We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
627
173
45
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
173
45
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadprivate pool accessthai stylethe free shuttle busplenty of sun loungerspool roommain poolrooms are largehigh tideour honeymoonbeach fronttrat airportlong weekendoverlooking the seanice bathroombeach towelsgreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 868 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We ( myself, my husband and 5yr old son ) have just returned from our Thai holiday, and spent a very pleasant 9 nights at the Panviman. I must say we pondered for a long time on where to stay on Koh Chang, getting very confused with various conflicting reviews, but were extremely pleased with our choice.
The hotel is charming, located on an idyllic stretch of beach. The room was very spacious and very well equipt and decorated.
We found all staff very pleasant and keen to please.
The only real negative point was the food. Not great. Even breakfast was lacking in the usual standard you would expect. I'm still not sure whether this is a Panviman issue or a Koh Chang issue. Despite this, we were still very pleased with our stay and would consider returning again, as the the location was so good.
We never ate in the hotel in the evening - a combination of being put off by breakfast, and there being 2 excellent restaurants a short walk along the beach. Excellent food at silly prices. The 'fire show' at the Barracuda was a particular highlight for our son. We did have lunch by the pool a few times, and this was fine.

The 'dirt track ' approach to the hotel was not really a problem as the hotel does run a shuttle service to White Sands beach, and also provided various other taxi trips for us at reasonable prices.

Koh Chang is certainly not as sophisticated and developed as Phuket or Samui. Don't expect much in the way of shopping outlets. However, for a fabulous setting and a real sense of 'getting away from it all', we would all highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

this 3 star hotel is located on a nice stretch of beach. the architecture is hideous, mock thai palace, really ugly and out of place on a lovely beach. service is ok for a 3 star hotel, certainly not 5 star as mentioned in a previous review.
i cant remember staying at a more hideously ugly theme park like hotel anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pauldublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Booking through hotel site – Had some problems with the booking, but it was eventually sorted out.
Reception – Very unimpressive, but the staff and reception very friendly.
Room – The rooms are very spacious and nice. If you need to fit a 3rd bed in there, you should not feel cramped. The veranda’s are great, but should have had a fan. Full complement of amenities
Bathrooms - Nice and interesting. Large bathtubs with a waterfall. We never tried it – looks like it could take a while to fill.
Swimming pool – Very theme-parkish. Probably great entertainement for kids.
Staff – Friendly and helpful
Accessability to restaurants and shopping – A few nice restaurants accessible from the beach. Forget about trying to walk to the main road. As often stated, it is quite a distance from the main road on a bad, dark road. So shopping is not an option unless you have transport. However, the hotel lays on a free minibus service to White Sands twice a day.
Beach - nice enough.
Breakfast – Not up to standard for a hotel of this class.
Prices - we found the price of food and beverage in the hotel quite high. Much better value right next to the hotel. The hotel guests seemed to leave the hotel en masse at sunset to go eat/drink at the smaller places on the beach.
Business services – Limited
General – Certainly not a hotel that you will leave with great memories, but also not with bad memories.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TomYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

The Panviman resort is beautiful in its setting. The pool area is paradise (I'm not a pool person really). The rooms (we had a deluxe cottage) are very special. Huge baths - we moved rooms to one where the bath was on the balcony above our hut - so it was possible to have a bath listening to the sound of the ocean. Was amazing, even if the bath did take an hour to run. It was worth it.

There are lots of little things wrong with this place however. It really needs new management to shake things up a bit. It's just too boring. It's a gated complex but nothing happens inside. They have a restaurant on the beach (Stoney Beach Restaurant) where a band (Duo Band - yes there are two!) play really cheesy numbers. They seem to be the hotels crown jewels. Go figure. Breakfast is OK - there are no fresh juices which I find unacceptable for a five star resort, especially with fruit falling from the trees all around you. The restaurant by the pool is the same. They need to rip off the table cloths, turn on some chill music and get the staff to remove the pokers. It breathes uncomfortable. The prawns are really awful too - mush.

There are lots of cool little places in the village - in particular a little hut run by a German dude called David. Does amazing Thai food. There is also a place opposite it that does non MSG food, run by a couple. Also excellent.

All that said, it's a beautiful resort. The road to get there IS as bad as everyone says. I have never been on a worse road in my life. After about the 6th time doing the run (that lasts 35 minutes), you don't want to do it anymore.

If you want a place to completely chill, you don't care about the atmosphere so much. Go here. They also do really annoying things like make you pay 60 baht for a broken glass. 5 Star resorts don't do this type of thing. I also complained about a massage I got - instead of immediately taking my word for it, I had to talk to 3-4 people before anything happened, and at that stage, I was getting very pissed off. They just don't the 'service' thing very well. I'm sure that will change.

All in all, a nice place to stay, but stuffy, and lots to learn when charging that sort of money.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank garvangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We stayed at the Panviman for 11 nights in January and it was a truly wonderful experience. The rooms are spacious, spotless and beautifully decorated. The bathroom is just amazing with a mini waterfall in the bathtub.

The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you.

The surroundings are beautiful and we found that this part of Klong Prao beach is by far the nicest. We walked along to where the Tropicana and the Amari are and we were not too impressed with that end.

The beach at the Panviman is really lovely with no stones and just soft sand under your feet when you go for a swim in the sea.
It is also a lovely location to watch the sunset.

The restaurant was just ok but of course you dont have to eat here. There are are couple of nice places along the beach if you leave the hotel at the beach side and turn left. It is quite difficult to leave the hotel at the road end as there is a long dirt track up to the main road however if you want to go for a night out they will taxi you there and offer you a lift back or you can catch a local taxi back so its really no problem.

Overall I would give the Panviman 10 out of 10 for quality, cleanliness and as far as luxury goes it is probably one of the best on Koh Chang.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Ajall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews