We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveler rating
630
173
45
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
173
45
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadprivate pool accessthai stylethe free shuttle busplenty of sun loungerspool roommain poolrooms are largehigh tideour honeymoonbeach fronttrat airportlong weekendoverlooking the seanice bathroombeach towelsgreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 871 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

So this is a nice property - in a good location - right on a good beach without all the hawkers pestering you. As others pointed out, it's down a long road through a rubber tree plantation, so you'd need a vehicle for this place. It's showing its age, but the bungalows were nice with a big bed and huge bathroom (the bathroom was the highlight I guess). The pool was ok, but not great for non-swimmers as it dropped off sharply. The jacuzzi didn't seem to work and you had to swim through the deep end to get to it. There was NO service at the pool and we had to keep running into the restaurant to try to find staff (it was low season and the staff were there, but not paying any attention to us) However this hotel is right on the beach - a very nice beach - that is shallow enough to ride the waves with your kids without much worry at all. The breakfast was good and luckily it was very near the newish Amari hotel with really good food for dinner and a bar and pool and also right on the beach (next time we'll stay there - maybe). The price at Panviman was not in sync with what we got and so I probably wouldn't stay there again. They also wanted to charge us another 50 USD (1,500 THB) for the extra bed for an 8 year old - we had two kids - both under 12 in the room). The firness room sas open air with rusting old equipment and the "Spa" wasn't open - though there were two ladies giving foot and Thai massage for a reasonable price on premises.

Room Tip: The prices seem to change the further back from the beach, otherwise I think the rooms are all the same. Some have little 'pools' in front of them (closer to the beach)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aldo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just got back from a 4 night stay at Panviman. From the outside the hotel is beautiful but on closer look everything is a bit run down. The bathrooms were especially dirty. On the plus side the staff are outstanding and the beach is beautiful. Way overpriced for what you can get other places in Thailand. Believe what previous reviewers say regarding the distance to town and other locations. It is very far on a very bumpy road.

Room Tip: The rooms w. direct pool access are nice.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stephsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Pros:

The service is excelente. Friendly staff. Beautiful setting. Big spacious rooms, bathtub, very clean, with seething area tv and DVD. A stero to listen to music (music included from resort) Free water everyday, free gym ( not in the best shape though)

Cons: wifi cost 150 bath for 1 hour, restaurant is more expensive then rest of island, have to go along a very bumpy 1k dirt road to get to the place,

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tikkeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Beautiful place with amazing bungalows. Pool was really nice and the beach was picture perfect. Only thing I could put a finger on was, that wifi cost 150 bath an hour. At the price of staying in the hotel, that should really be complimentary.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graugart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the deluxe room pool access with 3 people (1 double bed and an extra bed). The room is perfect: clean and has all you need. The extra bed is a real bed (not a thin mattress as they put on the floor in many places but of course it costs triple to those places:)

Staff: friendly and helpful. However, we wanted to book by phone with the help of a Thai lady and told them we'll check in the day after and stay 4 nights. In return we were required to give our credit card details in order to secure booking! I can understand that they want to secure the booking however their requirements I find a little too far and too risky for the customer to do. Do they really expect a customer to pass them their credit card details on the phone? When I objected, they then required my passport details. There are hotels which confirm by e-mail only and I find this way of approach to the customer a bit unpleasant.

Location: The resort is quite hidden and linked to the main road with a bumpy little road. There is few shuttle service to the main road or to the white sand beach. The driver is very careful not to disturb anybody on the bumpy road. It wasnt a problem for us really. On the main road, there are a few restaurants but not too many. We tried a few; either the service sucks or the food is nothing special or just as expensive as the hotel.

The beach: The resort gives you beach towels and a beach bag. The beach stuff are in good shape.

The restaurant: The food served at the hotel is tasty and clean. Very rich open buffet breakfast. Food prices range from 150 baht to 250/300 baht per plate. Coctails are 240 baht. Non alcoholic beverages range from 50 - 120 baht. Clearly, expensive for the Thai restaurant standards. The portions are not small however not too big either. I suggest the visitors to try the sea food barbeque; it is fresh and delicious.

Negative points: The internet costs 500 baht for 24 hours access. Even the cheapest hostels or guest houses offer free wifi to their guests; so I cannot understand this kind of policy! It really makes a bad impression on the guests. Plus, the moment you go to the beach, you loose connection. We could only access in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CERROMERRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews