We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Everything was great in this Resort.

Rooms are nice and new, friendly and helpful staff (especially Miss Manager, who helps me a lot).

Our bungalows was very far to the water front, and the internet is not free.

The restaurant served good food (You can order to the beach), good breakfast buffet, and Spa.

It is not too far from the White Sands Beach

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caracolcaracol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    199
    43
    11
    4
See reviews for
112
216
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Koh Chang Paradise Resort is set on a private beach with bungalows set in lush gardens. The first thing that hits you about the resort is the humidity due to thick garden vegetation, which unfortunately really helps to attract the mosquitoes which are already abundant on Koh Chang. As you board the ferry to go over to Koh Chang, you are warned in the shops to buy insect repellent. Be warned, they are not telling you to sell you something, it really is required.

Now onto the hotel: Having read reviews I had the feeling that this hotel was really keen on enforcing rules. Reviews complaining that management 'stopped people from taking food from the restaurant' didn't really bother me. After all, you pay for ABF, not half or full board! As with 'towels will not be put out before breakfast'. Well said, I don't want to get up early to get into a sun bed fight.This said, from the moment you walk into the hotel, everywhere you look, whether it be in the hotel lobby, restaurant, gardens, room, pool or beach, there is an abundance of signs stating 'the rules' along with the consequent 'fines' if the rules are not obeyed at all times. A little over the top in some cases but that's the way the hotel runs.

We were led to our room by someone from reception. The lady was very 'matter of fact' about everything and really lacked any sort of warmness towards us as customers. The reception has an attitude along the lines of 'you are here, this is the way it works, take it or leave it'. We stayed in one of the garden bungalows, which despite being tiny, was very comfortable and has everything you require for a comfortable stay.

The pool is one of the best features of the hotel. Well maintained and right besides the beach. Unfortunately the pool bar and pool BBQ were shut with a sign saying 'open between November and May', which clearly gave the message that the hotel was only half open due to being out of season.

Internet is extremely expensive at the hotel and as with most hotels I really fail to understand why it does not come free in this day and age. If Starbucks can give free wi-fi access whilst I drink a coffee, then why can’t a hotel resort where I spend considerably more money? Until enquiring I wasn't aware internet wasn't free. Upon returning back to our rooms late one evening, I wanted to check emails, asked for a code for the internet which the night porter gave me which subsequently didn’t work. I enquired at reception the next day to be told that I was staying in a 'cheap room' and that free internet was only available to guests who were paying considerably more than me in one of the pool villas. Well that put me in my place.. If I wanted to purchase internet access it would cost 200 baht for 2 hrs. A little expensive....

Only real issue was at check-out. We had a taxi waiting to take us to catch a ferry to Koh Samet and needed to leave on-time because the last ferry left at 13:30. Instead of the speedy check-out we would have appreciated, instead we were told to sit down for 15 minutes whilst they checked the room for breakages and items taken from the mini bar. 15 minutes turned into 25 minutes, then they returned and said I had to pay for beer taken from the mini bar, which I had not had. Upon telling them I had not had the beer, they told me to wait whilst housekeeping checked again. At this I mentioned I had a taxi waiting and was told 'your taxi will just have to wait'. Once again, an attitude problem by a receptionist, If there is one thing which I will never tolerate from a hotel, it is rudeness, which I promptly explained to the lady. Eventually everything was cleared up and I was allowed to leave and fortunately made my ferry to Koh Samet with 1 minute to spare only through my driver having to drive at 140km/h for the last 20 minutes of my journey. Thanks for the stress Koh Chang Paradise Resort!

All in all, a very nice hotel, great location, however receptionists attitude absolutely stinks!! Would I stay there again? Only if I didn’t feel I'd had my fair share of stress at home and work over the last year and needed a little more stress from my holiday. It just isn’t worth the trouble...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonandJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Excellent 10 night stay in August, the resort really does live up to its name. We had a private villa with private pool, the rooms are very spacious, tasteful and comfortable. The pool was a real bonus and we were right on the beach. Great service throughout from all members of staff including the staff in the spa.

Great quality and selection at breakfast, a real mix of western and eastern foods.

Excellent location very close to local attractions and walking distance to a number of restaurants, bars, shops. The hotel organised a number of days out for us making it really easy and simple.

Would definatly return.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are open to the front so if you want a bit more privacy go for ones off the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGH-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We, a family of two adults and two children of 6 and 3, stayed 5 nights at the hotel. The good part of the stay was the great location at the beach and the pool was good too. The rooms are nice and clean and with big beds. We got a room rather far from the reception, and as others has mentioned it takes some time to find your way around the paths. We had lunch three times, and it was good value, served at the pool.

The following lead to the bad review. First, we had to pay B150 per day, for breakfast for our oldest child. This may not seem as much, but the fact that he hardly eats anything, at least far from B150 of value, it seems rather expensive. Regarding the breakfast, we had a terrible experience one morning. Our boy took, according to one staff member, too many buns (small pieces of bread), as he stacked them on the plate. She was very angry, especially when he went for more. As we walked out, taking the remaining buns with us (5 pcs), she was even more angry, and demanded that we return the buns. We replied, he is just six years old, he gets hungry in an hour, what is the problem? She then replied, you're not allowed to take food outside the restaurant, which is okay, but the point is that we did not take vast amount of food, it was just a snack for our children. At that point, we just walked out, simply ignoring them. It was a very unpleasant experience.

Another day, our child accidentally knocked down a ceramics soap dispenser, causing it to break. We reported and where told that had to pay for it. I initially refused to pay, but finally did, as the management explained that if I did not pay, the cleaning staff would have to pay it. I regard this as very poor management, and completely unfair to the low payed staff

Finally, the have signs posted all over the hotel, regarding the fines you will receive if you violate their rules. The fines nails the attitude towards its guest, you are only welcome if you follow our strict rules and spend a lot of money at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JorgenCDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat S, Manager at Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Regarding the above comments we would like to explian as below:

1. We charge ABF for child at Baht 150, half price of adult if child 4 - 8 years old. Therefore, we charged only one child for this booking, the other child free of charge. The charge had been accepted by the clients at the time when they checked in and it was not our concern if child could eat much or not. But the main point is we do not allow to bring food out of the restaurant in the breakfast time. Clients can enjoy their buffet breakfast as much as they can but only in the restaurant area, but this case the clients did not even care what the restaurant staff had informed them. Finally, we let the clients brought the buns out as they wanted due to the lady client very angry and started to cry from the interruption.

2. As usual, when some thing was broken by the client we will inform him or her to be charged for the broken item and the Front Desk Manager is authorized to consider if they have to pay or not, depend on cost of the items. Eventually, we considered to charged for the broken soap dispenser due to the children of the clients very naughty and it was possible that they were not under supervised of the parents.

Anyway, we will strictly train the staff's manners and behavior to avoid any misunderstanding in the informing guest process at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is one of four places that I stayed in whilst we toured around Koh Chang. Although nothing spectacular, it is definitely above average and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

My whole family, all 13 of us (grandma, four families and 5 children - three of which under a year old) stayed two weeks at Paradise Resort.
It was a very easy, relaxing, family friendly place.
We stayed in the slightly upgraded rooms, and they were very spacious with a nice outdoor area. Everything is right on the beach - but you do have to get up a bit early to 'reserve' your sun lounger if you want to lay looking out at the waves. A nice pool, not too crowded and the Thai food is absolutely fantastic.
A little bit far to drive from Bangkok Airport - but being as we were there for 2 weeks that didn't really matter.
There's a little market a 5min walk away, the mini bar is very cheap, and the local elephant tours and waterfalls are worth a little visit.
It was heavenly, good value and we would definitely recommend it for a family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrybobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Ko Chang Paradise Resort should easily rate a 4 but a couple of factors let them down. It has a fantastic location on a beautiful beach with good, but dated rooms. Although, they are renovating a few rooms at at time. Choose a beachfront room as the garden rooms may be a bit stuffy without a breeze.
The beach is great and clean. We were there during monsoon, although a little rough it was still swimmable. A good pool is an alternative.
Service should easily rate 5, however were sadly let down by surly kitchen staff, who were more concerned about someone taking three bananas at the breakfast buffet or putting milk in a baby bottle rather than a glass, than fundamentals such as fresh bread.
Other staff were fantastic and great with kids.
Food was very poor best to look elsewhere. Coffee was rugged at best! Great restaurant on the beach next door and 200 meters to a range of OK restaurants and coffee.
Overall a pleasant hotel with a great beach, just ignore the surly chef.

Room Tip: Choose Beachfront away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the comment and it is really useful resource for us to improve the services. Actually, in the breakfast time, the clients can enjoy thier buffet as much as they can but foods can not be allowed to bring outside the restaurant. In this case the Chef just wanted to inform the client that she could not take the foods out of the restaurant, just an inform if the client intend to bring the foods out. Anayway, we thank you for the comment of this matter and we would more careful in the method of informing guest. In addition, we will take this opportunity to improve our food taste at our best, eventhough formerly received very good feedback from many guests and we will not stop improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.3 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
3.4 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
1.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: 39/4 Moo 4 | Klongprao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#11 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa, sits on the glistening white sands of Klongprao Beach. Watch the dazzling sunsets sink into the Gulf of Thailand. Located on fabulous Klongprao Beach on Koh Chang's west coast. Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa is simply a paradise on earth. With a prime stretch of 260 metre long beachfront, delicate white sand, azure water, spectacular sunsets, and superb panorama of unspoiled natural scenery. Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa is a romantic, peaceful sanctuary, ideal for a memorable vacation experience and wedding or honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Paradise Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing