We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Good Location, Lacks Attention to Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Good Location, Lacks Attention to Detail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was interested in staying here in a spa room, which has its own jacuzzi and is close to the beach. As another reviewer pointed out, the path to the rooms is dark and it seems like the staff treat these rooms like they are in a different hotel. There is no wifi access in these rooms and there is a steam room which does not work but there is no note on it reminding the guests. The no smoking signs and stickers make the room less attractive, and there is a note about the floor next to the jacuzzi being slippery, but no bathmat provided. What should have been a room service menu (there's a restaurant, but no room service) was a list of items in the room with prices and warnings about staining the sheets and towels. The list said that bathrobes and umbrellas were supplied, but not in my room. I asked the front desk about the items and they said that other guests were using them.

A few silly details: no place to put toiletries in the shower, no smoking area (the room has no balcony) empty bottles of shampoo in the shower and all those ugly stickers and warnings really make this resort as nice as it could be. The room is nice and the pools are as well, the resort is located in the middle of the beach.

But overall, a few changes would give this the feel of a real four star resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sabai_sabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    350
    134
    58
    41
See reviews for
239
272
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

You get what you pay for.  The room was quite basic and was in the old section across the road from the main hotel.  The plus was that we were much closer to the restaurant which overlooks the beach.  The hotel had wifi, but it charges for it.  It was down the entire time we were there so we ate all our meals elsewhere as we had to plan our onward journey.  Plenty of nice cafes and restaurants in the other hotels along the main street.  The hotel is well situated in the centre of the main strip.  Breakfast was ok with both Thai and western options. It's not far from the ferry terminal, about 15 minutes in a tuk tuk, 30 baht each. Bed wasn't that great but slept OK.  The hotel offered snorkeling cruises but we managed to get the same tour from a local operator on the main street for a cheaper price.  fantastic value trip including lunch and 4 islands, Koh Chang Boat Trips - try and book them if you can.  We were headed to Laos from here, despite many people telling us we had to go back to Bangkok, we managed to get advice from a local Lao girl that we could take the bus from Trat to Korat (Nakhon Ratchisima) stay overnight and then get the international  bus the next day direct to Pakse.  Long journey but all worked out well.  

Room Tip: If you want a newer and better room, they are across the other side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Very good resort with fantastic garden og atmospher. Staff is nice and roms are clean and Beautyfull. Whort everything ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I started to write a review of this particular hotel sitting in it's dimly lighted hallway of my wing. But then I decided I needed to cool off and try to be unbiased. Nope, even after a month of travelling in Thailand I still believe it was a waste of my time , money and friends who have came up with a resolution to never come back to Thailand.

Pros:
1) It’s on a White Sand Beach and a Hillside Building in particular the complex of deluxe rooms is really nice. It has a much bigger swimming pool than the one of an Ocean Wing. Rooms are quite spacious and some of them face the hill while the others- the pool.
2) Everytime I had a problem which I addressed to the reception (Hillside wing), they tried to solve it.
3) There is a room for kids and the kids swimming pool in both Wings. However, the Hillside one is bigger and has one slope which all kids seemed to enjoy.
4) Breakfast had plenty of quite decent coffee.


Cons:
1) I stayed in a cheap room (spa room) and it felt like you live in an absolutely another place with halls full of completely wasted Thais ( there is a venue hall and a snooker room in that part of the building) .
2) The room cleaning is/was not to my idea of Thai cleaning. I had to address to the reception with the problem that my floors were not mopped so I could see the stains on the floor . My friends who stayed at the superior building also complained about it. However, when I was passing the deluxe rooms I noticed cleaning ladies using mops.
3) The internet is something you need to pay for and for what is more, it is neither cheap nor good . To start with, one of my friends addressed to the receptionists of an Ocean Wing with some money and the word WIFI as he doesn’t speak much English. They said No have. He insisted on it but heard the same answer no have. I actually was really annoyed with an attitude towards all the guests who didn’t speak much English as they pretended not understanding them . So I had to walk everywhere with my friends and explain the things they wanted. Finally , I addressed to the receptionists of a Hillside Wing and they called to the Ocean wing so they would sell us the WIFI access receipt with a password. However, we still couldn’t access the internet and had to stay at their computer room to finally use it. As I understood, we were not the only ones and I heard lots of Russians, Italians and Germans who could not access the provider page. We finally started to go to the Buffalo Steak House to eat out and use their wonderful highspeed WiFi.
4) The breakfast was so NOT delicious and even Thai food was disgusting with a bitter taste . When they are fully booked you literally have to run after the waiters to get yourself cups and forks. What is more, every single day I heard people of different nationalities demanding food labels( one emotional Italian woman was literally screaming one day). Right, you don’t know what food labels mean in Thai but if every single day people keep telling this particular word combination maybe it’s high time to go and check with a dictionary or ask them what they mean but not to stand and mock at the people . So I asked for the manager and told her that they didn’t have the FOOOD LABELS and when they started making faces again ,I had to explain in pidgin English what I meant by showing that hide and seek procedure with food. The very next day my friends lwere laughing all the breakfast as since then there were food labels. Still it didn’t make food more delicious and some of our company went on paying and eating out in other places.
5) The premises are actually good but I think there is such a lack of management that it makes you feel like nobody actually gives a damn about you. Hords of people were in the ocean while the red flag was put in the other hotel and nobody came to tell about it to them and believe me KACHA flag was NOT raised.
6) the rooms look like on the pictures but worn and little bit dusty. Of course, they are in fact much smaller .
Sorry for rambling about this hotel so much, but now there is nobody who would make me come back to Koh Chang again. There are so many beautiful places in Thailand with good service and people like Ayutthaya, Koh Sa-Mui and of course Koh Lanta !

Room Tip: go for a Hillside Wing facing the Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank greenspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Basically we liked the hotel. The bungalow in the first floor had a great sea and pool view. The location is good, however there a various stones in the sea directly in front of the hotel. However, just a few meters from there the White Sand Beach starts and therefore it wasn't a reall problem. The staff at the reception was friendly, other staff like the guy who gives out the towels was not allways in a good mood. So bring back your towels latest at 7 pm ;-) . The bungalow is ok from it's size but definitively needs a renovation. We didn't pay that much so it was ok for us. Alternatives are rooms at the other side of the street what we didn't like or more expensive bunglows direclty around the pool. There was a minibar with reasonable prices and a safety box (which was not fixed in the cupboard. The balcony was nice and offered a great view. The bathroom was very simple and it smelled from the drain. Breakfast was ok and you can sit outside with beach and seaview.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Good quality hotel on both sides of the street, with a quality pool, restaurant on the beach.

Room Tip: Good to overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithBolton_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

the hotel is gorgeous, clean, staff were helpful, breakfast was a buffet with lots of choice. Pool areas and proximity of the beach was excellent and it's a lovely spot. We had a deluxe hillside room which was lovely. However the hotel charged 60 THB for 30 mins WIFI !!!!! There is no lift which I am sure is maybe something to do with the frequent power cuts but still strange in a hotel of this price range and the rooms were air conditioned and the reception area but not the corridors. We arrived on a day where it was at least 35 degrees with rooms on the first floor and had to drag cases up 3 flights of stairs in stifling corridors. These are little moans but could be addressed to make the Kacha even better. My main gripe was the WIFI though and after staying in 5 different hotels around Thailand on this trip, this hotel was the only one without free WIFI and also cost us the most per night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazSaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
8.2 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
6.1 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
4.6 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Property: Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Address: 88-89 Moo 4, White Sand Beach (Had Sai Khao), Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island's most privileged location, Kacha Resort & Spa is set in the heart of Koh Chang's most beautiful White Sand Beach. The resort is a beachfront resort with a great sea view and is a perfect place for a holiday with your loved one, a group of special friends, or your whole family. Not only that you will enjoy living by the sea, lazing around on white sand beach and clear sea-water, but also you will have wonderful moments with such beachside activities. Along the beach, there are varieties of activity, either day-time or night-time, waiting for you to be selected. Each evening the beachfront attracts more people with some volleyball and football teams, working out on the wide beachfront along with exquisite sunset, courtesy of the low tide. Also, restaurants and bars along the beach are just fantastic for those who love night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Kacha Resort And Spa
Koh Chang Kacha Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing