We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Resort for sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Budget Resort for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The beach and the sea were beautiful, there is no escaping it. But if you are looking for luxury on a Thai island then look somewhere else. We got the impression that Koh Chang is the most budget of all the islands and Klong Prao resort the most budget of resorts on this island.

The rooms are basic but clean enough, the resort is basic but again kept quite clean and all the people who worked there seemed nice enough.

The resort also seems to be located far away from all the lively places on the island. So far that you forking out quite a lot of money on a taxi to get anywhere decent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletch_Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    120
    32
    16
    13
See reviews for
90
76
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good enough for us - no luxery but very good. Staff very friendly. Newly renovated, started last year so we haven't seen the difference yet...we are usually there in the beginning of november, just before the great "invasion of tourists,
so to speak" ALSO called high season....
Gittan & Bosse, Stockholm, Sweden

Room Tip: Be nice and people will be nice back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgitta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here, the room was 2,400 baht, little bit more than I like to pay, but to be honest it's hard to get rooms on a beach resort for less than 1,500 - 2,000 baht. We are a family of 4 and I thought the room was a pleasant change, 2 double beds, very large room, nice bathroom, T.V and fridge.

The restaurant was excellent but the drinks a little pricey, best thing is it's right on the beach, ideal place to sit in the shade while the children play on the beach.

As for the beach, really can't fault it, large, shallow, uncrowded, perfect for children. The resort is set in a beautiful location around a small lake, it is well kept and manicured. No complaints about the service, but we never had the rooms made over the 2 day period, that was our choice.

Included in the price we had breakfast for 3 people, although we did all manage to eat. I will say that the inclusive breakfast probably saved us at least 400 baht per day, making the mean price of this place 1,900 baht per day. If the price was a 1000 baht cheaper I would stay here every time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bodlagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is quite far from anything. The breakfast was pretty average, you could give it a miss. It gave us an upset stomach and was the only place to do so after spending three weeks in Thailand. The rooms are quite dated and the beds are hard but that's a given in Thailand.

The pluses: The bbq dinner was great value for money and delicious! I would go back just for the dinner. The beach is nice and quiet.
Full of Russians so if you are of an ethnic minority and don't mind being invisible then you'll be fine.
No wifi and you have to pay for internet if you want to use it in the lobby. Even that isn't complimentary! So for the price you're paying, stay elsewhere! Safe's aren't in your room they're in reception. I expected better service in a resort like this but it was pretty bad. I've had better service at other hotels in Thailand.

I would recommend Lonely Beach which is further up from Klong Prao.

Room Tip: You could pay extra for the detached huts but I would just stay at another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrypd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a shame. Revisited this hotel because we were so impressed a few years ago to find a very tired hotel with unattentive abrubt staff not willing to help.We experienced 2 days of no hot water with 3 days of a leaking toilet and the bathroom floor flooded.This hotel has the most beautiful setting,white sandy beach,warm shallow clear sea,set around a lake,lovely.Its a pity the staff dont appeciate it and the management dont paint it !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Terrible place.
Everything outdated: the pool, restaurant, rooms (even the deluxe room we booked). Rooms + public spaces are not clean. When we stayed here, there were only Russian people around.
Atmosphere very much on making money and so un-Thai.

We moved to a newly openend hotel a few hundred meters further, which was actually great.

My advise: don't book!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FLSAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I have mixed opinions on this resort. Overall it was a lovely stay. It's important that you know how to drive a motobike. If no then DONT stay here. It's far from everything and hard to get a taxi. If you drive a moto, then it is good..you will be far from the noise and clubbing etc..but easy accessible in 12 min moto drive.

We had a beach front villa for $130 a night. Two major problems. The room is not a villa it is a bungalow of a medium quality. Nice from the outside but not inside. It's not on the beach, there is the main pathway, landscape of grass and then the beach. You can't even open the blinds because all hotel traffic is between your room and the grass landscape. Our room was in the corner and as such it was behind a building where the delux room are. Are you freaking kidding me?..a front beach villa is behind a delux room building! .. no view of the beach of course.

Room, bed etc.. are average.
Staff can barely speak English. Even at the reception it is hard to just communicate some words.
I forgot my glasses near the pool at 10 pm...checked them by 8 am next day..they were stolen.

Pool is dirty. You swim with the flies!
Not enough sun bed on the beach. Never managed to get one.


The good points: Absolutely lovely long beach. We loved it. So you really don't care about the pool.
Restaurant is nice, value for money....seafood bbq is yummm

Cheap massage on the grass overlooking the beach. We had two hrs massage daily...sooo nice with the beach sound in the background.

Breakfast is ok. Fruit was not covered...flies everywhere.

Close to waterfall, elephants trekking but again you need a motobike.

They provide umbrella in the room which is handy.

Overall good location, nice stay...but beach front villa is not a villa and not what you expect as a beach front.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.5 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
3.8 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Aana Resort & Spa
Aana Resort & Spa
#20 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang

Property: Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
Address: 21/1 Moo 4 | Sukhumvit 50, Ko Chang 10260, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klong Prao Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing