We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose not really need to try out.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Choose not really need to try out.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was impressed when staying at this hotel. Groomed employees greeted with a friendly smile.
Delicious food and a spa for a relaxing massage. Staff were great
The beach was beautiful, but unfortunately the second day of relaxation faced with climate change are around rain fell, but it is worth staying there. I really can not go wrong Need to try it to know it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupaponJeerachotrhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear SupaponJ,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

We are delighted that you had a great time with us. I am happy to read that you appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of our staffs. During this season in Koh Chang, we can expect a 95% sunshine throughout the month. I'm sorry that one of your days was part of the 5% rain ;(

Our goals is to be our guests' extended family and home away from home. I sure will pass on your appreciations to our hard working staffs. We are glad to be a part of your wonderful vacation.


Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    144
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
140
324
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have had a number of opportunities to reside at several resorts in Koh Chang, yet I perceive Panviman Kohchang to be the place that stands out from the rest with it's remarkably well-rounded in every aspects. Definitely worthwhile visiting and absolutely recommend for both local and foreigners.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Tam H,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were a party of 8 staying in a Pool Access Villa for 2 nights and felt it was not enough. The staff could not do enough to make sure that we were taken care of and were well entertained. We only ate at the resort throughout the trip. While I may agree with some posters that food option was limited, the quality, on the other hand, was excellent. Breakfast, especially western options could also be improved though the Thai dishes were tasty. We were in Thailand after all.

Drinks were very affordable and well prepared. The 2nd night we asked staffs to set a table on the balcony on Rocky Bar side to watch the sunset during cocktail hour. They did it so beautifully and it was as if we had a rock star private party. A must-try experience. Music could be improved to elevate overall experiences though we brought our own gadgets.

The pool there is amazing. The garden is lush and well kept; a true tropical atmosphere. The exterior of the room is amazing and feel like you are in a true traditional Thai house. My friends tried Spa and they all loved it. I couldn't wait to go back again! Thank you Panviman team for such a graceful service and wonderful experiences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Torsak,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Resort, Koh Chang!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. We thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services. Thank you for spending your holidays with us.

Have a safe traveling and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Dear GM, you need to either get rid of those trainees and staff at the Rocky Bar or urgently provide them any customer service training. Everyday if they are not sitting behind the bar or under the shade doing nothing, they will talking to each other so loud that you can't relax or just read a book at the poolside.The service at the Rocky bar can not be worst. Onetime I saw the staff member smoke a cigarette just behind the bar and the supervisor said nothing. They should spend their time when there is no customers collecting trashes on the beach in front of the resort or do some cleaning around the pool. Beside this I like your resort and I must say that the staff at the breakfast time were great and very caring. Housekeeping is average. I felt that everywhere on Koh Chang felt a real Thai hospitality. Either lack of training or too many foreign workers from Cambodia or both. Please invest more on your staff providing them training classes. This will lead to more regular customers and more revenue for your resort in high and low seasons. Your resort has big potential to become number one on Koh Chang.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paradaCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear paradacologne,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I understand the frustration of not being served satisfactory. During the peak season in Koh Chang, all hotels are in desperate of staff. We did not have much time to prepare them for English training, just the service training. That's why we positioned most of the seasoned staff during breakfast time because they can take care of all of our guests. Never the less, I will bring this issue up at the management meeting and find a way to improve this matter immediately.

We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

By far the most amazing experience you will have in Thailand . The setting the food and the staff will make this the most memorable time of your life! My wife and I had the time of our lives, we were made to feel so special always greeted with smiles. The staff here cannot do enough for you. Everyone speaks excellent English so there's no communication problems.the food is fantastic we recommend the seafood platter, and BBQ. We have never felt so relaxed and cared for. Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Panviman. Until next year, Mike & Sawinee ;)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cappobianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Cappobianco,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays.

We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

GOOD THINGS:
We have visited all top resort on Koh Chang and Panviman is definitely the nicest place on the entire island.
It has fantastic gardens and generously spaced villas.
We stayed in pool access villa - very exclusive, beautiful and lush setting.
Interesting bathrooms design and comfortable beds.

Fantastic spa on the main road (competitive prices but much better quality of massage than your run-of-the-mill thai shops on the road).
Friendly staff.

NOT SO GOOD THINGS:
we visited in mid December, only 30% occupancy.
Sad selection during meals (vicious circle: not enough guests to support proper food, and dismal food selection discouraged the guests from eating here).
We ended up having ALL our meals except for breakfast outside the resort.

The weather was cool and we would prefer to open the windows instead or running AC all the time but there were no window screens so we kept windows closed. But perhaps through porous walls in the bathrooms we had mosquito invasion anyway - and despite the mosquito net over the bed we got severely bitten.
Staff sprayed the room the next day (too late for our bites) but the chemicals stank horribly and the room was unusable for the next several hours.

The beach is not. During the high tide you can stay on the loungers, only during low tide does a narrow strip of sand appear.
The swimming is safe - long gentle slope for hundreds of meters.

still, the best place on Koh Chang so 4 out of 5.

GENERAL COMMENTS ABOUT KOH CHANG.
We tried to try something new after many years of visiting Phuket and Koh Samui but discovered that Koh Chang is not our favorite island.
It feels even more crowded, the road is crazy (we rented motorbike and saw a few serious accidents during our short stay), the taxis are run but a local mafia, the popular beach areas are sleazy and dirty, prices are high and the food selection is dismal comparing to Phuket or Koh Samui.
Won't be coming back.
And forget fine dining on Koh Chang - most of the food there is CRAP, and couple of places which serve anything remotely edible are inconveniently located.

Room Tip: definitely pool access villas - yet they are not created equal - the best 3 rooms face the small pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h8mosquitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear h8mosquitos,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Resort, Koh Chang!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a good time with us. We thank you for your positive feedback.

Yes, unfortunately due to the unstable political events that happened in Bangkok, we were unusually quiet for mid December. I agree that Koh Chang isn't Phuket or Samui because the Natural Park Authorities here are very strict about preserving the wildlife and the national forest. The island is known more for its untouched natural surrounding more than refine cuisine.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services. Thanks again for sharing your insights with other travelers about the island so they'd know what to expect. Have a great New Year!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at Panviman Koh Chang Resort on my third trip to Thailand and I definitely had the best travel experience in this country so far.
The hotel territory is a lush tropical garden. Rooms are located inside a group of one-storeyed buildings resembling Thai temples (3 rooms per building). Each room has a separate entrance and a small terrace. You can relax there and enjoy a garden view (Deluxe rooms) or sea view (Deluxe pool access rooms).
The landscape designers did a great job. The territory (which used to be a coconut palm plantation by the look of it) is adorned with delicately curving paths, stylish swimming pools and a fountain. Besides coconut palms, there are many other species of tropical plants. Hotel employees do a good job of keeping this garden clean and fresh. It's such a relief to see this greenery after the cold and snow of my own homeland.
One can imagine the amount of job done by creators of this place by comparing the hotel territory with the adjanced premises (which definitely don't look like a piece of paradise).
One of the main attractions of the hotel is the excellent beach. Yes, there is no big sand surface during the high tide and yes, it is not very large. But it has a fine sand bottom, whereas the beach areas of surrounding hotels are littered with sharp pieces of coral. Having a fine sand beach is a huge benefit if you prefer to relax at sea rather than at a swimming pool.
The size of the beach may be a problem in high season but I had no trouble with finding a free sunbed, There are hotel rules banning the infamous 'towel war' too. So, all in all, one may expect some sunbed competition, but definitely not the worst-case scenario.
The rooms are spacious, stylishly decorated and clean. Hotel provides everything a guest may need, including beach slippers, a bathrobe, an umbrella and a flashlight. The room safe is pretty convenient but rather small. Money, papers, medium-sized DSLR camera will fit in fine, but don't expect it to hold a laptop. The bathroom has a huge bathtub in addition to a regular shower.
There is a mild trouble with invading fauna. There are mosquitoes of course (the hotel-provided fumigator is your friend). Also my room had a small ant intervention but at the first request at the reception desk they dispatched a brave young lady armed with a can of bug juice who did a short work of those insects. I have never seen those pests ever since. Other local fauna representatives were not troublesome. I had a quite large lizard neighbour living in bushes outside of the house and judging by the occasional twittering sounds from above the ceiling I had some feathered companions in the building. Some people report seeing geckos in their rooms but I haven't seen a single one inside mine. They definitely dwell outside and can slip inside through an open door. They are totally harmless though. Bottom line: the hotel is NOT a sterilized city compartment and one must expect to see/hear some wildlife. It does not cause much trouble though.
The other guests were polite and quiet too. They were mostly europeans at my time of stay (Germans, Dutch, British), but there were also some Ukrainian and Russian guests (including me :) ). No one caused any trouble to anyone.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Some people complained here that the staff members' English was not very good. I beleive the housekeeping staff is not very good with English indeed but I had no trouble in conversation at reception and at the restaurant. Even the shuttle bus drivers speak English. So the hotel personel left a positive overall impression on me.
I have no complains about sleep quality either. The hotel grounds are very quiet at ngihttime save for occasional insects' and frogs' noises. The bed is fine as well. Air conditioner noises did not trouble me too.
The hotel restaurant provides a nice buffet breakfast. In addition to buffet, soups, fried eggs and pancakes are prepared on guests' demands. The food quality and selection are very good. The same can be said about the dinner, but the prices are relatively high there. Having a dinner at a spectacular seaside place has it's benefits of course, but there are cheaper restaurants around. You may check out canteen at a nearby hut resort or even walk to the main road and find a restaurant there.
The hotel is quite far away from the main road. The free shuttle bus to main road is provided but the time interval between the bus trips is around a hour at least. It takes 15 minutes of walk to get to the main road on foot. The hotel driveway is concrete paved (mostly) and has lighting at nighttime. The hotel cars and minibuses may occasionally give you a lift while going on their daily trips to/from hotel. Personally I considered a way to the main road as a nice little walk. Some people may find such remote hotel position troublesome, but that's a price of staying at a nice quiet location.
At the crossing of the main road and the hotel driveway there are some much-needed facilities - a 7-eleven store and a bank. Bank provides ATM and currency exchange; note that they will need to see your passport for the cash exchange and they are not taking copies of it. Further down the road are some Thai food places, fruit vendors, pharmacies, small Tesco Lotus store, etc. There is also a working buddhist temple nearby. There is a popular ' JE Seafood' restaurant on the main road about a kilometer northward from the driveway crossing. It offers good meals and is quite cheap too. It has english menu but is mostly Thai oriented, so the food is very spicy by default.
It may be obvious but there is no much nightlife going on around. There are some bars on the island (for example, The Sir Henry Morgan pirate pub located several kilometers southward along the main road) but stay at Panviman means quiet relaxed vacation. If you are looking for bars, dance clubs and stuff like that there are other places that will better suit your needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank zhuravlev_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear zhuravlev_pe,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang!

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us.

I especially appreciate your understanding of the local natural (non-paying) animal guests that visit our valued guests from time to time. The staffs are delighted that they were able to provide you with great service that you'd expected. Our gardeners beamed when I shared your compliments about the maintenance of the gardens. They all worked very hard to keep it looking beautiful.

Again, we thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
976 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.5 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Property: Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Address: 8 /15 Moo 4 | Khlong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort) We are in the process of rebranding Panviman Koh Chang Resort, which will be called SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT effective immediately. We look forward to welcoming you to our new Santhiya destination soon! Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is located at Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand, only about 300 km east of Bangkok. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is a traditional Thai retreat majestically set on the stretching fine sandy beach at Klong Prao. Klong Prao beach is not only tranquil but also idyllic for swimming. Not to mention it is one of the most spectacular spot to enjoy the view of sunset. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort nestled at Klong Prao beach, a tranquil part of the island and idyllic for swimming, offering a unique blend of serenity and relaxation within a traditional Thai architectural setting. Great value for money and a unique experience of traditional Thai hospitality. All of the resort’s 50 deluxe rooms are majestically set in a tropical lush garden; it reflects the mood of pure comfort. All rooms feature private spacious terraces, and beautiful back-to-nature style bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing