We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveler rating
630
173
45
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
173
45
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadprivate pool accessthai stylethe free shuttle busplenty of sun loungerspool roommain poolrooms are largehigh tideour honeymoonbeach fronttrat airportlong weekendoverlooking the seanice bathroombeach towelsgreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 871 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The website is great but the reality is spectacular. I spent four nights at Panviman Koh Chang and never bothered to leave the property. Everything I needed was provided for at the resort. My room was huge as was the bathroom. I stayed in a pool access room. This means three rooms share one lovely good sized pool. Even so, each room feels very private and the pool side covered patio gives both shade and privacy. The restaurant is quite good and I think the service was just fine. My room was spotless. The landscaping is gorgeous and the beach bar has a great view of the water.
Paul, the manager and I struck up a conversation on the way to the airport as I was leaving for Bangkok. He went out of his way to be kind and helpful and even rode into the city with me and made sure I got on the right train and metro to my hotel. In fact, he called my hotel to make sure I got there safely!
I've babbling about about the Panviman ever since I got home. It was a terrific reort and Paul the manager is a gentleman and obviously a great manager.
I hope someday I can come back for a longer visit.

Room Tip: By all means choose the pool accessible rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katheann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Katheann,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays.

I am glad that you made it home safe and sound. I enjoyed our conversation very much. You are my idol in terms of living life to the fullest and traveling to see the world. I appreciate you flying all the way from Canada (24 hours!) and choosing us to welcome you.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent 9 nights at the resort mid April, hotel was quiet due to end of season with a mixed bag of French, German, Russian and the odd Brit as guests.

Pros,
Fantastic location on the best beach in Koh Chang. No hawkers bothering you, virtually empty, warm sea and a little bar next door to the hotel where the owner is so laid back he is virtually comatose but cheap ice cold beers whilst chilling out watching the odd person walk by

Beach front area and grounds of hotel impeccably clean and well manicured, pools clean

Staff efficient and courteous always smiling. Couple of maintenance issues dealt with quickly and efficiently, security guard even washed my 4x4 after it was covered in flour and water during new year celebrations.

Rooms large and the same as the pictures, beds comfortable every thing seemed to work and they provide anti mosquito candles and burners.

Cons
A long way from the main road (10 - 12 mins walk) hotel does provide transport though can't comment as I had my own transport (this is why the beach is quiet)

Food and Beverage: breakfast ok with plenty of choice omelettes, fruit, Thai soups, toast and pastries. though service is slow and there is no fresh fruit juice
Restaurant at night, special offers finish early and the service is really slow. food average and the drinks cost 30% more than the pool bar which is where they get the drinks from.
bar closes too early, coming back to the hotel at 22.00 bar already shut so no chance of a night cap (could be time of year)

Rooms, Bathrooms need a little TLC, several mosaic tiles in the bath missing, cleaners do not clean the bath properly as the same bugs were left in there. bathroom I would say used to be open air, they have now been covered with a plastic roof but not sealed properly as you get a lot of mozzies and a few ants. That said it is the tropics and you get used to showering with your Gecko room mate.

Summary
All in all a lovely well run hotel which with a few improvements could be great. A great chill out place on a lovely beach. Not for you if you want constant action on your doorstep

Room Tip: pool access rooms are the best, pool was virtually always empty and great for a cooling dip after being out all day. always quiet due to access being restricted to access guests
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cookie6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Cookie6711,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang!

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate almost all of your needs.

As you've mentioned, we do have shuttle bus to the main road almost every hour to guests without their own transportation. I will take up the speed of service perception from our guests with my head of department to improve the restaurant and bathroom updating as you noted. Again, we thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We spent a week here as part of our honeymoon trip. On arrival we was made so welcome that I knew from the start what an amazing week this was going to be. We was shown to our room which was a pool view room. It was very big and airy with lovely views across the pool to the beach. The grounds had a lovely big pool which was very cold so we never used it but to be fair when you have such an amazing and beautiful beach at your disposal why would you want a pool. Food was very generous. Breakfast buffet had a very good selection and lunch by the pool/beach was very good too. Although the evening meals were quite quirky and after eating here twice we chose to venture out and eat at the many different restaurants in and out side of town. There are plenty of beach restaurants within cheap tuk tuk distance that are more than reasonable. In summary this was an amazing island to visit and made all the more enjoyable with our stay here. We attended the xmas gala which I must say was an experience in itself and spent xmas day here. Hire a scooter at £2 a day to venture round the islands. At one point we ventured down a side road to look for the beach and came across 2 baby elephants washing in the sea... another lovely moment we will remember of this beautiful island. Will we come back again....Most definitely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willsmeister9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Willsmeister9,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Resort, Koh Chang!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. We thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad that we were a part of your memorable holiday experience. We are honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services. Thank you for spending your holidays with us.

Have a safe traveling and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We've booked in Panviman for our 2 weeks honeymoon, not knowing anything about Thailand, and what a surprise!!!
Warm welcome, "don't worry, be happy!" atmosphere, great rooms with all amenities. The little plus that give you more space in your luggages for more gifts is: sun towels provided and changed everyday!
First experience in luxury life, and it was goooood!
Lots of excursions can be done around (snorkeling, diving, elephant/mountain treks, ...). I do not recommend to do the 4 islands trip in showboats (too many people, noisy, smelly) I join Andrew1972_12 by saying private speedboats are more charming.
A special thank you to Winnie, our i_cant_name_all_your_qualities_there_are_too_much person.

"French" kisses from Paris,
Sophie & Nicolas

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sophie_alza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Sophie_Alza,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. Winnie sends her warm regards and asked me to tell you that the pleasure was all hers.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. Winnie also sends her regards. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I would like to say a big thank you to panviman and all the staff , from the minute we got to trat airport they were there to help us from not letting us carry anything and had cold water and cold clothes for us to cool down which we needed , when arriving at panviman we had a very warm and friendly welcome ,it was are first time in Thailand and what a lovely surprise , we had a fantastic holiday and the location was great .
Lovely white sandy beach just outside the hotel . The staff where very friendly and happy to help especially Winnie . Yes there english wasn't great but they all tried there best and we also tried to speak a little thai . The rooms where very impressive and very clean and yes there was a few lizards and ants but what do you expect in the middle of the rain forest . The buffet breakfast was great and lots to choose from. The manager Paul was very friendly and helpful . We stay in rooms 411 , 413 which where perfect and we will definitely be returning in the future. There is lots to do on the inland the water fall is a must do and we had a private speed boat which was great , the snorkelling was fantastic also the elephant trek was great but please choose careful we looked in to this and we founds ban chang trat the best due to the elephants are treated well. We where there for the new year Songkran which was great fun and the kids loved joining in with the water fun in the resort and out on the street ( we got very wet) also the work by the staff for Songkran was wonderful and all staff got very wet and it was lovely to see everyone joining in with the fun.
Many thanks again from Lesley andrew Danielle mika and aleisha .

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Andrew1974_12,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays.

You and your family were such a pleasure to have as guests. Mika, Aleisha, Harry and Alfie are lots of fun. I am glad they were able to have their first Songkran festival celebration with us. Leslie, you and your family truly know how to enjoy your holiday. All of the staff send their regards.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews