We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beside Klong Prao beach which is the longest beach in Koh Chang. Just one step from hotel to beach, big room even if lowest category room . Very nice garden. Even if located in Klong Prao Beach, hotel location was far away from main road, so no crowded at all in hotel area. Almost guests were Western people, so it is very quiet. One point, if I would like hotel to improve, hotel room was very old and tired. If they can renovate room or redecorate' this hotel will be able to sell more expensive rate. Because location and beach are perfect . Restaurant and spa are a bit expensive. Less people had dinner at hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is enough. Nobody use pool access room's pool. Because main pool is better and sea i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocomam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM K, Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Cocomam

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We will definitely use it to improve our services. We are having many promotions right now to promote our bar and restaurant. The price and quality are very attractive now. The redecoration will start at the beginning of low season also, so the next time you come back, it would be all finished.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to service you in the near future.

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 748 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Shame, but they are a big problem at this resort. However, having put the bad news out of the way, will report that the resort is in a fabulous position. Not only right on the beach, but down a back road so that there is no public thoroughfare situation with the resort. The rooms are huge and in the old Thai Style that is fast disappearing throughout Thailand, which is such a shame. In fact, they are more suites than rooms with a full lounge for TV viewing and other facilities. The front balcony is very much for entertaining several people and the bathroom is big, spacious and well designed (not sure it is wise to have such a huge, deep bath with water being such a luxury). Staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. My only complaint is with the breakfast, which is boring and tasteless. Some good quality Thai food would have been appreciated, some organisation at the "egg" counter, rather than wait for an egg to cook etc. In fact, it is time to upgrade the breakfast to create an interest in eating there at lunch and in the evening. The resort is close to 2 local restaurants, the shuttle serves the business area and in general this is a good resort. However, if you can afford it, upgrade to a pool room, worth the luxury. New pillows could be a consideration by the management.

Room Tip: Pay for a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyboopinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM K, Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Bettyboopinv

Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We, the management team appreciate it very much. We do value the traditional style of ancient Thailand designs. Our rooms are spacious enough to be called a cozy cottage home by some guests. It is quite lovely.

I am sorry that you didn't like our breakfast. We are perplex because of the mixed reviews. Some had high praises on the selections, some didn't care for it much. We will definitely review the selections and work on a mix that everyone will love.

Thank you for your stay and I hope that we will be your choice again the next time you come back to Koh Chang.

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Paradise alike would be the translation of Panviman and it surely is. Third time over the last 10 years and yes we do love this place. Very professional managed, wonderful Thai style individual villa's. Right on the beachfront, beach here is best of whole stretch, better then Amari Emerald Cove or Centara (Tropicana). Great breakfast on terrace with wonderful sea view. Plenty of deck chairs though best are taken early morning by Russians with "towel strategy". Great and clean restaurants outside this structure Katy's, Ton Sai (our favorite, open kitchen and quite hygienic) and by car MakMak (Dutch Managed). Close to MakMak is Ziva's Italian restaurant also recommended and quite Italian, even pizza with Gorgonzola. Other side there is Saffron on the Sea also highly recommended. Seven Eleven for all kind of stuff also close to hotel, but in any of above case you should do the stretch of apps. 1km. By moped or car this is no problem at all. Minor disadvantage is that staff in some cases speaks very litlle English. For the price we paid- around Xmas - I think it is a must for this kind of hotel that all staff speaks English. It is in any case compensated by their never lasting smiles. Hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Take the pool access villa's for the few bahts more. Way more privacy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VittorioItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM K, Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear VittorioItaly

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We do feel like angels working in Paradise. We also pride our selves on being very professional and providing great and friendly service. Yes, many of our guests developed their own "Towel Strategy," but rest assure that we do have plenty of sun beds and towels for all of our valued guests.

On the note of our staff language skills, we now have a governmental department of employee development to come and teaches English for our staffs. The staffs love it because they are now able to converse and interact with our guests more confidently. I hope that in your fourth stay with us, you will see the difference.

Our management team do appreciate your kind review very much and we all hope to see you again soon; back in Paradise.

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights right after Christmas. My first REAL vacation in years. It isn't close to night life, but Iwas looking to relax, and this place is perfect for that. A gorgeous beach, super rooms, well-kept (immaculately is a better word), and a staff that will help you with any concern. We had a great time, and, assuming you aren't looking for a disco around every corner, you will, too!

Room Tip: Our room was one of the first as you enter the complex. We never heard music or bar noise. This wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM K, Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Bill L

Thank you for your awesome comments. We are so glad you had a fantastic time with us. That is the great thing about our hotel, we have everything that you need. Quite and relaxation, pool accessibility, beachfront proximity or family friendly room and staffs.

If you had a great time with us, please refer us to your friends and family that might visit Koh Chang soon. We will be more than happy to take a great care of them. Have them say "Bill sent me!" and we'll take care of the rest ;)

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in a Pool access deluxe room and I would say if you want a bit of luxury, it's worth splashing just for the very fact you can literally walk out out of your room and dive into the private pool.
It feels quite private and the pool area shared by this room is superb.
The room felt a bit dark and a bit musty but had everything we needed. I would strongly recommend keeping the door closed at all times as even with the mosie net, we had these pesky mosies entering the room and we spent a great deal of time chasing & killing them.
Pros:
-great location if you want a quiet remote away from the main beach with all the bars, karaokes, girlie bars ,restaurants. There are however a few family-owned restaurants right next to the resort which offer top quality Thai food at very affordable prices. Worth mentioning the first little shack straight to the left of the resort ( when facing the sea) - it's called Tiger Hut
- beautifully maintained resort
-nice pool area
- good breakfast although nothing to write home about
- very friendly and welcoming front of house staff

Not so good:
-main pool area needs more attention
-BBQ nights were a bit disappointing for those who like us love Thai food, it was very westernised
-they should do something about the annoying guests putting their towels at 7am to "reserve" their pool/beach area.

Room Tip: Bit more pricey but the pool access deluxe room are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DivingFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM K, Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear DivingFrenchie

Thank you for your kind review to our resort, we appreciate it very much. I am glad you like our room and staffs. We do take pride in keeping up the resort and providing great and friendly services.

On the improvement notes, we had to adjust the BBQ style to Westernize it because the Thai style BBQ often mean smaller portion. It may be a good idea to Thai marinade the meat, but keeping the portion western. Thank you for the feedback. We will also increase our attention to the main pool and make sure that it is perfect each and everyday before the guests arrives.

I hope to see you back here with us again soon. Thanks again for the awesome review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This famed jewel of Koh Chang accommodation options had a dirt track access road for years, that was too rough for most guests. The perfect beach location on KC's longest fine sand beach did not mix well with a suspension tearing undercarriage of any vehicle. Taxis neglected this stretch of road on occasion, especially in rainy season.

This is all over now, as the worst part of said access road has been improved and now boasts a concrete surface to drive on. Stupidly steep little speed bumps were added recently in intervals os 120 m, the concrete surface reaches down to the back of KP Huts. From there it is unimproved still, but the Panviman management filled the worst potholes.

Rooms here appear a bit older, but do not lack a touch of class. Neat landscaping and ornamental Thai decor everywhere remind you where you are. The restaurant on the premises offers fine Thai dining by the sea, cheaper meals can be had at Tiger Huts or KP Huts next door (backpacker's paradises). The staff is well mannered and extremely friendly, but lacks communication skills in English, the Panviman is very family-friendly in general. All rooms are villa-style large bungalows.

Room Tip: Villas by the pool appear to be in a better shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM K, Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Abstinent

Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate it very much. I agree that the previous dirt road was a real pain for us and our guests. Now that it is concrete paved, it is just perfect. My car also is thankful for the road upgrade :)

On the note of the staffs language skills, we are having English classes for the staffs to help them communicate with our guests better. I hope that when you come back next time, you can see the difference.

Please visit us again soon, we all are looking forward to service you and your family again.

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed here in the last week of October. The surroundings are beautiful! It is inspired by Thai temple architecture and set up like a little village. Room is up to standard, what you can expect of these prices. However, the staff attitude has been a very negative experience, with the exception of the reception staff. For instance, when trying to make a booking for massage, all the girl could say was that it was fully booked. No alternative, no helpful advice at all. While laying at the pool, about three pool staff was busy making the tables for dinner. Nobody looked after the guests. As we wanted to have a drink, we could not attract the attention. Therefore we walked away from the swimming pool to the restaurant. In the restaurant we asked how we could order a drink. The restaurant waiter went to one of the pool staff and asked at least three times if they could take our order. After all..it took 45 minutes until we got our drink. I do not know what is the personnel atmosphere here, but no customer orientation, hardly a smile...OH..and there are many tiles missing, broken or loose in the swimming pool. The loose tiles have been piled up by people, but obviously the staff does not care. Not meeting the standard you would expect for a Panviman hotel. Note: it has a very, very small beach and it is located rather far from the main road and therefore you need your transport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank w_hakse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM K, Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear w_hakse

I am terribly sorry you had a bad experience with us in October. My management team extends their apologies to you also. I will review the food and beverage staffs' routine tasks and responsibilities with our F&B manager to see how to close the gap during shift set up time. Thank you for your comments. We will definitely use all of it to further improve our operations.

I hope that you will give us another chance. Our team will surely devote their personal services to you. We promised. Please ask for me, Paul, the hotel manager, when you do visit. I would like to personally show you the improvements since your last experience.

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,037 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
2.5 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Address: 8 /15 Moo 4 | Khlong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $111 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort) We are in the process of rebranding Panviman Koh Chang Resort, which will be called SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT effective immediately. We look forward to welcoming you to our new Santhiya destination soon! Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is located at Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand, only about 300 km east of Bangkok. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is a traditional Thai retreat majestically set on the stretching fine sandy beach at Klong Prao. Klong Prao beach is not only tranquil but also idyllic for swimming. Not to mention it is one of the most spectacular spot to enjoy the view of sunset. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort nestled at Klong Prao beach, a tranquil part of the island and idyllic for swimming, offering a unique blend of serenity and relaxation within a traditional Thai architectural setting. Great value for money and a unique experience of traditional Thai hospitality. All of the resort’s 50 deluxe rooms are majestically set in a tropical lush garden; it reflects the mood of pure comfort. All rooms feature private spacious terraces, and beautiful back-to-nature style bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing