate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Graeme K,

Warm greetings from the entire team of THE DEWA

We are glad to read that we were able to make your second visit a pleasent one and that you have enjoyed the service of our friendly staff and the varietay of our breakfast.

Your advice with the ashtrays is already taken to heart and each pair of beach lounges are equipped with one.
To replace the chairs on the balconies will be considered for the next upgrade during the coming low season.

I thank you again for your second visit and look forward to more visits to come from you.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Dewa is located on the quiet area of the so called Klong Prao Beach.
We had a very warm welcome from the Staff and the Managers during check in and they kept this (important) first impression up until we checked out.
We booked online and got a quite good deal keeping in mind it is still high season. We had done some research before and had no doubts that we had chosen the right place to stay.
The deluxe room we got was spacious, very clean and had all things you would expect from this kind of hotel. Despite reading previous comments about the Wifi, we had no problems in getting a connection, seems sometimes the problem is in front of the computer.
We ate every evening their delicious BBQ, yes it is pricey, but you get what you pay for. We tried as well several dishes during lunch and they of great quality.
We thank all the nice people at the dewa to makes us feel like home away from home and we will comeback again next year.

Room Tip: Deluxe room and if your budget alllows take the Grand Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jacky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Jacky F

Warm greetings from the team of THE DEWA.

Thank you for your recent stay with us and leaving your kind comments for fellow travellers here at tripadvisor.

I am delighted that our teams efforts make you feel at home away from home and that you joined our delicious and fesh made BBQ
Especially the room maids are very glad to hear that you have praised the room cleanliness and the ammeneties in your deluxe room.

I look forward to welcome you again next year and thank you again for your recent stay and review

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I went to The Dewa with my wife with the intention of seeking for the great honeymoon in Koh Chang and we really had the best times together at this resort. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they gave us very good information about traveling around the island. The room is clean and nice and the bathroom is very spacious. Besides the great hotel design, we really love the quiet and peaceful beach environment. The breakfast was very delicious with variety of choices. We really has good times there and would happily return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear David G

Greetings from the entire team of THE DEWA

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we a very glad to hear that you had a great time with us.

Our Team is delighted to read that you have enjoyed their friendly and helpfull service.
I had passed on your comments to all Team Members at the Front Desk and Restaurant and they very happy to hear that you appreciate their efforts so much.

We all wish you a everlasting marriage and we look forward to your return in the future

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Dewa is located on Khlong Phrao beach, Ko Chang, which is one of the more popular beaches on the island. We were there in low season though (August) so it wasn't overly busy, the downside to this though being that the beach had a lot of litter, disgarded sandbags, driftwood and other debris on it. Not the hotel's fault exactly, but worth knowing if you plan to go in Thailand's July - October rainy season.

The hotel itself is nice with tastefully designed buildings and a huge, dark grey / black swimming pool. The pool also had a lot of kids toys to play with making it a great pool for families, and also a swim-up bar which is always a nice touch.

The restaurant had a large, grand dining room with great views over the jungle canopy at breakfast (no clear sea-view though). Breakfast was very good, a buffet with a nice variety of good food which changed slightly each day. Dinner was international and aimed more at westerners, While the food was good and cokked well, I personally would have preferred more Thai-focussed cuisine or, better still, a seafood barbecue as is common on beach resorts in Thailand. There are pictures on the hotel's website of BBQs being set up on the sand, which obviously can't be done in the rainy season, so this was probably another concession that's maid outside of peak season.

Rooms were large and well appointed with spacious bathrooms and very large, comfortable beds. A nice touch was a free snack - cakes, donuts or fruit usually - delivered to the room each day.

We went on a very good sightseeing tour around the whole island, accompanied by some helpful and friendly hotel staff and in a good, comfortable minivan.

Staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful.

Overall the Dewa was a comfortable, friendly resort with some nice little extra touches and great for families with young kids. I would happily go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear dantilley,

Warm greetings from THE DEWA.

Tahn kyou very much for your stay back in August 2012 and for sharing your experience here at tripadvisor.

The season you chose for your stay is indeed not the nicest, but it has is own charms. All leading hotels here on the island fight the daily incoming litter that arrives during the rainy season here at our beaches.

We are glad you find your room and the restaurant to your liking. Since your visit we had quite a lot of suggestions regarding the Thai food selection so we have extended the Menu and we would be happy if you have a chance to test on your next visit.

The Team is very happy to read that you find all of whom you have met very friendly, helpfull and courteous and boost their motiviation further more to go on this path.

We thank you again for your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Interesting that people complained about unclean rooms given that we march sand through this resort on a daily basis.
(this speaks volumes about the type of person who would focus on these minor details)
This is our second time at Dewa, we came back because its affordable and a pleasure to stay there.
The staff are excellent and love it when you practice Thai and get to know them by name. At times you may have to prompt them for things but being an effective traveller means you do that with ease without making boring generalizations about the hotel service.
Jack, the breakfast chef is a master at rustling up a great omelette, try the Thai soup for breakfast (great cure for a hangover) and Pop will crack you a fresh coconut with a smile.

As in Europe you have to secure your beach chair early, so get up and claim your spot. Kyack to the nearest island or go for a swim (try and avoid the cigarettes that your fellow resort stayers through in the water)
More ashtrays on the beach might help improve this thoughtless behavior (might....)

The massages on the beach are amazing and the spa is worth a visit.
Get out for a walk, there are great little places to eat around the resort including Vietnamese and Crust Bakery.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Matiu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewa K, General Manager at The Dewa Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Matiu B,

Greetings from THE DEWA KOH CHANG.

My team and I like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for leaving your kind review for others to read here at tripadvisor.

Jack, Pop and their breakfast team members were happy to read that you enjoyed their skills in the morning.
Since you have mentioned the reserved deck chairs, we have implemented a time line where our beach staff removes the towels from the lounges which don't have any personal belongings by 11 am.

I thank you again for your second visit and I am happy if I can welcome you many times in the future at THE DEWA.

Best Regards
C. Behrend - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dewa Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dewa Koh Chang

Property: The Dewa Koh Chang
Address: 24/1/1 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dewa Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different and absolute unique is how we describe The DEWA Koh Chang. With its famous fusion architecture The DEWA blends in rustic, tropical and modern contemporary elements and celebrates in perfection the harmony with its surrounding of the beautiful Klong Prao Beach. You will enjoy the powdery beach where you can stroll along with spectacular sunsets, impressive views on the mountainous rain forest and the Gulf of Siam. Splash in the black shiny 700 sq.m. Pool, and enjoy excellent Thai and European cuisines and last but not least our spacious and totally designed Deluxe rooms, Villas and Grand Villas. We aim to contribute to your happiness, well knowing that this is more over a lifetime task. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dewa Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dewa Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Dewa Koh Chang
Dewa Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing