We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small for a resort but big on relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barali Beach Resort
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Compared to large cater-to-your-every-whim Asian beach resorts, Barali Beach is just not on that scale. As noted by other reviewers, it lacks some amenities.

But as a low-key base to keep a lazy schedule for a few days, the hotel is great: clean, comfortable rooms, attractive architecture, a great pool. Office staff are helpful to provide information and contact for a variety of local excursions, and taxis run fairly regularly to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. The hotel restaurant is not superb, but the Thai food is passable for a basic meal. Go elsewhere for signature food experiences.

In fact, being sure that we had things to do outside the hotel was probably the reason we enjoyed it so much: we woke up late, went out for sight-seeing, came back to lay by the pool, and returned from dinner for a relaxing night's sleep. Our time at Barali Beach was beautiful and very satisfying.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Barali Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 162 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2008

This past weekend 20-22 My family and a close friend decided to travel from our busy lives and stay at this resort in Koh Chang. When we first arrived we were greeted with friendly faces and open arms. They prepaired some nice orange fruit drink and some wash cloths to refresh ourselves after the 4 hour drive.

At first sight to the last sight this hotel/resort was absolutly wonderful. The beach is a nice small area fit for several families. The view was beautiful. The restaurant next door to the left of the resort was not to bad but money for value was not good. However the Barali resort beach side dining was perfect. The wait staff is very professional and polite. I would like to say that one server "Ky" was very nice and did everything to make our day perfect there.

I would give this place 1000 thumbs up if I could.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank White8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

This hotel was ideal for us, a quiet location in the low key resort village of Klong Prao. The hotel leads directly to a broad section of beach, others in the vicinty had access to rocky, narrow or eroded areas of beach. All the rooms were villa style, some with private garden and pool. Ours was spacious with a four poster bed, (a chaise longue as a third bed suitable for child), a large bathroom with a sunken bath and overhead shower. The bath was surrounded by a glass window out to a tiny garden with a high wall surrounding it.
The decor was dark polished wood floor and furniture in the room, with white walls, cream covers and natural wood blinds in the many windows. The villas are mostly semi-detached, with a shared decking seating area with a privacy wall between. These villas are accessed by four steps up to the deck. All the fixtures and fittings were in good order although the bathroom was showing some signs of wear and tear. We would have liked a bit more storage space.
There is a small but very nice infinity pool with jaccuzi section and swim-up bar. Sun loungers by the pool decking and on the beach were well maintained.
The staff were charming and obliging, A good selection of choice was served in the restaurant at breakfast, athough we prayed for a change of music cd by the end of our trip. Dinner was served at tables on the beach but we only ate there once and the choice was limited. There is a very good Thai restaurant just along the beach into the lagoon The Blue Lagoon, and the main road is only 600 meters walk and a range of bars and restaurants are on offer there. Most of the hotel clientele are Swiss, German, Scandanavian couples and a few local families. In fact this Brits by and large have not discovered Koh Chang yet which is a plus!
I do have mobility problems and found the hotel very manageable. There are 4 steps to reception, which can be bypassed to and from your room to the car park. 4 steps down to the beach, 4 up to the pool area, the main restaurant is accessed by a flight of wooden steps with a handrail from the pool area.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scuba_granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed at this hotel during 6 days with my wife and my two kids (1 and 3 years old).

The beach is quite small but very nice and very convenient with small kids and the pool is also quite enjoyable.

The problem with this resort is that it seems unfinished. The layouts and the rooms are very nice but this is absolutely no decoration in the rroms : white walls, two beds and a TV. Quite a gap with the nice bow-window bathroom. There were quite some issues with the bathroom also since there is absolutely no pressure when you use the hot water and that if you want to get the sand out of your kids hair you need to do it with cold water. On the website they say that are safes and coffee machines in every room but this is not true...

I had booked directly with their office in Bangkok and they had agreed that my two kids could stay for free in the room since they are under the age of 4. I had to bring my own babycot for my litlle daughter since they do not have any of them at the resort - this is very unusual in Thailand. When I arrived at the resort they started by charging me with a 300 Bath extra charge for my older son (on a 5 night stay that makes it a 50 dollars extra). Once in the room I noticed that there where no bedsheets for the sofa so that my son could sleep. When I asked for some bed sheets they told me that he could stay for free but that if I wanted some bedsheets I would have to pay an extra 1300 bath per day which meant an extra 200 dollars just for sheets. After a lot of talking I finally managed to get bedsheets for the sofa with no extra charge but lost two hours with the reception. This was very very unpleasant.

Breakfast is below average compared to other similar resorts in Thailnd - fruitjuice and coffee are disgusting, no fresh bread or pastries - but is still ok. The restaurant on the beach is very nice and serves good grilled fish and the prices are reasonable but there is no activity and you would prefer going to the north beach where you can find similar restaurants with some nice night activity.

Since we where at the resort for new year eve, we had to pay for the compulsory gala dinner. Something in the range of 300 dollars for the food and the beverages!!! And at that price, we had a disgusting buffet on the beach : food was cold and very "european style" ordinary buffet food that you can find in any bad hotel in Thailand.

We had already been once to Koh Chang and had stayed at the Paradise Resort which is much top-end for the same price. If you want to stay near the Barali, you might consider having a look at the Tropicana resort which is just next to it or even at the Amrai Cove which is also quite close.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JPLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

I went with my partner for our anniversary in late November last year, after stumbling across koh chang on the map! Having asked many firends who had travelled thailand and hadnt been there - so we thought it a great idea to go...
I hate touristy places, and when we arrived it certainly dissapoint! The resort was wondeful - the service was great, hotel lovely, and rooms devine; high ceiling, big windows, gorgeous bathroom, clean and great air conditioning. Dont be put off by the negative reviews on the site about the rooms and services - YOU ARE IN THAILAND. This is not the Savoy or hilton, and doesnt pretend to be. the staff are all from the island, and taught english by watching tv when they can - so who can blame them for not understanding our whole culture, level of service required by some, and occassionally poor english... this resort is gorgeous, you can't be the staff, and allows you to enjoy a piece of thailand on your doorstep (and banana trees on your bungalow terrace!). Elephants can be seen along the roadside, and you must go to the elephant sanctuary - its amaing and all the elephants have been rescues from zoos and circuses, so its a great place to see them happy and content!

If you cant live without your ironing, are impatient, and aren't laid back, then do not go to Thailand, and dont follow up with negative reviews.....

Barali Beach has it all - try it and you will find yourself pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Gracie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Actually there are places on Koh Chang, where you get more for your money:
The rooms & bungalows are quite nice and the resort is situated lovely (dont* care about food and service, because there are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby). Nevertheless we've not been very happy with our 3 nights stay there, because there is a big construction work at the resorts beach to save the beach from monsoon attacks. So actually there is no opportunity to lay on the beach at the resort and it's indeed not a nice view.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AnniSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

We fluked out and found this place. We walked off the street while staying at another resort. We wanted to be on the beach so we switched and were able to get a great rate, much lower than the posted rates. For the money, it was really a great deal. Very relaxing, fluid and calming for our last week in Thailand. After weeks of staying in the authentic bungalows, this was a little treat for us. The service is spectacular, the people are helpful and the food is good. I would definitely reccommend it and would go back there.

Anna

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank APCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.0 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
420 reviews
4.7 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
992 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
0.3 mi away
The Dewa Koh Chang
The Dewa Koh Chang
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barali Beach Resort

Address: 77 Moo 4 | Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $62 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barali Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barali Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing