We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe hell hole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Chang Resort & Spa
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
bury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unsafe hell hole”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Standard rooms are absolutely disgusting. An annexe off the main road, through an unlit garage with disgusting rubbish everywhere. up an unlit path to a building with no external door. My room had a balcony with no lock and wires hanging where a light switch should be. Basically uninhabitable. To upgrade to a 'superior room' cost an extra 1000baht but these were at least safe and clean. there must be better hotels on Koh Chang. Don't bother staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank christabel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    21
    26
    38
See reviews for
32
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

1.) Bad rooms & location: no windows and we had to walk through a garage and scrapyard to come to our roon)
Bad service
2.) Bad Service: staff didn't speak, neither really understand english and the reception was only open until 8pm (!)
3.) unclean area: bottles on the floor, rotting food lying around etc., beach wasn't clean as well

But: the rooms were more or less clean and made every day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Azzurro89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

No windows in Standard-Room, dirty Beach, service desk closed at 8:00 pm, no one spoke english at the restaurant, very small pool, me and my friend were the only guests, ...
Changed the hotel after 2 days.
The only good thing about this hotel was that it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam9019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The place was nice 6 years ago but returning to it in 2011 left my mouth with a rotten place. I still have a day and a half here but already I wanna escape. We were welcomed with raised eyebrows and fierce rejections made previously online. We requested one room with an extra bed but upon arrival we were told that the beds were not available but could be purchased at 1000+ per night. Only the strange thing was that we believed that everything was paid for online. Instantly we felt ripped off. However we weren't the only upset visitors, just today an angry guest sat on the reception table yelling at the staff, "This is your problem! Not mine!" He began to lie down on the table smoking. Normally I would look on to the gust as the rude one but I doubt he drew first blood at Koh Chang Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crossbearer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel 2 nights and it`s not really 3* star standard.

We lived in superior rooms, but if possible to live better reserve bungalows. Because superior rooms are near the street, rooms are small. Standard rooms located opposite to street.

Hotel territory is very small, so there is very less place on the beach and persons are very near to each other.
Hotel pool is small and located between bungalows, so you don`t wish there to stay as you feel there is no space and almost now view.

Breakfast is pretty poor choice.
if hotel have very good deal, then perhaps could stay one more time - island is island, bet better would choose some other hotel with more space.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindawelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The resort is located very nicely with respect to being very close to the beach, but this is the only nice thing I could rightly say about this place. The staff personnel were extremely unfriendly, and at times, downright rude (I will explain later in the review). The room was nothing to write home about-- boring in most respects. The breakfast was below average, i.e. tasteless and unimaginative. At check-out, they presented a bill in which they wanted us to pay for a night we already paid for. Rather than apologizing, the female staff member seem irritated that she had to check with the economic section. After the payment was verified, she made no apology and handed us a new bill with, I was hoping, the correct amount. But no such luck! This new bill included something from the minibar, something we never took. When we pointed out we did not take anything from the minibar, she seemed to doubt us. In the end, we did not have to pay, but I felt the desk personnel did not believe us. Would I recommend this resort to others-- absolutely not! I went through a travel agency in Chiang Mai.Since then, I have relied on reading the reviews in Tripadvisor and other sites of, oh, and "luck"!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lshapspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We expexted this hotel to be nice and klean, concidering the price, but it was´nt. The room was smelly, dirty, air con did not work, the electricity was broken, and the staff was ignorant and rude. We had to pay 600 Bht for a babycot, usually they are free. The wifi cost money, usually free. We had to pay for the room in advance, usually you pay when you check out, wich was a BIG mistake. We stayed for 3 hours and didn´t even use the room, but they wanted full payment. In the end we got 600 Bht of 2600 Bht back for the babycot, that was loosing it´s paint so our 9 month old daughter almost choked when she got some in her mouth.
The only good thing is the location, but the beach was dirty and not very nice anyway.
The place is dirty, the staff in the reception is not nice and the restaurant didn´t have any guests (wonder why?). We´re never going back and you shouldn´t go there either.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bisjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.2 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
176 reviews
3.0 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#48 of 73 in Ko Chang
126 reviews
1.8 mi away
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
#39 of 73 in Ko Chang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chai Chet Resort
Chai Chet Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
193 reviews
8.6 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#32 of 73 in Ko Chang
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Resort & Spa

Property: Koh Chang Resort & Spa
Address: 39 Mu 4 | Chaiyachet Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Chang Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KOH CHANG RESORT & SPA has been the pioneer in exploring the beauty of Trad since 1987. At that time there were no roads, electricity or other facilities. Our professional experience will let you have a memorable time for your holiday. Here are some of the outstanding facilities that make us feel proud of our resort: PROPER LOCATION - Coral reefs close to the beach on 6 islands, suitable for skin diving and exploring the amazing sea-life. - The best sunset view point in Koh Chang. - Breath - Taking view of Chaiyachet cape. - The location with its crystal clear water and white sand beach will give you more privacy to have the real relaxing holiday. - The gradual slope of the beach makes it safe for swimming and all other sport activities. - The green moutains behind resort are full of wild life and nature. - The resort is located near Klong-plu waterfall which is generally perceived as the most beautiful and biggest waterfall in island with plenty of water all year round. - We can offer you a wide range of activities including snorkeling, scuba diving and exploring the beautiful nearby islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Chang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Resort And Spa
Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing