We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay... Not quite the ocean view we paid for :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KC Grande Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay... Not quite the ocean view we paid for :(”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed two nights at the KC Grande and all in all it was an acceptable Hotel. The position is good and the rooms are well equipped.
On the down side the rooms are starting to date, the bed a bit hard and I guess the thing that was the most disappointing was we paid extra and specified that we wanted an ocean view room (we booked a grand deluxe ocean view room). Well, the main problem was the trees blocked 70% of our view. I LOVE gardens but the large trees should be planted in positions that do not interrupt the fabulous view. The breakfast was acceptable.
BUT in saying all of the negatives we did enjoy our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    362
    128
    38
    28
See reviews for
224
399
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in KC Grande by early July. Location is convinient, 7-11 is just a few steps away, massage shops and a few restaurants is also in a walking distance. We booked for 4 nights and our room was appointed on the 3/F and is overlooking to the sea. White Sand beach is right down under our resort.

Unfortunately it was the rainny season, it rained every single day. So the best thing about the room is the jaquzzi out on the terrace, which I could still enjoy the rain in a warm bath. The pool facing to the ocean is of a good size which I spent a few times there enjoy watching the people around and the breeze...

We've rented a motocycle and we had a ride to lonley beach, for me, it feels like the same but more convinent to stay in White Sand Beach here.

Buffet Breakfast is up to standard and of good variety. I enjoyed get up more early with less guests around, watching the changes of the sky and tides in such a nice ambience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivianchan733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in an Ocean View Hillside room. Great room. Big and well designed. The Hilltop pool has a great view of the ocean. Staff were very attentive. The breakfast was just Ok and it seemed to be a bit disorganized with them running out of glasses and plates. All in all a good relaxing break from Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnhawk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. It was worth the more than 5 hours journey from Bangkok by van minibus, ferry and ute taxi from Bangkok. The location, at the northern end of white sand beach was perfect, as we were away from the crowds and noise more at the center of the beach but close enough to allow us to explore the restaurants, bars and shops of the area. However, Ko Chang does not have a pulsating nightlife which was just great to have a relaxing holiday. Our villa was quiet and cozy, which was nice to spend some time indoors when raining. Loved the tropical gardens and the fact that we had a mosquito network over our bed for protection, even though we were barely disturbed by mosquitoes. The room was spotless, with all appliances working well and a great wifi service, better than what we were told it was when checking in, which was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast was abundant, with plenty of different and tasty options, though I would suggest to skip the western style pasta, as it seems not to be their speciality, but with so much food to choose from, who may care about it. We loved the yoghurt, salads, fruit smoothies and pastries. The infinity pool provided a great alternative to the nice beach, where we spent most of our days in the island. On our arrival day we watched a fantastic sunset but all the other days were too overcast to enjoy the beautiful scene. The resort's bar is a beautiful place to have a drink, quite relaxing and with great music. The live music at the restaurant at night provided nice entertainment. Even the fact that they provide a fitness room was great, despite the fact that some equipment were not working, but in all, we had a fabulous stay at this dream place.

Room Tip: Go for the garden villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusverGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I love this property and Koh Chang, although over the years the island has become very popular and busy at times. The KC Grande has excellent amenities and situated right on White Sands beach just tops it off. The restaurant offers a good range of thai and western foods, when I come here for a couple of days of R and R, I am more than happy to just spend my time within the complex. The ocean view rooms are large and very well appointed, although the spa bath on the balcony is a little over the top especially as it offers little or no privacy. Afternoon strolls on the beach offer access to the many restaurants dotted along the beach. Poolside for a few hours is very enjoyable as is a leisurely breakfast on the deck on the beach. Service is adequate but can be a little laid back at times. But all in all I will keep coming back

Room Tip: I prefer the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We decided on this hotel as on research it seemed one of the nicest on the White Sands beach and importantly on the best part of the beach, and that was what we found. We did initially think about one of the beach huts but considering we went in the wet season decided on a jacuzzi room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and beach. Rooms are massive with the largest balconies I have seen, big enough to contain 2 large beds to laze on and a 2 person jacuzzi (this was used every night!). Some pointers;

Hotel;
- Well worth the additional money, nice pool, adequate (but not great) breakfast.
- Evening meal expensive compared to local restaurants so eat out.
- Aircon worked fine although the room temp versus outside humidity played havoc with our camera and camcorder, more than normal condensation.
- The hotel is at one end (nearest ferry) of the small White Beach resort BUT the beach itself goes on for another 1k or so past the hotel, so whilst the hotel is at the end of the resort it is only in the middle of the beach. It is well worth it walking along the beach not accompanied by the road, this part has some wonderful hostel/ hut facilities right on the beach but probably more for the travel hardy (or those on a small budget), but worth a look (and a beer).
- The room fridge contents cheap, probably as there is a Seven 11 next door.

Resort;
- Small but absolutely wonderful. It has everything one wants including laundry services, beach bars/ restaurants, supermarkets, excursions, all classes of facilities from hotels to cheap huts, and even some tame beer bars at the very top.
- Note this may be the busiest beach on the island but it is relaxed and quiet. One of the most pleasant chilled out places we have been to (we may go again which is not in our nature).
- Eat in the evenings on the beach, all the bars replace their deckchairs in the evening with table and chairs and serve evening meals on the beach. Our favourite were the massive kebab sticks of chicken or pork with salad or rice; cheap and delicious.
- taxis everywhere in case one wants to travel the island.
- Lots to do for the adventurous. We did an Elephant trek, great fun.

Wet Season:
- Yes it will rain and it may rain more on Koh Chang as on the mainland but that should not spoil your holiday. When it rains it monsoon pours but always advertises itself with dark clouds and wind and the brightens up quickly afterwards.
- Dodging the showers (or not if caught) becomes part of the experience and fun, more importantly it is always warm so when it rains have a drink, or pop into a shop or hit the jacuzzi etc, it's part of the Thai experience during those months.
- The benefits are less crowds, cheaper everything, more of a 'real' experience and a bit of day volatility (day after day sunshine can get rather boring).
- We lived in t-shirts, shorts and flip-flops all day and night, no where to dress up for and no-one does.

Highly recommended hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Pack the very minimum, say a weeks worth of t-shirts and shorts and waterproof footwear. That all yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikuc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Service was alright but staff seemed like not so attentive. The hotel was located on White Sand Beach, both sides were their builings. Make sure to live in the new one and book an ocean view. The roof swimming pool was quite impressive and we spent a whole afternoon there. There were quite small shops along the road and it's easy to get some simple food. However, some areas were under renovation so there was noise during the daytime.
Room was very spacious and modern. Buffet breakfast was served near the beach, kind of relaxing. It was pity that sometimes raining a lot so that let us down a bit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lit_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
5.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.8 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
4.2 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
6.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.5 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KC Grande Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Grande Resort & Spa

Property: KC Grande Resort & Spa
Address: 1/1 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KC Grande Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine Lush Mountain greenery, a clear blue sky, a refreshing cool sea breeze, sparking turquoise ocean and fine, white sandy beaches. It's paradise on the beautiful island of Koh Chang, just 330 km from Bangkok. It's paradise on the beautiful island of Koh Chang, just 330 km from Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your KC Grande Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kc Grande Hotel Koh Chang
Kc Grande Resort And Spa
Kc Grande Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing