We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

For the first night we were put in a bungalow which was directly at the main street of Koh Chang - that was really loud and we could hardly sleep! We were allowed to change the room and got one that was farer away. Furthermore the staff was not really friendly or helpful (especially if you compare this to other parts/islands of Thailand). It seems to be a hotel that is focused on package-tourists. Overall the hotel has a value-for-money ratio that did not satisfy us at all (by the way: even the local people say so). You pay the price for staying close to the beach (but keep in mind the noisy main street).

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow that is far away from the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 536 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent our 1 week October break on Koh Chang, a lovely and very lush and green island in the Gulf of Thailand. After checking reviews of hotels and resorts, we decided to book the Paradise Resort, which we did not regret.
The resort is right at Khlong Prao beach, about 30 minutes from the main ferry. The beach itself is a bit narrow, but nice, clean and shallow, with enough shade from the palm trees.

The resort itself is well-organised, with a main building with reception and restaurant, and villas and bungalows. As a family of four, we booked the family villa, which consisted of 2 villas in fact, and a private splash pool with whirlpool between them. Very nice and comfortable, with spacious rooms and a large bathroom. Only minus was that the villas were on the roadside, but as we mainly were there for sleeping, this was not too disturbing after all. So no complaints about the rooms, which were, I presume, recently renovated or refurbished.
The resort has a wonderful spa, which is a bit pricy for Asian standards, but it's worth to check the discounts and specials. Distance to the beach is not far, a minute or so walking. The beach is nice, but lounge chairs are a bit scarce. As it was not yet high season, we always managed to get chairs for the 4 of us, but I expect this to be a bit more difficult when it gets really busy.
Pool area is also nice, with more chairs available.
Service in general is good, although we had to look a few times for waiters to serve us for lunch. The restaurant has a wide choice of excellent food (Thai, Italian, Western) at decent prices, it's nice to sit outside at the beach for diner. Choice for breakfast is OK: enough to choose from, everyday another choice of Asian dishes, for the rest a bit limited variety.

In general, a recommendable place on Koh Chang. Don't expect the 5-star Starwood or Accor luxury, but it is a nicely located and well-managed resort to enjoy a relaxing beach holiday.
One tip for management: please remove some of the signboards with all those do's and (mainly) don'ts, it's a bit overdone to see that you get fined if you smoke or reserve chairs with towels every 10 meters.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morevish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fantastic vacation, real bungalows, standing close to the sea, surrounded by trees, lizards, etc. Fantastic views, hot sea-water, fresh air. So if you want to spend time in romantic place - you'll get it here! And a wonderful SPA on the sea-shore

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yevgeniy_Kostylev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I were visiting friends in Thailand in August 2013. We decided to go and investigate Koh Chang. I booked us a pool villa at the Paridise Resort and it was wonderful. It is very easy to get to you catch a Bangkok Airways Flight from Bangkok to Trat and then from there it is very seemless, You go to the counter and pay 800 Baht pp return about $30AUD they put you in a mini van which goes on the ferry. The ferry ride is very picturesque and takes about 30 minutes. The mini van then drives off the ferry and takes about 30 minutes to get to the Paradise Resort.

August is their low season so not many people about which suited us. Most of the tourists here were German. The resort itself was very well appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, right from the reception, restaurant to the maid that clearned our room each day.

The Pool Villa was very nice we had a huge pool in our little gated area, the room was very spacious so was the bathroom. The resort has a spa treatment area, a smallish pool for the guests who did not have a pool villa, but the resort is right on the beach so most people swim at the beach. There are about 24 Pool Villas. The other accommodations were bungalows within the garden area. They were quite seculuded and not ontop of each other as some bungalows tend to be. I would not get an Ocean View Pool villa which is right on the beach as it has an open frontage were people were walking past all the time, not very private, and the cost more. I think if you are getting a pool villa you want privacy.

White Sands which is about 7 minutes by taxi 50 Baht, is the main area of Koh Chang, there is a great variety of restaurants and shops to visit, but it was always nice to come back to the Paradise Resort. About a 5 minute walk from the resort there are 3 supermarkets, so can get the beer nice and cheqp, plenty of restaurants and shops. We had a wonderful meal at a restaurant called Moons the owner was a Kiwi would recommend this restaurant the meal was fabulous. There really is no need to go into White Sands every night for dinner.

I would highly recommend the Paradise Resort and would definately go back again. From what I am told they are pretty busy in peak season so get in early to book.

Room Tip: Pool Villa as against the Bungalows, just for more privacy. The Villas are not as spacious as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were at Koh Chang Paradise during the off-season. We got our booking through Agoda so our rates were quite a bargain.

The staff and service here is great. Staff is very friendly, despite sometimes being a little sparse (perfectly understandable since it's off-season). They were very responsive when we gave them feedback or had requests.

Unfortunately, when we were their on our visit they had to repair their pool. Greater effort could have been put into walling off the area and/or making it look better during repairs. While they offered an alternative service for the pool repair (they would take you to another swimming pool at another hotel for free), it would have been nice to give us an earlier notice prior to arriving to the hotel. Also, I nearly tripped on some of the ropes they were using to repair the pool. Some warning notices should have been used.

Regardless, the sea-side rooms are definitely very nice. Right off their beautiful, sandy beach, the rooms were quaint, aptly spaced and well maintained. My porch light was not working but a quick call to staff had that corrected. Mini-bar prices were also very very reasonable. Decor is also well done, the bathrooms are very spacious. No problems with hot water or basic amenities. Although 3 channels on TV could not be viewed due to weather (or so I was told). It would have been nice if they had a sand-screen installed on the doors so we could leave the doors open to hear the beach while keeping our doors locked/closed at night.

Their complimentary breakfast is decent. They provide everything from cereals and yogurt to Thai food as well as an omelette station. While their breakfast is not stellar, it is definitely tasty. Their lunch menu is also very well priced (20% discount for room-stayers) and very good. Their satay-pork is very well spiced, and their crab fried-rice had generous helpings of crab-meat.

They do have an on-site spa, a very nicely done facility. Their was a discount for all 60 minute treatments. The masseuse was very skilled, but I think their pricing could be more competitive given how pricing is done throughout the country.

We enjoyed our stay at Koh Chang Paradise Hotel immensely, despite the rain. Their staff is very friendly and helpful, the facilities are well maintained. The beach is very nice (although extra cleaning is warranted). If the management could make some minor fixes on little details they could easily turn Koh Chang Paradise into one of the best stays in the island, and bring them up one more star in the 5 star rating system.

Pros: Beach-side room. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: Pool renovations. Spa discount treatment a still tad bit expensive.

Room Tip: Beach-side rooms are very nice, except you may not get as much privacy when there are lots of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I spent 3 great days here. I have been to Koh Chang many times, and it's still a great place to go.
This was my first stay in Klongprao, and I was very pleasantly surprised.
The beach is lovely and quite long and the town is quiet, but lively enough to find something to eat (although there aren't many clubs or bars in the area.)

The hotel itself is good value. The staff are very friendly and professional, and the location is pretty good.

The rooms are fairly standard - square shaped with enough room and an LCD TV on the wall. The bigger rooms closer to the sea have a bath as well, apparently.

The hotel is situated right on Klongprao beach, so at most it's a 1 minute walk to the sea. The pool is clean and the food in the restaurant is not overpriced, like it is in many hotels. Breakfast is OK, but nothing special.

The one downside to the location is it's proximity to the main road. Koh Chang has now become quite popular with "big-bike" riders, due to it's sweeping curves, steep climbs and amazing scenery. This means that sometimes the rooms closest to the road are treated to the growl of bike engines (although it's not too loud at night)

It's good value, friendly, well located and I'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The resort is right on the main road, so spend a little extra to get a room nearer the beach (They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had searched for many resorts before making decision, and I found from TripAdvisor that many people wrote the positive reviews about this resort. Also, it is top ten rated by the guests. Now, I am here, Koh Chang Paradise resort and spa, and I am not disappointed at all. We had Deluxe Bungalow for 3 nights, the room is really nice, clean, especially the bathroom which there are bathtub and big shower room. The resort is by the beach, and the beach is wide and really good for swimming. Also,the swimming pool is not small but mot big either; however it is clean, and there is kid's pool. Moreover, they use salt instead of chlorine. The breakfast is not that bad...they have variety of foods. Overall, we are very satisfied with our stay here at Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,023 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
2 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.6 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: 39/4 Moo 4 | Klongprao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $69 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa, sits on the glistening white sands of Klongprao Beach. Watch the dazzling sunsets sink into the Gulf of Thailand. Located on fabulous Klongprao Beach on Koh Chang's west coast. Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa is simply a paradise on earth. With a prime stretch of 260 metre long beachfront, delicate white sand, azure water, spectacular sunsets, and superb panorama of unspoiled natural scenery. Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa is a romantic, peaceful sanctuary, ideal for a memorable vacation experience and wedding or honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Paradise Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing