We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Beach / Good Bungalow & Pool/ Difficult Reach/ Medium Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice Beach / Good Bungalow & Pool/ Difficult Reach/ Medium Service”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Have been stayed Panviman Koh Chang last year, all is a bit run down especially TV. Good Bungalow with nice bathtub , and well decorated in Balinese Style, located right on the beach, good to swim. Restaurant was ok, breakfast is good choices But the worst thing is a road to resort - seems like you ride motor byte in the moon !

Room Tip: Book Deluxe Pool Accees, and rent motrobyte
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    137
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
136
305
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

So this is a nice property - in a good location - right on a good beach without all the hawkers pestering you. As others pointed out, it's down a long road through a rubber tree plantation, so you'd need a vehicle for this place. It's showing its age, but the bungalows were nice with a big bed and huge bathroom (the bathroom was the highlight I guess). The pool was ok, but not great for non-swimmers as it dropped off sharply. The jacuzzi didn't seem to work and you had to swim through the deep end to get to it. There was NO service at the pool and we had to keep running into the restaurant to try to find staff (it was low season and the staff were there, but not paying any attention to us) However this hotel is right on the beach - a very nice beach - that is shallow enough to ride the waves with your kids without much worry at all. The breakfast was good and luckily it was very near the newish Amari hotel with really good food for dinner and a bar and pool and also right on the beach (next time we'll stay there - maybe). The price at Panviman was not in sync with what we got and so I probably wouldn't stay there again. They also wanted to charge us another 50 USD (1,500 THB) for the extra bed for an 8 year old - we had two kids - both under 12 in the room). The firness room sas open air with rusting old equipment and the "Spa" wasn't open - though there were two ladies giving foot and Thai massage for a reasonable price on premises.

Room Tip: The prices seem to change the further back from the beach, otherwise I think the rooms are all the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just got back from a 4 night stay at Panviman. From the outside the hotel is beautiful but on closer look everything is a bit run down. The bathrooms were especially dirty. On the plus side the staff are outstanding and the beach is beautiful. Way overpriced for what you can get other places in Thailand. Believe what previous reviewers say regarding the distance to town and other locations. It is very far on a very bumpy road.

Room Tip: The rooms w. direct pool access are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Pros:

The service is excelente. Friendly staff. Beautiful setting. Big spacious rooms, bathtub, very clean, with seething area tv and DVD. A stero to listen to music (music included from resort) Free water everyday, free gym ( not in the best shape though)

Cons: wifi cost 150 bath for 1 hour, restaurant is more expensive then rest of island, have to go along a very bumpy 1k dirt road to get to the place,

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tikkeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Beautiful place with amazing bungalows. Pool was really nice and the beach was picture perfect. Only thing I could put a finger on was, that wifi cost 150 bath an hour. At the price of staying in the hotel, that should really be complimentary.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graugart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the deluxe room pool access with 3 people (1 double bed and an extra bed). The room is perfect: clean and has all you need. The extra bed is a real bed (not a thin mattress as they put on the floor in many places but of course it costs triple to those places:)

Staff: friendly and helpful. However, we wanted to book by phone with the help of a Thai lady and told them we'll check in the day after and stay 4 nights. In return we were required to give our credit card details in order to secure booking! I can understand that they want to secure the booking however their requirements I find a little too far and too risky for the customer to do. Do they really expect a customer to pass them their credit card details on the phone? When I objected, they then required my passport details. There are hotels which confirm by e-mail only and I find this way of approach to the customer a bit unpleasant.

Location: The resort is quite hidden and linked to the main road with a bumpy little road. There is few shuttle service to the main road or to the white sand beach. The driver is very careful not to disturb anybody on the bumpy road. It wasnt a problem for us really. On the main road, there are a few restaurants but not too many. We tried a few; either the service sucks or the food is nothing special or just as expensive as the hotel.

The beach: The resort gives you beach towels and a beach bag. The beach stuff are in good shape.

The restaurant: The food served at the hotel is tasty and clean. Very rich open buffet breakfast. Food prices range from 150 baht to 250/300 baht per plate. Coctails are 240 baht. Non alcoholic beverages range from 50 - 120 baht. Clearly, expensive for the Thai restaurant standards. The portions are not small however not too big either. I suggest the visitors to try the sea food barbeque; it is fresh and delicious.

Negative points: The internet costs 500 baht for 24 hours access. Even the cheapest hostels or guest houses offer free wifi to their guests; so I cannot understand this kind of policy! It really makes a bad impression on the guests. Plus, the moment you go to the beach, you loose connection. We could only access in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CERROMERRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have blacklisted this Group of Resorts. The entire experience from booking to follow up complaint after our stay was so irritable that it is the worst experience ever for us!!! We got a special pkg for a two night stay at an expo with a 2 months expiry limit. Unfortunately, it was during the big flood last year and we couldn't go. We asked to extend the voucher and got no answer from the mgt. After actively following up, they confirmed to extend it for one month. We booked ourseleves in and after going through much trouble of booking air tix, transportation etc. we were finally there. Then at the reception, they refused to give us our room because we were asked to pay 2000 baht per night in addition first. And then we found out that this was communicated to us via email using very misleading and poor English. We absolutely didn't get what it meant. Anyway, we had to pay 4000 baht in total on top which meant that we were paying the regular price after all. Although the resort staff tried to be helpful, yet, they had to go by the book. So after fussing over this for nearly an hour, we got a room. The resort was a good 4-star standard, although the pool side ones will be better than the Garden view ones which we stayed in. The overall service was good but nothing to brag about. The dusty road leading to the resort from the main road is really bumpy and it was not pleasant at all even riding in a car. Hence, we chose to stay in the resort for 3 meals, the food is quite delicious and reasonably priced. However, the meal we enjoyed most was outside of the resort at a seafood place by the pier which we had to get a car and driver from the resort to take us. The beach area was acceptable. The experience in this property wasn't good enough for us to consider making it back to Koh Chang which involves flying, 1 hr by car and another 20 min via speed boat one way. Upon returning to BKK, I wrote to the GM of the group for the additional charge. She responded immediately and I was quite happy. Then she cancelled our appointment 1 hr before we were due to meet. And two more months had passed, I had yet to hear from her. So no use in complaining. Customers come last for this Resort group.

Room Tip: If you choose this resort against our recommendation, then choose the pool side ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omo_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#3 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.5 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Property: Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Address: 8 /15 Moo 4 | Khlong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort) We are in the process of rebranding Panviman Koh Chang Resort, which will be called SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT effective immediately. We look forward to welcoming you to our new Santhiya destination soon! Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is located at Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand, only about 300 km east of Bangkok. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is a traditional Thai retreat majestically set on the stretching fine sandy beach at Klong Prao. Klong Prao beach is not only tranquil but also idyllic for swimming. Not to mention it is one of the most spectacular spot to enjoy the view of sunset. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort nestled at Klong Prao beach, a tranquil part of the island and idyllic for swimming, offering a unique blend of serenity and relaxation within a traditional Thai architectural setting. Great value for money and a unique experience of traditional Thai hospitality. All of the resort’s 50 deluxe rooms are majestically set in a tropical lush garden; it reflects the mood of pure comfort. All rooms feature private spacious terraces, and beautiful back-to-nature style bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing