We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
627
173
45
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
173
45
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadprivate pool accessthai stylethe free shuttle busplenty of sun loungerspool roommain poolrooms are largehigh tideour honeymoonbeach fronttrat airportlong weekendoverlooking the seanice bathroombeach towelsgreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 868 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

GOOD THINGS:
We have visited all top resort on Koh Chang and Panviman is definitely the nicest place on the entire island.
It has fantastic gardens and generously spaced villas.
We stayed in pool access villa - very exclusive, beautiful and lush setting.
Interesting bathrooms design and comfortable beds.

Fantastic spa on the main road (competitive prices but much better quality of massage than your run-of-the-mill thai shops on the road).
Friendly staff.

NOT SO GOOD THINGS:
we visited in mid December, only 30% occupancy.
Sad selection during meals (vicious circle: not enough guests to support proper food, and dismal food selection discouraged the guests from eating here).
We ended up having ALL our meals except for breakfast outside the resort.

The weather was cool and we would prefer to open the windows instead or running AC all the time but there were no window screens so we kept windows closed. But perhaps through porous walls in the bathrooms we had mosquito invasion anyway - and despite the mosquito net over the bed we got severely bitten.
Staff sprayed the room the next day (too late for our bites) but the chemicals stank horribly and the room was unusable for the next several hours.

The beach is not. During the high tide you can stay on the loungers, only during low tide does a narrow strip of sand appear.
The swimming is safe - long gentle slope for hundreds of meters.

still, the best place on Koh Chang so 4 out of 5.

GENERAL COMMENTS ABOUT KOH CHANG.
We tried to try something new after many years of visiting Phuket and Koh Samui but discovered that Koh Chang is not our favorite island.
It feels even more crowded, the road is crazy (we rented motorbike and saw a few serious accidents during our short stay), the taxis are run but a local mafia, the popular beach areas are sleazy and dirty, prices are high and the food selection is dismal comparing to Phuket or Koh Samui.
Won't be coming back.
And forget fine dining on Koh Chang - most of the food there is CRAP, and couple of places which serve anything remotely edible are inconveniently located.

Room Tip: definitely pool access villas - yet they are not created equal - the best 3 rooms face the small private pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h8mosquitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear h8mosquitos,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Resort, Koh Chang!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a good time with us. We thank you for your positive feedback.

Yes, unfortunately due to the unstable political events that happened in Bangkok, we were unusually quiet for mid December. I agree that Koh Chang isn't Phuket or Samui because the Natural Park Authorities here are very strict about preserving the wildlife and the national forest. The island is known more for its untouched natural surrounding more than refine cuisine.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services. Thanks again for sharing your insights with other travelers about the island so they'd know what to expect. Have a great New Year!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at Panviman Koh Chang Resort on my third trip to Thailand and I definitely had the best travel experience in this country so far.
The hotel territory is a lush tropical garden. Rooms are located inside a group of one-storeyed buildings resembling Thai temples (3 rooms per building). Each room has a separate entrance and a small terrace. You can relax there and enjoy a garden view (Deluxe rooms) or sea view (Deluxe pool access rooms).
The landscape designers did a great job. The territory (which used to be a coconut palm plantation by the look of it) is adorned with delicately curving paths, stylish swimming pools and a fountain. Besides coconut palms, there are many other species of tropical plants. Hotel employees do a good job of keeping this garden clean and fresh. It's such a relief to see this greenery after the cold and snow of my own homeland.
One can imagine the amount of job done by creators of this place by comparing the hotel territory with the adjanced premises (which definitely don't look like a piece of paradise).
One of the main attractions of the hotel is the excellent beach. Yes, there is no big sand surface during the high tide and yes, it is not very large. But it has a fine sand bottom, whereas the beach areas of surrounding hotels are littered with sharp pieces of coral. Having a fine sand beach is a huge benefit if you prefer to relax at sea rather than at a swimming pool.
The size of the beach may be a problem in high season but I had no trouble with finding a free sunbed, There are hotel rules banning the infamous 'towel war' too. So, all in all, one may expect some sunbed competition, but definitely not the worst-case scenario.
The rooms are spacious, stylishly decorated and clean. Hotel provides everything a guest may need, including beach slippers, a bathrobe, an umbrella and a flashlight. The room safe is pretty convenient but rather small. Money, papers, medium-sized DSLR camera will fit in fine, but don't expect it to hold a laptop. The bathroom has a huge bathtub in addition to a regular shower.
There is a mild trouble with invading fauna. There are mosquitoes of course (the hotel-provided fumigator is your friend). Also my room had a small ant intervention but at the first request at the reception desk they dispatched a brave young lady armed with a can of bug juice who did a short work of those insects. I have never seen those pests ever since. Other local fauna representatives were not troublesome. I had a quite large lizard neighbour living in bushes outside of the house and judging by the occasional twittering sounds from above the ceiling I had some feathered companions in the building. Some people report seeing geckos in their rooms but I haven't seen a single one inside mine. They definitely dwell outside and can slip inside through an open door. They are totally harmless though. Bottom line: the hotel is NOT a sterilized city compartment and one must expect to see/hear some wildlife. It does not cause much trouble though.
The other guests were polite and quiet too. They were mostly europeans at my time of stay (Germans, Dutch, British), but there were also some Ukrainian and Russian guests (including me :) ). No one caused any trouble to anyone.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Some people complained here that the staff members' English was not very good. I beleive the housekeeping staff is not very good with English indeed but I had no trouble in conversation at reception and at the restaurant. Even the shuttle bus drivers speak English. So the hotel personel left a positive overall impression on me.
I have no complains about sleep quality either. The hotel grounds are very quiet at ngihttime save for occasional insects' and frogs' noises. The bed is fine as well. Air conditioner noises did not trouble me too.
The hotel restaurant provides a nice buffet breakfast. In addition to buffet, soups, fried eggs and pancakes are prepared on guests' demands. The food quality and selection are very good. The same can be said about the dinner, but the prices are relatively high there. Having a dinner at a spectacular seaside place has it's benefits of course, but there are cheaper restaurants around. You may check out canteen at a nearby hut resort or even walk to the main road and find a restaurant there.
The hotel is quite far away from the main road. The free shuttle bus to main road is provided but the time interval between the bus trips is around a hour at least. It takes 15 minutes of walk to get to the main road on foot. The hotel driveway is concrete paved (mostly) and has lighting at nighttime. The hotel cars and minibuses may occasionally give you a lift while going on their daily trips to/from hotel. Personally I considered a way to the main road as a nice little walk. Some people may find such remote hotel position troublesome, but that's a price of staying at a nice quiet location.
At the crossing of the main road and the hotel driveway there are some much-needed facilities - a 7-eleven store and a bank. Bank provides ATM and currency exchange; note that they will need to see your passport for the cash exchange and they are not taking copies of it. Further down the road are some Thai food places, fruit vendors, pharmacies, small Tesco Lotus store, etc. There is also a working buddhist temple nearby. There is a popular ' JE Seafood' restaurant on the main road about a kilometer northward from the driveway crossing. It offers good meals and is quite cheap too. It has english menu but is mostly Thai oriented, so the food is very spicy by default.
It may be obvious but there is no much nightlife going on around. There are some bars on the island (for example, The Sir Henry Morgan pirate pub located several kilometers southward along the main road) but stay at Panviman means quiet relaxed vacation. If you are looking for bars, dance clubs and stuff like that there are other places that will better suit your needs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank zhuravlev_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear zhuravlev_pe,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang!

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us.

I especially appreciate your understanding of the local natural (non-paying) animal guests that visit our valued guests from time to time. The staffs are delighted that they were able to provide you with great service that you'd expected. Our gardeners beamed when I shared your compliments about the maintenance of the gardens. They all worked very hard to keep it looking beautiful.

Again, we thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Four days at the Panviman Resort in Koh Chang was not enough for our family.

The resort is charming, clean and well staffed. The staff are helpful and courteous and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfasts at the resort are great and there is a shuttle to the main road where you will find shopping and a great selection of authentic Thai food and cooking classes (if you are so inclined) that runs several times a day.

The beach is BEAUTIFUL and well maintained, with more food and message options a short walk down the strand.

We also felt that the management was very understanding and helpful in making sure that our stay was perfect.

Stay at Panviman, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear egsimons,

Thank you for your recent review of our resort. We are so glad to be a part of your memorable holidays. It is gratifying to see that you have been happy with all aspects of the Resort and with our service excellence.

I had a great time talking to you and your family also. I was a bit "home sick" for the USA, but after talking to you guys, I felt much better. I wish you parents safe travel back to Seoul, Korea, and you back to the US. Please let us know when you and your family might be back to Thailand. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is such an amazing resort, all the staff members was so friendly, the service is awesome! Personally what I like about this resort is that the room and the entire resort was so clean and neat. My favorite part was the breakfast, food was awesome and fresh. I love how i could wake up every morning, seeing the pool view from my bedroom. Over all, this is the best resort i've stayed in. And I will come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teen1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Teen1991,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Resort, Koh Chang!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. We thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment, we will do more than our best to maintain and keep improving all parts of our services. Thank you for spending your holidays with us.

Have a safe traveling and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

How wonderful here! it's really great to choice this hotel on my holidays, great deluxe pool view which I stayed, the breakfast was great they served several of choices for breakfast and lovely dinner, like it so much, the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, WONNA back here again for the next holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 729CHAN1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear 729chan1984,

Greetings from The Panviman Resort Koh Chang!

First of all, thank you for your recent review about our resort. I personally would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff for your support and being our not only guest but a family. We are glad that our property and staff were able to make you completely relax on your holidays. We appreciate your lovely review from your previous stay and we hope that you will have even more memorable experience on your next visit. I wish you safe travels and we all look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best and Personal Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews