We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Mgt at top! Customer comes last for this Resort Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Poor Mgt at top! Customer comes last for this Resort Group”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have blacklisted this Group of Resorts. The entire experience from booking to follow up complaint after our stay was so irritable that it is the worst experience ever for us!!! We got a special pkg for a two night stay at an expo with a 2 months expiry limit. Unfortunately, it was during the big flood last year and we couldn't go. We asked to extend the voucher and got no answer from the mgt. After actively following up, they confirmed to extend it for one month. We booked ourseleves in and after going through much trouble of booking air tix, transportation etc. we were finally there. Then at the reception, they refused to give us our room because we were asked to pay 2000 baht per night in addition first. And then we found out that this was communicated to us via email using very misleading and poor English. We absolutely didn't get what it meant. Anyway, we had to pay 4000 baht in total on top which meant that we were paying the regular price after all. Although the resort staff tried to be helpful, yet, they had to go by the book. So after fussing over this for nearly an hour, we got a room. The resort was a good 4-star standard, although the pool side ones will be better than the Garden view ones which we stayed in. The overall service was good but nothing to brag about. The dusty road leading to the resort from the main road is really bumpy and it was not pleasant at all even riding in a car. Hence, we chose to stay in the resort for 3 meals, the food is quite delicious and reasonably priced. However, the meal we enjoyed most was outside of the resort at a seafood place by the pier which we had to get a car and driver from the resort to take us. The beach area was acceptable. The experience in this property wasn't good enough for us to consider making it back to Koh Chang which involves flying, 1 hr by car and another 20 min via speed boat one way. Upon returning to BKK, I wrote to the GM of the group for the additional charge. She responded immediately and I was quite happy. Then she cancelled our appointment 1 hr before we were due to meet. And two more months had passed, I had yet to hear from her. So no use in complaining. Customers come last for this Resort group.

Room Tip: If you choose this resort against our recommendation, then choose the pool side ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omo_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    144
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
148
330
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel is very beautiful and impressive. But after some time you start noticing very inconvenient things:
1) Internet. While any 2* hostel gives you free wi-fi, Panviman charges you 500 Baht for 24 hour access, where just one device can log-in one time.
2) SPA. Beautiful location to face the sea, while you are getting the treatment. But in the afternoon sun is shining straight to the eyes of therapists. So when i had manicure the turned my chair to face the closet instead )) Manicure by the way was very very bad - i had 3 fingers cut! Funny that right next to hotel SPA there is beach massage with regular Thai prices (300 Baht for 1h massage compared to 1200 Baht at the hotel!)
3) For the breakfast you have coffee served and milk is on each table in a beautiful coffee pot. But after it turned out to be spoiled, i never dared to add it to coffee again )
4) Complimentary water. It is served in any hostel in Thailand, even 2*. But in Panviman they have it in glass bottles, which certainly look nicer in the room bar, but is not practical, as you cannot take it with you.
5) Beach. Beach chairs are standing in 3 rows within 1 meter from each, which makes you feel like seals lying under sun)) Not my idea of a day on the beach ))
6) Road to the hotel from the main road. Long, dusty and bumpy, And just 1 (!!!) transfer to the road per day. Why not have a shuttle for guests at least mornings and evenings?

So how we got around all that in 5 days at Panviman:
Beach - Panviman is actually the last hotel on Khlong Prao beach, so we just went 50 meters to the right and spent whole day under the trees absolutely alone. Beach is absolutely beautiful! Tried to have take away food and drinks from the hotel, but they only serve you if you are standing within hotel limits..
How to get to the road - I found it easier to walk down the beach to Amari Emerald Resort, go through it, and it is just standing on the road! It is better than going by Panviman road with a torch and in dust ) Taking a motobike is also an option, but you should be experienced driver.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lelya_RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with the Panviman Koh Chang.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all of your expectations during your stay. I am sincerely sorry you did not experience the wonderful time other guests have written about. We'd love the chance to welcome your return and meet all of your vacationing needs next time.

Thank you once again for your review!

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in Panviman and was positively surprised. Good restaurant, Great Spa, Good Rooms, Great Surroundings, Great Beach, Serviceminded Staff.

Only drawback: They charge for Wifi a practice that should have gone the way of the dodo and a personal aggravation.

Can only reccomend !

Jakob í Hjøllum Nielsen

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jakob í Hjøllum N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

While the property is very beautiful, also its own beach - the management of the site is not up to the required level! Despite several requests, we did not manage to see the director (never had time during 12 days!)
The first bungalow was next to the kitchen of the restaurant with 2 industrial extractors. The next had 3 a/c generators of villas behind our bed room - not exactly ideal either! Our request to change resulted in unfriendly behaviour of the management (while the staff was always polite and helpful)
The restaurant is also not very recommendable, but there are plenty of alternatives in the area.
Tea at breakfast costs $2. extra, the hotel taxi costs 3 times as much as normal taxis.

Room Tip: only a bungalow directly on private pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed 1 night, liked it, came back and stayed 4 more.

Positive impressions: the beach (very beautiful), the room (spacious but cozy, cool thai design), hotel grounds (tropical garden), funny staff (can be too pushy though, beware!)

Less positive impressions: WiFi was not free, must have a motorbike to get to restaurants and shopping, food at the restaurant was not exactly top notch.

We booked the room with 60% discount so it was a ood value for money.

Room Tip: pool villas have a pool to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhannaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We booked this resort as they offered a 60 % discount, even at christmas period. Our room was a deluxe room which comes with a veranda and a large bathroom. The tub even had a waterfall built with stones attached to it.

Yes, the road leding to the hoyel is as bad as every report says. Bumpy and dark. We wanted some piece and quiet and this resort offers that in a beautiful surrounding. I enjoyed having the sunbeds at the lawn instead of on the beach. There are no jetskis or motorboats disturbing in the sea. I visited WSB but must say that Klong Prao in nicer and that this hotel sits on the best part.

The best part is the SPA, located in a villa by the sea. They had 40 % discount and the treatments ar far superior than the ones offered cheaper at the beach. Lovely to get a massage, listen to the waves and watch the sun set.

We rented a car so we could travel around as we liked.

Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PelleStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. Thank you for your positive feedback. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we value your comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again soon!

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stralsund, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My mum and me spend three nights at the Panviman on Koh Chang and fully enjoyed our stay at this well maintained resort. The rooms are designed in Thai manner; include a charming bathroom with an artificial waterfall, comfortable beds with mosquito nets and a relaxing terrace with a view into the garden. The breakfast consists of western food as well as Thai dishes. Our treat was a freshly prepared wonton-seafood soup, usually not a morning starter but one might as well change habits. The pool area was nice, the stretch of beach is away from the crowds and the staff was always at hand to offer you all the service you wished for. A nice add-on was the vast book corner, although mainly stocked with German titles. The sauna is small and cosy but didn’t heat up to the temperatures of a European style sauna. Wet towels and drinks were handed out by the spa staff.
The road to the resort wasn’t the best, but neither as bad as it was described in previous reviews. Due to our stay during the dry season it was a normal dirt road which you typically find on these islands, but it might worsen during the wet season.
There is nothing really to complain about, except the missing ferry pick up service. We were offered a 700 Baht (17, 50€) rate for one way to the ferry where a share taxi charges you 60 Baht (1, 50€) per Person. As well the Wireless Lan should be for free considering the price of the room (you are charged 500 Baht for 24hours or 150 Baht for one hour).
The Panviman was awarded a Grean Leaf certificate and it seems as though the management is interested in taking more care of the environment regarding electricity savings and less plastic use where possible. Still our towels were changed every day although we followed instructions to not have them changed. We can’t judge the resort regarding further water management and proper waste management practices which are a big problem on the islands and in Thailand in general.
All in all if you want to spoil yourself to a good resort on Koh Chang this is the one to pick.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Paul K, General Manager at Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Greetings from the Panviman Koh Chang!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Panviman Resort, Koh Chang.

First of all, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and had a great time with us. We appreciate it very much. Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Best Regards,

Paul Porada Srisuwanporn
Panviman Koh Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
982 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.5 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort

Property: Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Address: 8 /15 Moo 4 | Khlong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT (Formerly Panviman Koh Chang Resort) We are in the process of rebranding Panviman Koh Chang Resort, which will be called SANTHIYA TREE KOH CHANG RESORT effective immediately. We look forward to welcoming you to our new Santhiya destination soon! Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is located at Koh Chang, the second largest island in Thailand, only about 300 km east of Bangkok. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort is a traditional Thai retreat majestically set on the stretching fine sandy beach at Klong Prao. Klong Prao beach is not only tranquil but also idyllic for swimming. Not to mention it is one of the most spectacular spot to enjoy the view of sunset. Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort nestled at Klong Prao beach, a tranquil part of the island and idyllic for swimming, offering a unique blend of serenity and relaxation within a traditional Thai architectural setting. Great value for money and a unique experience of traditional Thai hospitality. All of the resort’s 50 deluxe rooms are majestically set in a tropical lush garden; it reflects the mood of pure comfort. All rooms feature private spacious terraces, and beautiful back-to-nature style bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Resort Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Hotel Koh Chang
Panviman Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing