We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in the Jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spa Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the Jungle”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

i've visited The Spa on Koh Samui to fast a number of times, but this trip I wanted to just laze in seclusion and eat good food somewhere tropical and gorgeous. The Spa Koh Chang totally delivered on that experience. The accommodation we stayed in (the huts) were lovely, quiet and extremely comfortable, with bath, balcony and aircon. The whole property is lush and teaming with flowers, orchids, palm trees and greenery, and as it is on the 'non developed' part of the island, it is far from the touristy strips that have ruined Samui (in my opinion) and threaten touring Koh Chang if development is allowed to go unchecked. The other benefit of holidaying at a health spa, aside from the food, is that it is full of people who are in the main quietly on their own healing journey, not full of screaming kids or college boys trying to get drunk and laid. There are great masseuses, and of course the spa services for fasting and cleansing are available to those who want them. the resort is not near the beach, however there are kayaks for the lagoon inlet and bikes to play on, and a shuttle bus to the beach for some sandy action. I loved it here, and great wifi in every room for free meant that when a little outside world was called for, one could indulge. Staff are lovely and helpful, but little english language, so be prepared to be patient, you get the message across eventually!

Room Tip: free standing bungalows are quiet and lovely rm 114 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    49
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
90
73
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I have just been to koh Chang Spa today for lunch having visited before and enjoyed the food there.
This time, six hours after my lunch which consisted of rather strange tasting Greek salad and Vietnamese spring rolls ( raw salad rolls) I was struck with severe stomach cramps and strong nausea.
Sadly I recognise the symptoms and unfortunately I know it happened here.
I have been violently sick and i could go in but I won't so I want to warn people to be aware of the salads etc. Perhaps they have not been washed correctly but something is seriously wrong.
Suffice to say I will be avoiding Koh Spa Chang for the foreseeable and advise others who have any similar experience to make a noise as well as this is abominable for a health spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkshuvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Absolutely the best resort for someone who love to stay among little forest^^ breakfast was delicious,you can should between American breakfas or Thai food

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvustitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Best Value for Money and the surrounding are nice Jungle Views. Very Peaceful like a small paradise on the island.

Staffs were very helpful and friendly. Our cottage was good size and comfortable. I had some ants problem on my first night, after the room was treated, it was OK.
The vegetarian food were fine and i liked some of them very much.

I would recommend this hotel, if you are looking for a quiet place or wish to join one of their program.

Room Tip: Spray the room, there are big ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We absolutely loved this place. Relaxing, tranquil, superbly designed and well maintained. The garden and flowers are so well tended too. Beautifully rustic but high quality at the same time. This resort puts others to shame; particularly some of those around the island which are not at all in keeping with the environment.

There is a real green theme to the hotel and they are very conscious of the environment. The rooms are very spacious and attractive. The maids do an excellent job and ensure that your room looks pristine each day. Some of the fixtures and detailing in the rooms let it down somewhat (e.g. ugly electrical equipment). Also, the materials within the room could have been more rustic and in keeping with the resort as a whole. That said, one of us is a designer so we are being rather picky here!

The food in the restaurant is delectable and you MUST try the raw lasagne. We thought it would be totally bland but not at all; hhhhmmmmm!!! Seriously top notch food though; that's if you like veggie and healthy food of course. No meat (maybe 2 chicken dishes) but we love healthy/veggie stuff so it was ace! If you do want a break from it then just go to the shop opposite and get some Lays; you are not totally trapped! Be warne: the strawberry and goji berry smoothie has meat in it. I didn't see the 'meat' bit and well, it was disgusting but the rest of the smoothies are gorgeous. You can also get take away food but they didn't deliver it, you had to go down and collect it. Nice to have the option though.

You can rent kayaks and push bikes for free. You can't get mopeds from the place itself but there is a small restaurant across the road where they are 250 thb per day. The hills are extremely steep though and although we loved exploring, I would think twice before braving the hills again.

You can now buy beer and wine from the restaurant.

Oh, we didn't do the fasting/detox course but felt good just for eating so healthily all week and exercising on push bikes.

Had one massage each and was a little let down. Very rushed and my massage wasn't what it said it was but we mentioned this to the head of guest relations and she kindly gave us discount (even though we weren't actually bothered about this).

There is no beach here but I really didn't miss that. We hired a moped like I said above and seriously the beaches around Chang were filthy. Full of litter. We were SO glad to be back at this resort at the end of the day.




Anyway, hope that helps. Thank you Spa Ko Chang, we loved our stay.

p.s. it is miles away from the main part of Ko Chang but we LOVED that. Don't come if you want bars/nightlife etc

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cragglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed there with a group of friends over the Songran Thai New Year. Only stayed there one night as we had to move to the active part of the island on the following day. It is a serene resort, carters to a healthy leaving crowd. They have a detox program, and various other body cleansing programs. You can best take advantage of this resort if you are particularly seeking a healthy vacation. For us one night was food enough. Any more would have been a bit too serene.
The rooms are clean and comfy. The is a TV,Ac, and a big plus free WiFi access. Amazing bonus. The food well not too much to our taste but the massaman was good. Another great bonus was the free shuttle to white beach. After checking out they gave us a ride to white sand free of charge. That was beyond expectation.
All in all great stay, just depends on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Imagine you are in a jungle, living in a wooden hut with great accommodation.
This hotel is where you can fulfill your imagination to stay in a jungle without swinging the rope.

I give 5 stars rating for the overall design of the hotel. All of the rooms and suites are built on a hill among the trees. All buildings includes the front desk are built around a big pond. There is also a lovely pool here.

All rooms have air condition, hot shower and all other accommodations. The bath room is very nice.

This hotel is a very great place for relaxation and spa. And for people who like detox, I think this place is prepared for you. (honestly, I don't understand why people want to do it)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
6.4 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
287 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
6.7 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
6.3 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
6.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Resort Koh Chang

Property: The Spa Resort Koh Chang
Address: 15 / 4 Moo 4 Baan Salak Kok, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa Resort Koh Chang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Provide the Best Programs to Fulfill your Healthy Holidays!An easy, yet effective fasting and cleansing program and professional medical consultation! The Spa Koh Chang Resort provides the best service we possibly can. In the program, a wide range of fresh tropical juice, clear broth vegetable soup, coconut water, quality herbal supplements from Arise and Shine Company U.S.A. are used to support the detoxification process. Our highlight supplements, for example; the intestinal cleansing aid tablet Chompher, the herbal nutrition and the friendly bacterial tablet Flora Grow (Acidophilus Bacteria) are to suit your choice of health program. It is recommended to take up a special massage, the Japanese-style Ampuku stomach massage therapy to help your excretory system. The so-called Ampuku massage will improve the effectiveness of our easy-to-do self-administration colonic irrigation (colon cleansing using colema board). Other selections of activities such as the morning Yoga & Meditation, Herbal steam bath, far infrared sauna are to help you relax and enjoy your precious holiday with The Spa Koh Chang Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spa Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Koh Chang
Resort Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing