We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$30
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
$48
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$19
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
68
95
38
24
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
95
38
24
23
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 248 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

On our 3 week trip through Thailand as a couple we planned to stay one week on Koh Chang. Although we planned to travel rather cheap and to stay in Guesthouses instead of fancy resorts we decided to add something special to our trip. We wanted to stay at a real cool beach bungalow for 3 nights and so we did not care much about the price. For 3 nights we payed 13.500 baht (6.750 in advance).

So far so good - after we arrived at the Banpu we had the first disappointing expierience. Instead of getting one of the beachfront bungalows we were assigned to the only one in the back of the garden with almost no beach view and a really bad interior design. The linens were dirty and ripped. The towels were clean - but also ripped and really old. This would have been still acceptable since we are not used to high comfort resorts, but still very disappointing for the high price. The real shock was the moldy, unbearable, terrible smell in the whole bungalow.

We immediatly wanted to change the room but the very unfriendly staffperson told us that this was not possible since the resort was fully booked.

On the next day we were still really disappointed so we were happy as hell after one of the staffpersons told us that we could move to one of the beachfront bungalows. But it only got worse. The smell was indeed as bad a as in the first room (if not worse). During the night we found a bloodstench on the linen which was not caused by us and at last the aircondition broke down. It was not a malfunction - it really broke down and lost about 4 liters of water.

After all we slept 4 hours on the balcony and were bitten by mosquitos all over. On the next day we checked out one night earlier and i had to discuss with the manager via phone because i refused to pay for the last night.

So: STAY AWAY!!!

Room tip: Stay away especially from Room 200!!!
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xDCMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at Banpu Koh Chang for 5 days in November 2012...........it is in a great location, right on the beach; the staff were friendly and helpful, food was pretty good, lovely fresh papaya on the breakfast buffet every day..........I had an upstairs room in the main block and the room was a little bit dull and quite warm (the air-con was not very efficient) that has kept my review to 4 stars, I think that one of the bungalows would be preferable

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This resort is the perfect place to stay in Koh Chang as it is located in the center of the "city" with every service supply within short distance. The resort is a tropical garden containing bungalows and a pool down to the beach. At the beach you can relax in the chairs while having drinks an food if you do not prefer to enjoy the waves and the sea. Walking up the beach is a beautiful experience. The rooms are nice with verandas and there is a good breakfast. Staff is frienly.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerC163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Banpu and it was a very comfortable place to stay. For about $50 (Australian dollars) per night we were provided with a motel type room which was more than adequate for our stay. Breakfast was included in this price. The staff were very friendly and we met some great people who also stayed at the hotel. The grounds are lush and tropical and the pool was great. It's position right on the beach front was perfect for those lazy afternoons lying back on the lounges enjoying a cold drink. We are returning next year and will be staying at Banpu.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strongman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The staff met us daily with a smile. The hotel restaurant with a wonderful view had great thai food and the suite was clean and comfortable. Walking up and down white sands my husband and I could easily see how Banpu differentiated itself with its unique beach location, personal style and the whole facility is a beautiful. garden. Way to expensive wifi (this is general for all hotels at white sands). Wierd because closeby restaurants has free wifi if you buy a drink.

Room tip: make sure to book as close to the beach as possible
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews