We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place, great location and good service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barali Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barali Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming place, great location and good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for almost one full week on feb 2013. The resort is made up of a series of little bungalows and gives direct access to the beach. The ground are lush and very well cared for. Bug allows are a decent size, they are a bit dated but still in good condition. The bathrooms are large and have a tub, although like all hotels on Thai islands, the water pressure is so weak that it would take two hours to fill it making it not worth the bother. The pool was great, an infinity pool, with steps down to the beach. Breakfast was good and varied with both Thai and western food. We ate there for lunch and dinner a couple if times. The resto is lovely (on the beach), the food was really good but the prices are much higher than if you just stroll down the beach to a local restaurant. The service was really great and they really do their best to ensure that you have a good stay. Had a massage at the spa, also more expensive than outside but worth it as a treat! Only minus point is the costs for wifi which add up as you keep having to buy limited time vouchers. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place for a quiet getaway.

Tip: try to get a bungalow overlooking the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
32
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

This resort was a slice of heaven. It was beyond all our expectations of a quiet Thai island getaway. I have traveled for leisure and for business and stayed at so many places that I can not remember. This is the best resort I have ever had the pleasure of staying. It was like living the life of the rich and famous, neither of which we are. We were pampered, assisted and relaxed. Each day my husband and I continued to be impressed with the staff, amenities, location and property. Maybe since we were traveling on the off-season and the hotel was quiet, we did not have any of the issues listed by the traveler below. But then we usually do not choose to travel during high occupancy seasons. I highly recommend this resort. Enjoy .....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

After reading the positive reviews on trip advisor and ignoring the poor reviews, we booked this hotel for our 6 night stay on Koh Chang. Upon arrival, admittedly from the last flight from Bangkok, things were rather confused as the receptionist was trying to check-in 3 groups of people at the same time.
We got to our hut and were rather disappointed at just how tucked away it was, but thought it might seem better in the morning. There was no hot water in our room and so it was cold showers, we reported this to reception and they were quite offish and insisted that housekeeping would fix it. It never got fixed.
There was a buffet on our first night but we decided against it as the food was very accessible to flies and looked, to be brutally honest, rather horrible. So we had a drink and after a long wait for our bill, opted some very second rate room service instead. The plates were not taken from outside of our room until the afternoon of the next day.
For the duration of our two night stay the service was consistently poor, the food was inadequate / inedible and our room left rather dirty. It was very noisy at night and we did not feel secure and safe in our room. The safe was difficult to use and resulted in us giving up and carrying our important documents with us everywhere, not the best idea in any country!
After the second night we decided that having gone so far for our holiday we were not going to let a hotel experience spoil it for us... we went for a walk up the beach and subsequently moved out of Barali and into the exceptional Amari Emerald for only a little more money but a far more superior experience. If we had stayed at Barali I think we would have been left with a very negative view of Koh Chang.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eventer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, DK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Barali is a beautiful, nice little resort of high class, where you quickly feel at home and well treated. However, it is not a good choice with children over 3 years as they quickly get bored. Neighboring Tropicana resort is a far better choice for children, so we moved there with our children aged 6 and 9 years. And they loved Tropicana.

The rooms at Barali is a little small, but the terraces and the bathrooms are large.

The restaurant is beautiful and the most relaxing and peacefull on the wonderfull beach with sunset.

The village Klong Prao is a perfect choice, if your want a relaxed is a nice little town center on the coast. Here are around 20 different restaurants, 2 elephant places, a hospital, a clinic with a good English speaking doctor, good masseurs, a very prof. divingshop, cafees and not much more. One of the most relaxed towns on the island - with a wonderfull beach!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraCopenhagen_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Barali is ok, but does not deliver according to the price. The garden is lovely, restaurant serves delicious Thai dishes to a reasonable price and to a high standard. It’s quiet, clean and it’s easy to get a cab on the street a short walk from the hotel. The staff is polite and friendly but most of them lack language skills – not a big problem but a thought we probably missed out god possibilities since we couldn’t ask question on food, options or trips. The rooms are ok, but needs a refreshment. So does the pool area. If you want a sun bed you have to beat other guest to it – rice at dusk and occupy a pair with your towel – by nine a clock they’re all fully occupied. The aircon is noisy and either is freezing or moistly indoors – your better of by the pool or at the nice beach. Bring your on drinks though since the pool bar never has any staff attending. If you want something to drink you better walk over to the restaurant and make some fuzz to be noticed. Breakfast is ok, and the coffee is probably best option east of Bangkok. The SPA is really nice and since they got the idea of cutting prices fifty percent we just have to give it high recommendations. The beach is nice but at tide there is a walk for the waterfront.

Barali is with out a question a good option for couples and families, but make sure you get a better price than offered at internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aksell_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

OK it was monsoon season and it rained a lot, but when the sun came out this place was amazing! I had the beach and the infinity pool to myself most days (along with some puppys), the staff were friendly but not intrusive and the villas were lovely. A much better value option and more Thai in style than the neighbouring uber posh resorts such as Panviman, Tropicana and Amari Emerald Cove, the beach is much better at Barali too. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPKSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

i have stayed on koh chang many times now and have also stayed at this hotel a few times now...This time will be the last...Koh Chang is supposed to be a national park and all wildlife should be protected.. during our most recent stay my family were subjected to the murder of a baby Deer..My children were in tears at the sights and the sounds of this poor animals murder...If you love wildlife do not stay here..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaison1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.8 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.5 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
1.5 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barali Beach Resort

Property: Barali Beach Resort
Address: 77 Moo 4 | Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barali Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Barali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barali Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing