We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avarage hotel far from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Avarage hotel far from the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at Ramayana with my husband for 3 nights in the end of March 2013. It was a nice resort with a beautiful garden and friendly staff. We weren't very impressed by the rooms though. The beds were extremely hard and the bathrooms were tiny. The rooms and the linens smelled like mold. The first day we got a plate of fruit to our rooms. We didn't eat from it but the housekeeper didn't take it out in three days so in the end it was totally moldy. There is no free wi-fi in the rooms.

The service in the restaurant was very poor. Don't get the Pad Thai!

It's very far from the beach but the resort runs a shuttle bus hourly.

If you don't have too high expectations this is a fine resort, we just didn't think we got value for our money. There are many nicer resorts on Koh Chang at the same rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofiahanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    214
    59
    22
    7
See reviews for
101
245
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Could do with a bigger sign or at least one not partially obscured by plants as our driver missed the hotel twice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Quiet location means not easy to walk around to a nearby restaurant at night, but easy to flag down a taxi. Quiet location does mean a tranquil environment, perfect if you would like a nice little holiday away from the hustle and bustle of a city or a party beach. Nice garden view from the room balcony/terrace, makes you feel like you're in a tropical jungle.

Breakfast is average, not a lot of choices, but still okay for what it's worth. The private beach at their sister hotel is great, and the shuttle to the beach runs hourly. We also booked an elephant trek and a full-day snorkeling trip with the hotel, which turned out great. They can also arrange transportation for your onward travel via minivan.

We booked through Booking.com which had great rates at the time. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscah100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

the rooms are really nice indeed, and the staff helpful. but that was it. The rooms are too expensive considering you dont have really access to the beach. The booking.com announcement about shuttle service is a joke, because it is only served hourly! even if you take a local cab, you have to go a while. And there is no internet access in the room!! None at all, this is really not modern standard, even a cheap guest house for 500 baht on lonely beach provides internet in room. You have to go to the reception for using wifi, and it is not in the near of the room! The restaurant is not recommendable as well. For this Price you can get a much much better hotel at white sand beach or kaebi beach. Book this hotel only if you want to stay 24 hours in the hotel room and watch TV

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperSongoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Staff are all very nice and helpful.
Room is clean and nice contemporary decoration. Breakfast is excellent. Location is not close to the beach and unable to walk but they provide shuttle car. Take it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

You can't go wrong staying at such a beautiful hotel set in a lush tropical setting. I stayed in the Ravana suite which is gorgeous and lots of attention to detail. Very nice pool, restaurant was good you can eat for as little as 60 baht if you like. Staff are extremely helpful and the grounds are meticulously clean. Good Internet signal in the lobby, lots of tours you can easily book at the desk. You can walk to nearby restaurants or roam around the beach area which is a short 5 minute shuttle to their sister hotel. I had a very relaxing stay, would absolutely come back here. A real gem!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Ramayana is a good choice for couples or families looking for a quiet place to stay. The property is set back in the jungle and has a nice pool in the middle with a bar. All the rooms I saw had a nice patio that overlooks the garden that the property is set in. There is no beach directly on the property but there is a shuttle that runs every hour to their sister property, "The Dewa", that has a beach. They also run shuttles to the White Sand Beach which is the main town with restaurants and bars. They have scooters for rent as well but they're pricey compared with what you can get at other places on the island. You pay for convenience. Don't pick this place if you're looking for a good fitness center. The spa, according to my girlfriend, was also pretty mediocre. The water pressure in the shower was minimal and it was only lukewarm.

Room Tip: The junior suite is not as big as you would expect from a junior suite but it's still a very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmrama, Manager at Ramayana Koh Chang Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Allan S,


Greeting from Ramayana Koh Chang! On behalf of the Ramayana Kho Chang resort & spa, It is a great pleasure to have you here. Thank you for your feedback and a chance to look after you.at ramayana,We will do our best to ensure that you will be more comfort everytime visit us.Thank you again for your precious comment and hoping to have a chance to service you again.

Kraikiti Dibakanaka
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of days and found it a great value for money. The resort is clean and has a relaxing atmosphere although it is not on the beach but transfer to the beach was offered in just a short ride. What really impresses us here was the very friendly staff and very tasty food in the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
1.8 mi away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#8 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
4.8 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Koh Chang Resort

Property: Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 4, Khlong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramayana Koh Chang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramayana Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Ramayana Resort Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing