We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Room But Nothing Else To Remember. A Hotel For Families w/Children.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
KC Grande Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Chose this hotel solely from the TA rating.

Standing outside the hotel, it sure looks a lot better than many other places in Koh Chang. Its big and situated right on the beach. Had a Deluxe room on 3rd floor, the wing overlooking the pool area.

The Room Is big, plenty of space. Bed was on the hard side but sleep was fine. Bathroom with nicely sized shower cabin and with a ledge so you can even sit down and have a shower. I havent seen that before.

Balcony had 2 sunloungers and a big jacuzzi tub (usual kind that doesnt produce much excitement).

The hotel exterior, the walls all over, on all floors, are covered in lizard xxxx all over, lots of insects too so remains, blood and what not. Disgusting to say the least. A scrubdown and possibly paint is seriously needed cause it looks much less than inviting.

The pool area with its 2 pools, one for kids, is open and spacy. Jump over a ledge and you are on the wide beach. Water is full of debree from trees so beware of the occassional log that might hit you. Beach is otherwise very nice.

Big breakfast buffet, lots to choose from and it was pretty good. Breakfast was the only food we ate. Actually didnt spend any money there. Come dinnertime there are much more enticing places and a strowl along the beach leaves many options. Same goes for having drinks/cocktails and it is pretty relaxing, sitting right on the beach 15 feet from the ocean, in a beanbag.

Overall this stay was again one that is forgotten after I leave. Not good, not bad but nothing really to remember...except for all the xxxx on the white walls! Definitely a hotel for families with children, they will love it. For a couples place, I would pick another place since there is about zero intimacy in the KC.

Koh Chang, the island itself, is absolutely gorgeous with waterfall, lush tropic vegetation and green all over, even wild monkeys. Unfortunately it is littered everywhere !! Garbage thrown everywhere, half finished or abandoned buildings all over, areas with shops and housing are dirty, filth again thrown everywhere, green areas used as dumps and I even saw an elderly thai man walk out of his house, go 10 meters and just throw all his garbage in a plasticbag in open nature. We went to see the waterfall and all the way up there, litter all over, plastic from water bottles, film roll bottles. trash. No reason to respect this unique nature, follow the signs and hold on to your garbage for a 200 meter walk when you can just throw it somewhere. Koh Chang is a sad example and you can forget the picture you have in the back of your mind about a clean Thailand - its quite the contrary and the thais themselves are frontrunners in many cases. They sure dont hold back when it comes to polluting their own beautiful country. Disgusting !

One good memory and that was the extremely tasty good food at a restaurant right on the main road. When you come from KC direction, drive on main road, you PASS the small road up to the waterfall, and just 100-150 meters ahead, the LAST restaurant before you cross the river, its a big restaurant and seating for lots of people - Some of the very best green and red curry's and tom yam goong I have had in all of Thailand !! Order crab and you get more than you can eat. I can highly recommend this place, food is awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchStantonTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
There are newer reviews for KC Grande Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 992 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

As the title suggests we visited here 5 years ago and absolutely loved it. 5 years on the views, location and overall setting are still wonderful but the management must have become very lazy or haphazard in their recruitment methods. We would definitely return to Koh Chang but not here.

The pool area was not cleaned at all, we left empty drinks there at midday and they'd still be there at the end of the day. Loungers were dotted about and squeezed in all over the place so you often didn't have the choice of an umbrella or a table and felt squeezed in like sardines. The lounger cushions were all broken and there were not enough to go around, we stopped using them as there were bugs coming out of the foam in the middle which left us lying on essentially the frame of the bed. Service was terrible at both lunch and breakfast, where most mornings we had to hunt out our own cutlery to set the tables and the tea was cold every day. On one particular day broken tiles and cigarette ends were loaded in a pile by the pool. (Pictures of both attached)

The overall standard of service from staff was very poor and English so limited that they did not understand what 'bottle of water' was, we repeatedly failed to get what we ordered and meals never all arrived together, with little apology. We've holidayed in Thailand for years and love the laid back feel so this really wasn't about being picky, we are fine with things being a little chilled out however it was simply terrible service.
One day I went to reception to ask for some help in booking a table at a restaurant, there were 5 members of staff gathered around. The lady at the desk said I should try myself as she couldn't get through (and did straight away when the Senior Manager came over and told her to try again) and the other 4 members of staff kept repeating certain words such as the restaurant and location in English along with the rest of their speech in Thai and laughing at me. I love the Thais, they are normally so good at service I have no idea who recruited for this hotel.

In summary this used to be a great hotel, it's such a shame it's gone downhill. We love this island and you'll see from my other reviews i rarely feel the need to complain. On our last trip we spent most of our money in the hotel, two lunches in we decided to give them no more money. Sadly these were things we felt you couldn't fix by speaking to them and the management had chosen to ignore, it was simply complacency at it's best for which there is no excuse. I'd be amazed if this got the same rating from Trip Advisor as last year.

Glad we at least got to experience it at it's best first time round but wish we'd never returned. We live in Asia and will now not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: A lot of the 'deluxe sea view' rooms on the ground floor have obscured views of the sea, by...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Spend 4 nights in a Balcony room with spa. The room has a great fit out with a double spa overlooking the pool and beach which was brilliant. The layout of the resort is near perfect. Being served a seafood dinner on the beach was a great experience and the quality of food and service was excellent. My only complaint and is that the exterior of the hotel, the walls, paths and doors and timber fittings including deck chairs are screaming out for some maintenance/repairs. Also most of the gym equidpment was broken. Overall it was a great stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Balcony room with spa is the way to go.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We visited this hotel 2 years ago and my kids really wanted to return. The pool and the beach is still really great, so is the restaurant staff. However the whole place is beginning to look a bit tired and run down. It is such a shame, that the owners start building new rooms opposite the road instead of renovating the ones they have and the hotel grounds. I know the tropic climat is hard on buildings, but still, it is a shame.
Dont think we will return a 3. time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was must first trip to Koh Chang. I researched the many hotels on the island in search of the best property. When traveling the the U.S. I do not need nor seek the best hotels. I find that a mid range property costing in $100 range has the facilities I find important. Outside the U.S. I find that in order to get the same amenities of a Hampton Inn or a Courtyard by Marriott I need to book a 4 or 5 star hotel. This is how I came to the KC Grande.

I booked a higher end room at 4000 Thai Baht. The room was large as advertised. The furnishings were spartan. The bed was rock hard (to be fair, this is typical in Thailand). The thermostat did not work properly until repaired, the room alternatively freezing and roasting. The wireless went out for a few hours mid day. The property needed better maintenance. The the buildings was needed to be painted. The beach needed to be cleaned. I was there off season so it is surprising that these projects were not being undertaken.

The service was typical of many places in Thailand. The well trained are very good. The less well trained, here the majority, did their best to avoid guests. Without hospitality training, many Thai people are terrified of farangs (foreigners).

On a positive note, the issues I encountered were dealt with professionally. Koh Chang is perhaps a bit overdeveloped, but it is a wonderful combination of beach and mountains. Most of the food was good. I will assume that the property will have more of its game on in high season.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We travelled about 6 hours from Bangkok by bus to arrive. We were here during wet season and it was still great. The cloud cover made for great warm but not too hot temperature. The resort is just lovely great location and fab pool. Very easy stay. The small huts we stayed in on the beach were small as others had said but we loved them. To be right on the beach the whole time, just great. Brekkie was good and for dinner we walked up the beach and as far as you can see there are little restaurants great food, feed the family for like $40AU and that includes 2 teenagers. The beach did have some rubbish like branches trees etc washed up but we were there during a few storms. But they clean it as best they can each morning. The staff were good and we'd definitely love to come back one day. It doesn't rain all day just a few showers that didn't stop us doing anything. In fact it was great to see all the waterfalls etc.

Room Tip: Beach huts small but big enough. Bathroom a little old but made up for it sitting on deck watching...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My brother booked this place 'cold' over the net for a holiday, well guess what, he creamed it !
The place is awesome, I stayed in a spa room for the first 5 days and then checked out and did a side trip to Cambodia.
When I returned I stayed in the 'older' beach bungalows, do yourself a favour and always choose the bungalows, amazing, right on the beach, the waves are 5 mtrs from your door (and free wifi) !
I can't rave about this place enough, the whole island is incredible, Koh Chang I think has to be one of the most beautiful places on the planet !
I would recommend that you visit, but please don't, the less people that find out about this place the better, you lot should keep going to Phuket and Samui and leave this dump to me !

Room Tip: Defo the beach bungalow !
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
5.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
8.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
299 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
6.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
4.8 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KC Grande Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Grande Resort & Spa

Address: 1/1 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $78 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KC Grande Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine Lush Mountain greenery, a clear blue sky, a refreshing cool sea breeze, sparking turquoise ocean and fine, white sandy beaches. It's paradise on the beautiful island of Koh Chang, just 330 km from Bangkok. It's paradise on the beautiful island of Koh Chang, just 330 km from Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your KC Grande Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kc Grande Hotel Koh Chang
Kc Grande Resort And Spa
Kc Grande Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing