We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful stay in a nice house.”
other travelers have booked this property
Unforgettable ambiance at sunset with subdued typical Thai lighting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unforgettable ambiance at sunset with subdued typical Thai lighting
Live right on the lagoon and enjoy spectacular views Enjoy the authenticity of the cozy wooden interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Unforgettable ambiance at sunset with subdued typical Thai lighting
Live right on the lagoon and enjoy spectacular views
Enjoy the authenticity of the cozy wooden interior
Two spacious master bedrooms with refined handicraft furniture
Sit at the bar and watch the fishermen's boats pass by
Stunning views from the deck at night: lagoon side restaurants and guest houses
Can you spot the fishermen going to the sea?
The tip end of the lagoon just 100 meters away from the house deck
Baan Moon is located just off a 1.5Km stretch of quiet beach.
The 3km beach just a few paddle strokes away
Enjoy our deluxe Dunlopillow queen size mattresses for a perfect sleep experience
Lounge area: chill out to the sound of the waves from afar
Charming first floor and two upstairs edrooms
Integrated kitchen boasting all the necessary equipment for you to feel just like home
No neon lights at Baan Moon, we care about ambiance!
Open space from the first floor: don't miss anything from the lagoon life
Our small but cozy bathrooms made of natural stone (slate floor and sandstone-tiled walls)
Entrance of the house: look between the wooden floor boards and spot the fish!
Comfy beds in spacious rooms overlooking the lagoon and the sea.. what else can you ask for?
Look through the window and marvel at the sea shore
Share good times with friends or family around the dining table
How about taking a nap in the lounge by the lagoon?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ko Chang, Trat Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Escape701...
1 review
“A peaceful stay in a nice house.”
Reviewed March 16, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent 3 full days in Baan Moon Fisherman's villa and I must say that it was not sufficient to discover all the surroundings.The shops are a little bit far, but not so much (25 mn walk, or 5 mn taxi). Two Thai restaurants, cheap and good food, at less than 2 mn. Other ones on the beaches nearby.
We arrived at night and we have appreciated to see Ian who has given us many informations, and to find beers, soft drinks, fruits and every thing for the next morning breakfast.Very helpful.
The house was amazing and very pleasant to leave in, especially on the "deck" in front of the canal.Amazing also to go to the beach with the canoe at our disposal. Good air conditioning in the 2 rooms, clean and convenient bathrooms. But, from the upper level, you need to go on the ground floor to get the bathroom. It may be somehow difficult at night due to the slope of the stairs between both levels.We manage it with grand-parents at lower level!!
This house is vey convenient for 4 people. It works also for 4 people + 2 children, but it is necessary to have one children in each room. There is a sofa which can be open in the upper room, but the one in the other room cannot be open which is not so convenient. Nevertheless, we were 4 adults and 2 children (16 and 13 years old) and we have managed it without problems.
We have not seen too much of Koh Chang, but for sure, this is a good destination in Thailand, less crowdy and noisy than Phuket. And Baan Moon Fisherman's villa is a good place to stay,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2018
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Baan Moon. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time on the island. And thanks for recommending more people visit Koh Chang, as you say, it's still much quieter than Phuket. And far better for people wanting to see more of the real Thailand.

Best regards

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAGLIANOL...
LONDON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent in every way. Situation, comfort, all first class. Ian was very helpful. We had a great few days unwinding after a stressful tour in Dubai and Bangkok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Baan Moon. Hope you make it back to Koh Chang again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markmO444...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb holiday home ”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

what a great place, we are a family of 6 who stayed here for a week and what can we say but wow!!! superb location in a tranquil area of Koh chang, great restaurants either side if it and a great little bar not far away too, short canoe trip to long sandy beaches. Everything you need in the house and Ian was superb meeting us on arrival giving us the heads up about the area and also arranging our transport from the border to Koh chang and again back to Bangkok. Would highly recommend staying here and would hope to do so in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Hi Mark

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our holiday home.

Hope to see you guys again in the future.

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing stay just as advertsed”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Just spent four nights at ban moon and I would throroughl endorse the great reviews. Ian arranged transfers for us with ease and the property was just as great as the photos. Stayed with wife and seven year old son and caneoiing each evening yo the resteraunts was great. Swimming with the elephants in the north of the island was the real highlight but the five island snorkelling was also good. The appartmentvwas well equipped and came with lots of extras like coffee, bread, water etc. Great touches.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Hi Mark

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Baan Moon & great yo hear you enjoyed your time on the island and your stay at our holiday home.

Hope you make it back here in the future.

All the best

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2013Aussi...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pure bliss, our favourite holiday home on Koh Chang”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed on our honeymoon with friends. We arrived to a beautiful house, with beer, bread, fruit and many treats - which was a perfect welcome for our late arrival. Ian met us at the house on check in and provided a plethora of useful information and maps.

The house is positioned on the riverfront and restaurants are close. We used the kayak to get to the beach and explore the river.

We also hired scooters from the property 2-3 houses up and they were kind enough to loan us fishing rods for the duration of our stay - so we repaid them in mangrove jack fish caught from our back deck! It was awesome. No luck with the crab trap though.

Some things to know:

The house next door is a working fisherman's house - they dry prawns on the deck daily. We didn't mind, the smell wasn't too bad it is added an "authentic" charm to the place.

The house is advertised as 3 bedroom, but the 3rd bedroom isn't much to get excited over and it is devoid of air-conditioning. I would recommend treating this property as a two bedroom house that can sleep 3 in each room (sofa bed and lounge).

We LOVED the house, the position and the host Ian. He helped with transport and any enquiries we had. We will be back!! Thank you for having us!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position, cleanliness, the aircon worked brilliantly, excellent host
Liked least: The 3rd room
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2015
Thanks AussieTravellers.

Fair point about the third bedroom. Someone else also mentioned the same thing. I'll have to find a way to reword it on the listings.

The prawn drying has now ended. It's a seasonal thing . They'll be no weird smells emanating from the neighbours until next September / October. :-)

For the benefit of anyone reading this, the place to hire scooters is a small riverside bar/restaurant 50 metres away, called 'Sapporot Bar', They've been very helpful to a lot of our guests.

It was good to meet you guys and thanks for choosing to stay at Baan Moon.

All the best

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurtisGr
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing home from home”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just back from a lovely stay at Baan Moon, Koh Chang. This was the highlight of our 2 week vacation to Koh Chang and Bangkok.

Everything from the initial Ibooking to the transport & checking in was handled effortlessly by Ian, the owner.

He gave us a tour of the property, plus comprehensive maps to show us the best spots to visit and highlighted his restaurant choices.

We're pretty independent so spent time exploring by hire car, that Ian Ian arranged for us.

All in all a great few days

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2015
Hi Curtis.

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Baan Moon.

Hope you make it back here another time.

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmavoce
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little taste of Paradise!”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are half way through our 9 day stay at Baan Moon Villa and are absolutely loving it! There was a change of management since when I booked, but Ian made us so welcome, by greeting us on arrival (he also helped organise our driver from bangkok)! He had stocked the kitchen with supplies of bread,coffee, milk, fruit, chips, soft drink and beer! He then offered to bring us 2 scooters to rent from him for a good weekly rate the next morning. It made everything so easy. Such a nice fellow. A few doors away either side of the villa are great restaurants, reachable by the canoe or 2 mins walking. The living space on the deck makes it feel like a houseboat, which is nicely decorated with all the things u could possibly need. And then a peaceful a/c sleep on comfy beds by night. The river is so pretty at night, and surprisingly quiet, so a perfect spot for a family. I highly recomend it for a relaxing home away from home!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2015
Hi Karma. Many thanks for the review. It was good to meet you & your family and I'm glad you enjoyed your time at Baan moon and on the island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing