We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banpu Koh Chang Resort
Ranked #27 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 1 night. The location of this resort is excellent, right at the beach. Rooms were a bit small but clean. Staff were very courteous and service was good. Food was average and could have been better as compared to other resorts in the vicinity (we tried food at another resort). From the outset the resort looked good but not the case as you check-in. All in all an average resort (not value for money) as you can get better options in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepak_Nayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Banpu Koh Chang Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for one night with a friend.

Pros: Location is great on the beach, and near excellent seafood place across the road. Rooms have character, nice old wood style.

Cons: No Wifi: Have to pay 50B per 25 mins of internet. Rooms have very thin walls. Can hear everything in room next door. Staff very unfriendly. Breakfast finishes at 10am. If you arrive a minute late don't expect anything apart from a cup of instant coffee, not even a slice of bread.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smithcj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just read an earlier review slating this hotel and the actual bungalow I stayed in and cannot believe it!!!
I found this place a superb place to stay and what tremendous value to boot.
Room 200 is where I stayed and it was spotless and well presented. Air con was efficient, faultless and has quiet setting for the night. Bed was really comfy and massive with clean sheets every day!! The cleaners do a brilliant job.
Bathroom beautiful with nice shower cubicle,vanity unit, selection of shampoos etc, and the great shower type loo!!haha..
T.V, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge mini bar, hairdryer, safe box...everything!!
Little verandah to the front overlooking the tropical gardens and a slight sea view...shielded from any noisy pool activity,,very peacfull.
I stayed for four nights in the rainy season and had fantastic weather with the occasional refreshing rain shower. Right on the beach with access to all the lovely bars and restaurants.
Pool area is excellent, clean with super views, free towels, pool bar and restaurant serving cocktails and nice snacks.
Breakfast buffet very good with fruit, toaster, Thai, English and Continental food to choose from and eggs and omlettes cooked fresh to order...all lovely.
Large lounge reception area with books and press to relax in.

Cost me about £115.00 for four nights inclusive...brilliant value!!

Anyone who is not satisfied with this place has got to lead a very high lifestyle back home...

Room Tip: Room 200 was a great choice for me
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Testarossa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach made up of little bungalows and some 3 level rooms. Bit taken aback to be met by the lady boys but everyone was friendly and staff eager to help. Hotel is on main road on White Sands do easy to find eating places. Dining area mix of open or under cover which is needed if it rains. Pool is well looked after with pool towels supplied do easy choice of either the sea which is like a warm bath or pool. Surrounding gardens beautiful. Only disappointment is no free wifi and having travelled and stayed in 11 hotels on this trip this was first where this is the case so come on it is not a big fist!! Even a bus in Cambodia had wick!

Room Tip: All are good locations
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is nicely laid out with lots of trees, flowers, and greenery in between the wooden bungalows and other buildings. The view from the pool area over the sea with the amazing sunsets is nothing but great. On the south end of the White sand beach I could not spot a more cozy place to stay. The service is also excellent with very helpful staff and a restaurant that serves delicious food. We did have a very nice time and the place definately has the potential to be an excellent resort. Unfortunately, the overbooking problems that previous reviewers have mentioned forced us to move from a fantastic seaview bungalow to a the bunker-style family room for the final four days. And the lenghty mail and phone conversations we had to go through before our stay lowers the rating. A few minor things that also affected our overall experience; the mandatory new years dinner was a bit too expensive for what you got, and the beach is actually a bit better at the north end of White sand beach. Nevertheless, if the hotel can handle the bookings better I think that this is one of the best places at White sand beach.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview bungalow.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

On our 3 week trip through Thailand as a couple we planned to stay one week on Koh Chang. Although we planned to travel rather cheap and to stay in Guesthouses instead of fancy resorts we decided to add something special to our trip. We wanted to stay at a real cool beach bungalow for 3 nights and so we did not care much about the price. For 3 nights we payed 13.500 baht (6.750 in advance).

So far so good - after we arrived at the Banpu we had the first disappointing expierience. Instead of getting one of the beachfront bungalows we were assigned to the only one in the back of the garden with almost no beach view and a really bad interior design. The linens were dirty and ripped. The towels were clean - but also ripped and really old. This would have been still acceptable since we are not used to high comfort resorts, but still very disappointing for the high price. The real shock was the moldy, unbearable, terrible smell in the whole bungalow.

We immediatly wanted to change the room but the very unfriendly staffperson told us that this was not possible since the resort was fully booked.

On the next day we were still really disappointed so we were happy as hell after one of the staffpersons told us that we could move to one of the beachfront bungalows. But it only got worse. The smell was indeed as bad a as in the first room (if not worse). During the night we found a bloodstench on the linen which was not caused by us and at last the aircondition broke down. It was not a malfunction - it really broke down and lost about 4 liters of water.

After all we slept 4 hours on the balcony and were bitten by mosquitos all over. On the next day we checked out one night earlier and i had to discuss with the manager via phone because i refused to pay for the last night.

So: STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: Stay away especially from Room 200!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xDCMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at Banpu Koh Chang for 5 days in November 2012...........it is in a great location, right on the beach; the staff were friendly and helpful, food was pretty good, lovely fresh papaya on the breakfast buffet every day..........I had an upstairs room in the main block and the room was a little bit dull and quite warm (the air-con was not very efficient) that has kept my review to 4 stars, I think that one of the bungalows would be preferable

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Chang
0.3 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#48 of 73 in Ko Chang
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mac Resort Hotel
Mac Resort Hotel
#60 of 73 in Ko Chang
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Beachfront Resort
Apple Beachfront Resort
#44 of 121 in Ko Chang
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koh Chang Grand View Resort
0.2 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#31 of 73 in Ko Chang
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Erawan Koh Chang
The Erawan Koh Chang
#2 of 107 in Ko Chang
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banpu Koh Chang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banpu Koh Chang Resort

Address: 9/11 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range: $34 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banpu Koh Chang Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Banpu Koh Chang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banpu Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing