We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spa Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful!”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Best Value for Money and the surrounding are nice Jungle Views. Very Peaceful like a small paradise on the island.

Staffs were very helpful and friendly. Our cottage was good size and comfortable. I had some ants problem on my first night, after the room was treated, it was OK.
The vegetarian food were fine and i liked some of them very much.

I would recommend this hotel, if you are looking for a quiet place or wish to join one of their program.

Room Tip: Spray the room, there are big ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    48
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
87
72
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We absolutely loved this place. Relaxing, tranquil, superbly designed and well maintained. The garden and flowers are so well tended too. Beautifully rustic but high quality at the same time. This resort puts others to shame; particularly some of those around the island which are not at all in keeping with the environment.

There is a real green theme to the hotel and they are very conscious of the environment. The rooms are very spacious and attractive. The maids do an excellent job and ensure that your room looks pristine each day. Some of the fixtures and detailing in the rooms let it down somewhat (e.g. ugly electrical equipment). Also, the materials within the room could have been more rustic and in keeping with the resort as a whole. That said, one of us is a designer so we are being rather picky here!

The food in the restaurant is delectable and you MUST try the raw lasagne. We thought it would be totally bland but not at all; hhhhmmmmm!!! Seriously top notch food though; that's if you like veggie and healthy food of course. No meat (maybe 2 chicken dishes) but we love healthy/veggie stuff so it was ace! If you do want a break from it then just go to the shop opposite and get some Lays; you are not totally trapped! Be warne: the strawberry and goji berry smoothie has meat in it. I didn't see the 'meat' bit and well, it was disgusting but the rest of the smoothies are gorgeous. You can also get take away food but they didn't deliver it, you had to go down and collect it. Nice to have the option though.

You can rent kayaks and push bikes for free. You can't get mopeds from the place itself but there is a small restaurant across the road where they are 250 thb per day. The hills are extremely steep though and although we loved exploring, I would think twice before braving the hills again.

You can now buy beer and wine from the restaurant.

Oh, we didn't do the fasting/detox course but felt good just for eating so healthily all week and exercising on push bikes.

Had one massage each and was a little let down. Very rushed and my massage wasn't what it said it was but we mentioned this to the head of guest relations and she kindly gave us discount (even though we weren't actually bothered about this).

There is no beach here but I really didn't miss that. We hired a moped like I said above and seriously the beaches around Chang were filthy. Full of litter. We were SO glad to be back at this resort at the end of the day.




Anyway, hope that helps. Thank you Spa Ko Chang, we loved our stay.

p.s. it is miles away from the main part of Ko Chang but we LOVED that. Don't come if you want bars/nightlife etc

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cragglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed there with a group of friends over the Songran Thai New Year. Only stayed there one night as we had to move to the active part of the island on the following day. It is a serene resort, carters to a healthy leaving crowd. They have a detox program, and various other body cleansing programs. You can best take advantage of this resort if you are particularly seeking a healthy vacation. For us one night was food enough. Any more would have been a bit too serene.
The rooms are clean and comfy. The is a TV,Ac, and a big plus free WiFi access. Amazing bonus. The food well not too much to our taste but the massaman was good. Another great bonus was the free shuttle to white beach. After checking out they gave us a ride to white sand free of charge. That was beyond expectation.
All in all great stay, just depends on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Imagine you are in a jungle, living in a wooden hut with great accommodation.
This hotel is where you can fulfill your imagination to stay in a jungle without swinging the rope.

I give 5 stars rating for the overall design of the hotel. All of the rooms and suites are built on a hill among the trees. All buildings includes the front desk are built around a big pond. There is also a lovely pool here.

All rooms have air condition, hot shower and all other accommodations. The bath room is very nice.

This hotel is a very great place for relaxation and spa. And for people who like detox, I think this place is prepared for you. (honestly, I don't understand why people want to do it)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

can't say enough good things about The Spa at Koh Chang. The price is right, the setting is magical and secluded away form the hustle and bustle of the island. The Food, yoga, and massages are totally great. The beds comfortable and staff helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CanuckPegCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The Spa Koh Chang is a beautiful little resort. The whole place is full of flowers, butterflies and birds. Only saw two mosquitoes over the 5 days we stayed, inlcuding the river trip through the mangroves.
The food was excellent, especially for strict vegetarians/raw food dieters- but you have to be clear about what you (don't) want when you're ordering. Staff were friendly and went out of their way to help.
The resort has a rustic feel, being constructed largely out of recycled timber. So it's not grandeur and opulence, but the ambience is great and the rooms were clean and quiet. The bath/shower had a rather odd design but was functional.
There were several on-site activities and services. Fasting and enemas weren't really our idea of a good time (other guests raved about the benefits), but the massages and yoga practices were very good.
The Spa's location requires a drive to the beaches but the resort provided daily transport for those who wanted the sea and sand and the increasingly ubiquitous noisy beach backpackers. The Spa also arranged additional activites/excursions for us with all transport provided.
One thing that I would criticise is the elephant trekking company which thought having an unfortunate monkey tied to a pole by a short rope round its neck was a form of entertainment- but that wasn't the Spa's fault, and we easily found another elephant trekking company that appeared to care for their animals.
Overall, we found the Spa Koh Chang to be a super place to get away from the stresses and strains of everyday life- there is something rather enchanting about it. If full moon parties on Koh Phan Ngan are your thing, then don't bother- but if you want rest and relaxation, it's ideal. We'd go back tomorrow. Highly recommended, and well worth the travel to Trat province.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Not a stranger to Detox Spa Resorts from around the world, the Spa resort Koh Chang is undoubtedly the best one! The value cannot be disputed and what you will bring back from this experience is so special that once you have departed and returned to your home, your main goal should be to encourage all of your loved ones to embark onto this amazing journey that will no doubt ignite so many senses within one's self, hopefully restoring some of the balance lost along the way.

We have been working very hard at building our small company in the Philippines for the past 2 years and I thought that the best gift I could offer my fiance, 27 years old and my parents who are slowly approaching their 70s was to bring them on their first detox experience. My girlfriend, while she questioned my choice of vacation, trusted me so did my parents and we all successfully completed our 8 days fasting detox. The people we befriended, others guests, staff, and the owners all shared something in common, love for life, sensitivity to nature, the thirst for healthy living, the desire to find happiness from within, the never ending quest for self development were all some of the points that connected each one of us and while in 8 days we cannot reach all of our goals, much was achieved. Apart from loosing on average each 5 kilos during our fasting days and the many news friends we made along the way, we were all united and now we feel like we truly have honored our bodies and minds.

The question that surfaced in my mind was simple when I decided to embark onto this journey, how can I claim to be capable of being environmentally conscious when the first priority is being ignored, honoring our bodies foremost then only then can we begin to heal humanity along with the environment we live in...

Thank you to all the very special staff and owners who made our experience truly an amazing one :)

Alexandre & Family

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander_Michaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
6.4 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.6 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
6.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
6.3 mi away
Garden Resort
Garden Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Resort Koh Chang

Property: The Spa Resort Koh Chang
Address: 15 / 4 Moo 4 Baan Salak Kok, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa Resort Koh Chang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Provide the Best Programs to Fulfill your Healthy Holidays!An easy, yet effective fasting and cleansing program and professional medical consultation! The Spa Koh Chang Resort provides the best service we possibly can. In the program, a wide range of fresh tropical juice, clear broth vegetable soup, coconut water, quality herbal supplements from Arise and Shine Company U.S.A. are used to support the detoxification process. Our highlight supplements, for example; the intestinal cleansing aid tablet Chompher, the herbal nutrition and the friendly bacterial tablet Flora Grow (Acidophilus Bacteria) are to suit your choice of health program. It is recommended to take up a special massage, the Japanese-style Ampuku stomach massage therapy to help your excretory system. The so-called Ampuku massage will improve the effectiveness of our easy-to-do self-administration colonic irrigation (colon cleansing using colema board). Other selections of activities such as the morning Yoga & Meditation, Herbal steam bath, far infrared sauna are to help you relax and enjoy your precious holiday with The Spa Koh Chang Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spa Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Koh Chang
Resort Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing