We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“not the best stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not the best stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

After a lengthy time spent getting there ,the reviews i read where nothing to what was there , staff, yes friendly , but while doing an afternoon siesta with a private sign on the wall ,room staff woke us up to clean the room ??, i carry my computer so i can check photos and travel sites via the HDMI cable to the TV screen every hotel i have been two in Asia has a flat screen "except the Ramayama" ,for the whole stay we had to go to a local bar to actual watch our pics and do travel checks , this was a waste of time as the rooms should state more of there facilitys , air con ,although worked could not be set right we had it on 25deg but our thermonitor showed 23 deg , sleepless nights , the room has the size of 42 sq this seems much smaller , breakfast was nice but there where not enough fans and the hot air made breaky un enjoyable we picked our breaky table by the one that had the least ants on the top ( same ones that where in our room and clothes biting us )our bathroom was tiny with cold water from the shower , there is construction on site but nothing to really worry about as the work is not at the noisey stage , there is a small back gate which goes down to the local river , this gate is for staff only , if you wish to go out to these eatery's you have to go out the front then double back to the side street which was annonying even with a hotel card coming back we had to go the long way ,the decor would be good on Saint Paddys day as the tiles where green the place is showing its age ,, there is no free wifi in the rooms , prehaps the best highlight was when our bus arrived to take us back to Pattaya

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry1one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    188
    54
    19
    5
See reviews for
83
211
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a standard room for three nights over the holiday weekend. The rooms are a good size, comfortable and well furnished. The rooms are all set in beautifully landscaped natural surroundings facing inwards over balconies towards a small cental pool. Generally the service is very good though on the first night our dinner order got lost when the restaurant was completely full. We hired a motorbike to explore the island and visit various beaches and restaurants.The two seafood restaurants down the side road adjacent to the hotel are recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Tim_Pickles

Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang! On behalf of the Ramayana Kho Chang resort & spa, It is pleasure to have you here. Thank you for sharing your precious moment with us and let us learned how to be better for you. we are promise to give you more comfort whenever you re-visit .Thank you again for your precious comment and hoping to have a chance to service you in the near future.


With Regards,
Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The staff were so wonderful and friendly, but in general, the hotel wasn't the best we stayed in - our room was quite dark, and one of the bedside lights didn't work. The shower was lacking in power, and while we had a nice balcony, it was right next to a lot of plants/trees and a small stream which attracted a lot of insects and mosquitos which meant we couldn't sit outside without being bitted to death! But that could have just been unlucky for us... the other rooms might be brighter if they're not positioned under a canopy of trees. Spare pillows are provided in the cupboards but they don't have pillow cases on them, and they smell a bit funky.

The pool however is very nice - quiet and relaxing area to chill out.

There is a waterfall only 3 minutes moped ride down the road, but it costs 200B to visit, we we didn't bother and chose instead to ride about 45 minutes north for a different, free waterfall.

There are plenty of places to go for food in the evenings, including a 7/11 and a pharmacy for snacks and supplies (bug spray!!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g-olive89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, General Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear g-olive89

Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang! On behalf of the Ramayana Kho Chang resort & spa, It is pleasure to have you here. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and let us learned how to be better for you. we have taken note for anything that you feel discomfort to improve our service to ensure that we would be able make you more comfort whenever you re-visit .Thank you again for your precious comment and hoping to have a chance to service you in the near future.


With Regards,
Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at Ramayana with my husband for 3 nights in the end of March 2013. It was a nice resort with a beautiful garden and friendly staff. We weren't very impressed by the rooms though. The beds were extremely hard and the bathrooms were tiny. The rooms and the linens smelled like mold. The first day we got a plate of fruit to our rooms. We didn't eat from it but the housekeeper didn't take it out in three days so in the end it was totally moldy. There is no free wi-fi in the rooms.

The service in the restaurant was very poor. Don't get the Pad Thai!

It's very far from the beach but the resort runs a shuttle bus hourly.

If you don't have too high expectations this is a fine resort, we just didn't think we got value for our money. There are many nicer resorts on Koh Chang at the same rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofiahanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Could do with a bigger sign or at least one not partially obscured by plants as our driver missed the hotel twice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Quiet location means not easy to walk around to a nearby restaurant at night, but easy to flag down a taxi. Quiet location does mean a tranquil environment, perfect if you would like a nice little holiday away from the hustle and bustle of a city or a party beach. Nice garden view from the room balcony/terrace, makes you feel like you're in a tropical jungle.

Breakfast is average, not a lot of choices, but still okay for what it's worth. The private beach at their sister hotel is great, and the shuttle to the beach runs hourly. We also booked an elephant trek and a full-day snorkeling trip with the hotel, which turned out great. They can also arrange transportation for your onward travel via minivan.

We booked through Booking.com which had great rates at the time. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mscah100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

the rooms are really nice indeed, and the staff helpful. but that was it. The rooms are too expensive considering you dont have really access to the beach. The booking.com announcement about shuttle service is a joke, because it is only served hourly! even if you take a local cab, you have to go a while. And there is no internet access in the room!! None at all, this is really not modern standard, even a cheap guest house for 500 baht on lonely beach provides internet in room. You have to go to the reception for using wifi, and it is not in the near of the room! The restaurant is not recommendable as well. For this Price you can get a much much better hotel at white sand beach or kaebi beach. Book this hotel only if you want to stay 24 hours in the hotel room and watch TV

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperSongoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Staff are all very nice and helpful.
Room is clean and nice contemporary decoration. Breakfast is excellent. Location is not close to the beach and unable to walk but they provide shuttle car. Take it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.2 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.8 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#9 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
4.8 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aana Resort & Spa
Aana Resort & Spa
#20 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Property: Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramayana Koh Chang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ramayana Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Ramayana Resort Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing