We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barali Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed January 28, 2007

We fluked out and found this place. We walked off the street while staying at another resort. We wanted to be on the beach so we switched and were able to get a great rate, much lower than the posted rates. For the money, it was really a great deal. Very relaxing, fluid and calming for our last week in Thailand. After weeks of staying in the authentic bungalows, this was a little treat for us. The service is spectacular, the people are helpful and the food is good. I would definitely reccommend it and would go back there.

Anna

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank APCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 168 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2007

Barali resort and spa....that's how they advertise now :
no spa. No tea/ coffee making facilities, no Iron and they charged a fortune to iron for us. The bathroom looked lovely but after one hour the bath was only 4 inches deep and the water took as long to empty. The room was fine... as seen in the pics.
Food service ensured that we explored the other restaurants on offer. Breakfast was ok ... just , but boring after the third day (we were there for11 nights. The biggest problem is that the staff stare at you as if you have just pointed out a centrefold nude in their menu when you order, and it's an excitement to see what turns up. I sent a nicoise salad back three times.... They also tend to undercook meat .There is a great bakery nearby with good coffee and restaurants a quick walk away.
What still gob-smacks me is the acre of rotting garbage and building rubble one traverses to reach the resort. The land clearly is the resort's as we saw staff there moving one particularly bad pile ... not all of it, just some. The beach is lovely and the sunsets superb.
Internet access is slow and expensive: better to go to V.J Plaza just up the road.
When we left we gave all our spare cash to this elderly fellow who had worked from dawn to dusk on the resort grounds (which, inside the resort are excellent). We watched him being yelled at by the boss, tackling weeds in between pavers with a blunt knife and watering diligently .
Would we go back ? No.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank touristN.S.W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

Barali is maybe not the most fancy Resort on Koh Chang, but for us, 2 adults and 2 kids, it was the best. It is close to the sea with a nice pool, nice breakfast, very nice staff, excellent service and its not noicy. The rooms and the bed are super top of the line if you like harder madrasses like we do. The bathroom was nice, big and very fancy.

It is definitely not the cheapest resort on the Island, but its also not the most expensive resort, but its definitely one of the best and its its worth its higher price. The rooms had satellite TV so we could watch BBC and CNN, as well as one good movie channel.

The following small things can be improved at Barali: First, there is no wireless internet connection. Secondly, the internet connected computer in the reception is mega slow and very overcharged for its speed. 5 baht per minute compare to 1 baht per minute in the Internet Cafes in White Sand Beach. Thirdly, the beach is nice but in the water there are quite some sharp stones and you might cut yourself in your toes. This problem could easily be solved by some two three guys cleaning it up during low water. A tractor would do it in 5 minutes.

The photos shown on the official homepage are fare and shows the real situation very well.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

This island was absolutely beautiful. As the ferry approached the island it made me think of the movie King Kong as the island suddenly appeared out of a fog bank. Its lush green mountain tops peaking through the clouds instantly made me think of that movie. The island is absolutely gorgeous. The hotel experience was fantastic. The entire staff could not have been nicer. The rooms were more like having your own tropical beach house. It was mere steps away from the beach. The air conditioner kept the room very comfortable. The bath room was spacious and clean.

The hotels swimming pool was great, very romantic and private. The hotel serves a complementary buffet breakfast outside on a deck overlooking the beach from 6 am to 11 am. I was able to rent a small motorbike directly at the hotel. There are also two elephant trekking excursions available that are only minutes away from the hotel. This hotel is very romantic and the perfect get away. I do not think that many more places like this exist anymore due to expansion. Hawaii must have been like this 75 years ago. The hotel staff is outstanding and very pleasant. I have never been treated better at any other hotel. I can not wait to return some day.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AAAJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the room was lovely and the hotel is not not large and built up, great for a getaway. The hotel has limited facilities however, it was just perfect for the romantic getaway we wanted.

The customer service was great but, we didn't get much help with tour advice. The hotel has a single restaurant which serves good food at reasonable prices. I would recommend staying here at high season (Novemeber - April) as the weather is very poor in monsoon season however, accomodation is much more expensive during this time. Overall Koh Chang is much less expensive in terms of food, clothes, tours etc than other areas large tourist areas.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lou_dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2006

The hotel is set some way off the main road alongside the Tropicana. The grounds outside the gates to the hotel could do with some TLC but once in the hotel grounds there are lush tropical plants throughout and the gardens are tended daily. The bungalows are fairly tightly packed throughout the gardens and are nice enough inside. Our room was cleaned well each day and the air con worked well enough if a little noisy. The pool area is pleasant and the restaurant works well at breakfast time. The beach is nice being very nuch subject to the influence of the tides which means very warm shallow water for many yards at high tide. However there is little evidence of management in the restaurant in the evenings and there is no manned bar during the day or evening. We always had to go and find someone to provide service instead of them simply offering. The quality of food and service in the restaurant is poor and cannot be recomended. However at the top of the drive there are a number of street restaurants that are OK and we can recommned KT's the cookery school/restaurant. You can also walk along the beach to other restaurants. The island is undeveloped and very quiet. Tourism is just starting and it is a good place to chill for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2006

A beautiful resort on a relaively unspoilt beautiful Island.The resort is not too big and the bungalows are close to the pool and beach.We had a beach front one and thought it was well worth the extra.Lots of small resteraunts within walking distance,mostly very cheap.This is a quiet tranquil place and not suitable for teenagers.White Sands Beach a few miles away is very commercial but the rest of the island is not (yet).Its just magical so go before it is spoilt.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank joanslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
5.5 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
1 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#9 of 73 in Ko Chang
438 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
1.6 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barali Beach Resort

Address: 77 Moo 4 | Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $92 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barali Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barali Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing