We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Resort
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great off the beaten path hotel owned by a foreigner.

The room was clean and comfortable. It had everything needed for a comfortable stay.

In the morning, breakfast is provided. It's simple and good. They make you your choice of eggs, and then you get self-serve bacon, ham, cheese, and a Thai dish. Also, available is unlimited juice, coffee, and water.

The negatives of the place is there is no beachfront for the property. You have to walk a short distance to get to the beach. But, that is really not a big deal. The stay is still worth it for the price.

It's slow season right now, so the hotel bar that served food was not open. Actually, the whole area around the hotel was lacking open eateries due to slow season.

Overall, I recommend this hotel for the price and comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 443 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were here for four nights and were not disappointed at all.
Mause the owner, his wife and staff couldn't be more helpful or friendlier. I forgot my hairdryer and they supplied us with one and a kettle
Have to say, we loved the" towelart" that the maids do is amazing from elephants to turtles.
Gardens are beautiful, pool is great and clean.
The villa bathrooms are spacious and the toiletries supplied more than do the job.
Just a quick "thank you" Mause for a great time from my husband and I !

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you have children, maybe the pool ones would be best so you can watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllieHoll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here couple weeks ago for six nights with my husband and 21 year old son, had a room right near the pool, it's in a pretty good location near bars and eateries, located in a tropical garden so you need mosquito repellent which is fine, good value for money as we were in low season, breakfast not bad, nice big pool, staff lovely, all in all not a bad little spot!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I suppose I qualify as a Garden Resort veteran by now. I've just completed my seventh visit. So I guess you could say I quite like the place.
I've encountered some of the other guests on previous visits, so they must be fairly keen, too. We've become friends, well sort of, enjoying holiday-type conversations over breakfast and at the bar.
Interesting company, some of them. Maybe one day I'll bump into Mark again, who doubles as an explosives expert in the Antarctic and a sheep farmer in Western Australia.
So, Garden Resort, what's the attraction? Why would anyone want to go back to the same place seven times?
Firstly, it backs onto a tropical rainforest. You wake up and go to sleep to the mysterious sounds of the jungle.
And the swimming pool, with its waterfall, is a delightful refuge from the heat. It is the deepest on Koh Chang.
The resort's 20 thatched-roof bungalows, set well back from the main street, have all you need: more than ample shower room, solid wooden furniture, huge beds, TV, free wifi and so on.
The days start slowly for me. I stroll down the winding stone path from my bungalow to the restaurant, say “sawadee, kap” to the gardeners in the early morning sun, and I start on the tropical fruits and Thai or Western food, often both. The bread, by the way, is home-baked every day.
Anything you want to know about Koh Chang, just ask Mause, the Dutch owner, who is an entertaining conversationalist and general good guy.
He is happy to put you right on just about everything. He'll tell you where to go if you want to ride elephants. Some camps look after their elephants better than others, apparently.
He'll advise and book you on trips to nearby islands and tell you where to hire a motorbike, if you must. I have never hired a motorbike as I prefer my holidays injury free. I take a taxi, every time.
For the first-timer in Koh Chang, there's enough to see and do: trips by land and sea, excellent beaches, bars, good fish restaurants and trying to get bargains. Finding fresh attractions on a second visit might be a challenge.
Then again, I don't do the tourist things anymore. I just fall naturally and happily into a relaxed routine and take the day as it comes.
Roll on, visit number eight in August.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, Poolside rooms have the edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The garden resort had a good breakfast. The rooms were clean and spacious. The swimming pool was great. The owner was very kind to explain things about the guest house or any other thing that we need.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valeria_peres2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

If your idea of an island holiday is just a hut on the sand near the sea – skip it and let other people enjoy their own little paradise of Garden Resort. It's private (only 20 bungalows), idillic and romantic yet in the middle of the action. Every detail was thought of: wi-fi in your bungalow, beach and pool towels, umbrellas to use when it rains (and it does rain on the islands, yes!), you name it. French windows, comfy bed, large bathroom. In a spacious room there is enough space for a desk and a coffee table and you have a very nice terrace in front. The garden is beautifully landscaped – there is even a koi fish pond and a small waterfall. The pool with salty water is a hit with the children – though there is no actually a shallow zone for the smallest ones. But you have plenty of space to play in the garden instead and there are even high chairs in the breakfast restaurant.
7/11 is right by the side – very convenient. As far as the beach is concerned, there are actually two options: the 'left' one (go down to the beach following the pass left of 7/11) is closer but not too picturesque; the 'right' one is a bit further (you have to go down to the beach more or less opposite 'Tesco Lotus'), but the beach is nicer, you have those 'very island' swings everywhere; and what is more important – you can proceed to the stretch of sand near The Cliff resort where the sea bottom is cleaned of corals so you can comfortably swim even at low tide.
In general the resort is highly recommended: just the right place to experience the island boutique life at its best. And yes, they have coffee from coffee-machine for breakfast! Regards and our most sincere gratitude to the Dutch owner.

Room Tip: Pool rooms will suit those with the kids: in this case you can watch your small ones playing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ok_vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, and it was an enjoyable stay. We had a double bungalow with an adjoining door - right next to the lovely pool. Breakfast was simple and adequate, but repetitive after so many days. We really did enjoy our stay, and having free Wifi in the rooms was a great touch. This resort is in a quiet area of Kai Bae, and central really to everything we needed.

Room Tip: By the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjfInalandfarfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.1 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
1.2 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.8 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.2 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort

Address: 98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $31 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kai Bae Garden Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Kai Bae Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing