We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERGOOD!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Resort
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SUPERGOOD!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The best I liked in Thailand is Koh Chang and it's due to Garden Resort as well. I looked through about 100 Chang's hotels on booking.com and there wasn't a moment I regretted about my choise. Spacious, clean and comfortable bungalow, various breakfasts - both European and Thai food, great dining area and natural environment.
Special thanks to Mr. Maus (or Mouse, "like Mickey Mouse"), the owner - very friendly, helpfull and cheerful. There is everything you need in his kingdom - wonderfull pool with tiny waterfall, free billiards, cool Backstage Bar with good rock-music, cinema-wall and bike-rent possibility, wifi signal in the room and territory.
Good location - close to 7-eleven (the next door), drug-store, massage and elefants-farm. Different cafes are all around. Money-exchange office - 10 minutes walk to the right. There is about 5 minutes walk to the lonely beach (not Lonely-Beach, just almost people-free).

Next time on Chang I will go to Garden Resort without any doubt!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    111
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
109
211
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

were here in June and in one of the bungalows at the back. the place is great and nicely laid out and the staff were very friendly and helpful. you can arrange to hire bikes straight from the desk which they have on site which is really useful as don't have to leave your passport elsewhere. breakfast was included and they had a nice selection available. is off the main road and close to the beach. would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at the Garden Resort and wouldn't stay anywhere else on Koh Chang. Well manicured grounds, very sturdy huts with air con, friendly staff, great pool and a 3 minute walk to the beach. Some other hotels on Koh Chang aren't safe, but no worries here. I'll gladly come again when I get the chance!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterBuckRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved the place the rooms are great and clean an the bed is soft ( the hard Thai beds have been a killer)

The whole staff I'd friendly and very help full.

The owner manger Muase ( like Micky mouse ) goes out of his to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: We ate at Morgans just to he left as you walk out from the resort,and I would ALS recommend BB house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very lovely bungalows, the pool is amazing. I was travelling by myself and wanted beach side views so I moved after one night, but if I was travelling with a bunch of friends this place has the potential to be a fabulous base - big restarant area, bar out the front, close to the beach and as I have already mentioned the amazing salt water pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We found this place because we were disappointed with lonley beach and are so glad that we did this resort is set out in a beautiful garden right next to the elephant camp. The rooms are of good size and very clean, the pool is a good size and plenty of lounge chairs to laze about the owner Maus was very helpful and cheery. It was just a short walk to the beach maybe 5 minutes. Look forward to coming back to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabaideeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went to Koh Chang to avoid Songkran in Chiang Mai. It's much quieter there! Garden Resort was lovely - my poolside room was spacious and comfortable and right next to the pool. It rained frequently during my stay but I could sit on the patio and enjoy the cool. The Owner/Manager, Maus is very helpful. Breakfast is good with eggs cooked to order and plenty of fruit. The pool area is beautiful and not crowded. Unfortunately the nearby beach (Kae Bae)is not very nice. It smelled and the water is VERY shallow. The sand is not nice and parts are quite rocky and muddy. I wouldn't go in the water there. White Sand beach was better, but not the soft, powdery sand of Hawaii. Coconut Beach was better, but again not powdery. I wouldn't go to Koh Chang for the beaches, but the relaxed atmosphere is great.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are worth paying a bit more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.1 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.4 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort

Property: Garden Resort
Address: 98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kai Bae Garden Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Kai Bae Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing