We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointed”
Review of Aana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aana Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel might has been one of the most beautiful hotels at koh chang. But this period is over. The only thing which is still breathtaking is the quiet area to relax and the nice flora around the hotel which gives you the feeling of beeing in the dungel.

The following points are negative:


1. General hotel service

- Welcoming:
Very unfriendly welcoming when we arrived at the hotel. Additionally we had to wait 1 hour for preparing our room without any kind of apologize.

- Skills of hotel staff
Very difficult to communicate with hotel staff as almost everbody doesn´t speak English, respectively at least at a level, which is not sufficient to address or solve problems.

- Restaurant service:
Very unfriendly and unprofessional behaviour, e.g. no welcoming when you sit down; when you place an ordert he waiter or waitress does not even look at you; entry and main course are beeing served at the same time,


2. Hotel Facilities
All hotel facilities were not as good as they were shown and advertised in travel broschures.

- Hotel room
Full of A insects, especially ants; very used furniture and sanitary stuff, broken mosquito net


- Hotel beach:
The hotel beach was full of dirt. It hasn´t been cleaned up by hotel staff during our whole stay. Additionally the hotel beach was not sprayed with sand flies repellent.

Hotel Security:
1st night, safe got unlock and 1000 Baht got stolen. It happend during our first dinner at the hotel´s restaurant Cinnamon. (We suppose, that a member of hotel staff knocked up our hotel door and unlocked the safe with a key or special reset code.)


We do not recommend you the hotel!

Room Tip: If you decided to book despite our negative feedback, then take at least the top view villa, 2nd flo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 86explorer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Aana Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 492 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

For me, a good hotel should have customer-orientated service, clean and modern rooms/amenities and a good breakfast. This hotel lacks a little in all 3 criteria.
During check-in I was really happy to have finally arrived in Koh Chang, but we were not greeted by the front-desk, so I had to even say "hello" first, and then the lady responded as if she just woke up from a dream. This attitude was more or less through-out my whole stay, except for 1 very nice young man at the front-desk who usually works in the evenings. No matter what, he always greeted us with a smile and asked us if we needed any help. Every night we wanted to take a taxi somewhere, he was always happy to tell us to wait while he fix it for us. I would say, more credits for this guy and make him the front-desk manager. What a difference single smile and happy mood can make.
We had the top-view villa. The entrance door was in quite bad shape, it was bent and when you shut the door, you can see gap on several sides, seemed like it was water-damaged. This makes the room very prone to insects and heat coming in. We had to buy insect repellent to get rid of the ants in the room.
The breakfast was not up to international standard. The milk and the juice were very soggy and lots of sugar. Not much to choose from, same jam jar everyday, not even a descent yoghurt for the cornflakes.
Overall it was an average stay. The good part about it was the young man who showed an excellent example of hotel hospitality and service minded. He was the highlight of our stay.
Also the free kayaks were pretty nice.
The price was too high compared to what we get.
But otherwise don't waste your money on this hotel.
My advice:
- Better maintenance of the facilities and the rooms. Fix the doors!
- Better standard on the breakfast buffet.
- Make the friendly young man your front-desk manager so he can teach the others what hospitality means.

Thats all you need! I think this is basic for any hotel or resort of international standard.
I am willing to pay for quality and standard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have hesitated a lot to stay here or not as we have read all the different reviews on TA. One said 'terrible' the other said 'best ever' so it was not an easy call whatsoever. Finally, the kayak thing sold the place...and the fact that we found an excellent deal on Agoda. We are just back from Thailand now and we are mentioning AANA as simply the best place we stayed in Koh Chang. We saw a few fancier hotels and definitely cheaper places on the island but the AANA truly has a style and is an excellent choice. To the ones it is important: when we show our pictures to friends and family we got the most 'whoas' and 'oh you lucky b@@st@rds' when they see AANA on the screen...

So let me see only in a nutshell the PROs:
Kayaking to the private beach, jacuzzi on the balcony, an infinity pool and a regular one to choose from, free firefly tour, very romantic dinner on boat program (what my fianceé loved especially), great massage on the beach, lavish seafood dinner. The hotel is in a tropical garden so fantastic plants all over and quite many butterflies. Our rooms (we tried 2) were nicely furnished and spacious. At breakfast they have an incredible selection so everyone can find something for their taste.

CONs: no free WiFi and expensive if you want to buy some, they have a secret internet room but that was out of order when we visited. On our first day there were no available kayaks (at around 11 o'clock in the morning). The private beach was a little dirty (floating plastic objects) however the hotel made an effort to clean it every morning. The resort is full of russian tourists and they often act very typically: loud people listening to loud russian pop music and generally act they are alone in the beach.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 702 at first and then moved to 705. These were both top view villas. They have 6 r...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shabba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just got back we stayed in one of the villas loved the view. The pool on our balcony was cold but we didn't get the best of weather so maybe when it's sunny all day it might be different but still nice to have.

I used the hilltop pool a few times there isn't many loungers at either pool but I had no problems at the hilltop with getting a lounger it was also possible to sit on balcony as had a daybed on it.

We had no issues with the staff however on departure whilst waiting someone wanted to speak to the manager as wasn't happy as reception organised a taxi for them and the taxi wanted 100thb and she only wanted to pay 50 so I guess this is where some complaints of the staff come from over nothing.

The boat runs back and forth to the beach you just turn up and they take you I did have to wait about 5-10 minutes sometimes dependent on where the boat was. You can kayak to which my other half did other hotels along the beach were charging for this.

As others have said it is quite remote but that's what we like. We struggled the 1st day knowing where to go as we don't hire the scooters we walk so were on the main road for couple of days. However the nearest shop without being on the main road is at the klong proa resort during the day hop on the boat and walk down the beach. We also found chai Chet wasn't that far either down the beach. There is also some shops if you turn right on the main road once out of the aana this is also where you can get your laundry done for 20thb per kg.

We only tried the food at Plu talay which if you came out of hotel and turned left was just there was also some other places to eat which did look busy when went past on boat to the beach we also went to moleys to eat when wanted farang food.

We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in 509 which is out of the way
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here 4 years back and pleasantly surprised by the improvement in the caliber of the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful, whereas previously I had found them otherwise. The Villa was as lovely as ever. The biggest improvement was the breakfast.......I could have stayed and grazed all day, it was outstanding. While it is unsuitable for the handicapped, the "up and down" layout of the resort is a feature of its charm. The upstairs pool has had no repairs since my last visit, which means that the view (and, for some, the afternoon free snack) is the only reason to visit there. I chose to use the lower pool which offers shaded areas for seating and a nice water feature. Some great little bars are in the back lane and one can walk along the beach to a great little bar and restaurant, about 500 meters, then another 50o meters into Chai Chet for a few shops and restaurants. A staff member would have my motor bike turned and ready as I walked down the front steps!!! Now how is that for service? It is about 150 meters off the road, but all the Songteows will take you into the resort. Stayed 13 days this time and going back asap.

Room Tip: Our villa was 510, which had a fairly private plunge pool and great Klong view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyboopinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent an amazing 10 nights at this resort and found it enchanting. Nothing was too much trouble for the warm & welcoming friendly staff.

The private beach, the night fly boat trip, the food, the room, the infinity pool, all 1st class and not to be missed.

Try it, you will love it!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the bungalows, fantastic!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is very nicely been set up. That is, if you have booked a villa an not a deluxe room. Not all vila's have sea view, so make sure you request for it. The villa is not very large and the plunge pool neither, but it is very much acceptable for a pleasant stay. Note that the hotel is rather far from the main road and therefore you need some kind of own transport. The hotel is located along a river. It does not have a beach front. However, you can canoe in 5 mins to a private beach. This can be tiring if it is too hot. The hotel can arrange a free shuttle boat. During the night there is a free firefly tour, which is nice..but do not expect too much. If you are in a villa, you are a member of the hill top club. This implies you can get some free soft drink and snacks in the afternoon. Beware of a lot of children, ravishing the snacks buffet. In conclusion, it seems a very nice hotel, BUT....the staff is very grumpy, does not have any notice of customer orientation and as it was low season, did not seem to be motivated to make a guest feel welcome. During our stay of 5 days we did not get a smile or 'good morning' from any of the staff. If you come to the restaurant or to the 'club' the first thing they ask is your coupon/ room number. No thank you's or good morning's or smiling. During the breakfast buffet, nobody seems to be noticing coffee cups or the fruits of spoons are lacking. They do not even care. If you ask for a coffe cup, you get a very negative response. Everything seems to be too much. The atmosphere amongst employees seemed to be very negative too. No communication, nor smiling, not helping each other. There are even two men doing totally nothing during all breakfast service. We have noticed them a few mornings and they did nothing but walking around and 'being beautiful'. As management I would not accept that attitude at all. Obviously, there is no cost consciousness and rates could be less if there was not that waste of staffing costs.

Room Tip: choose a villa with river view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w_hakse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.0 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.7 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
0.2 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
#12 of 73 in Ko Chang
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
1.7 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aana Resort & Spa

Address: 19/2 Moo 4 | Klong Praow Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $35 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AANA Resort and Spa Koh Chang is located along Klong Praow river with extended private beach is located 3 minutes boat ride (FOC with our wooden Thai style boat shuttle) down the river or kayak by yourself. It provides deck chairs, umbrellas, towels, Bar, Snack Restaurant, toilets, shower and Spa facilities. This resort offers contemporary accommodation with views of the river, pool, garden or mountains. AANA Resort and Spa offers 71 guest rooms 42 Deluxe, 6 Grand Deluxe, 17 Villas with individual plunge pool and 6 Top view Villa with individual plunge pool.They come with a daybed and a TV with satellite channels. Modern bathrooms feature bath and shower facilities. Guests can kayak, or go on a fire fly tour at night. features two full-sized swimming pools - a pool on top of the hill offering spectacular views and another alongside the river The resort also has a fitness center and souvenir shop which offers personalized gifts. Thai specialties can be enjoyed on board the Dinner Boat Cruise. Situated by the river, The Cinnamon serves both local delights and international dishes. A variety of beverages AANA Resort & Spa is a 40-minute flight from Bangkok, followed by a 25-minute ferry ride from Trat’s Aow Thammachart Ferry Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aana Resort And Spa
Aana Resort Koh Chang
Aana Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing