We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a first class very high quality resort in a private bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
bangkok
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a first class very high quality resort in a private bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

When we first went we were given 2 butlers to attend to our needs!!
Afteroon tea served in your beachfront bungalow, exquisite food in the glass beachfront pavilion.
We even wrwe present for the Miss Thailand competition final once. Have been 3 times. It is uniquely classy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petethepistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Petehepi..,
Good day from Koh Chang

Thank you for taking the time to express your kind 5* Star feedback about your recent stay at FuramaXclusive Resort & Spa, Aiyapura Koh Chang.

I am delighted to read that your stay with us was amazing and impressed with the service provided by our well trained staff. Thank you also for the wonderful comments about our Food and Service at Vimarn Kaew our Beach Front Restaurant. I will pass along your praises to our culinary and service team.

Last but not least, Once again, thank you for your visit and we do hope you will return to Koh Chang and to our resort for your future holidays.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager, FuramaXclusive Resort & Spa, Aiyapura Koh Chang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    98
    49
    16
    16
See reviews for
78
136
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
283 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is the place to come if you want a relaxing resort, far from the maddening crowd. The grounds are enormous and they have a variety of accommodation. The villas are very well spaced out, so very private and a few different types are available (some with their own plunge pool). However we stayed in a standard room-for 3 nights, in a low rise block, on top of the hill. These rooms were lovely and spacious with big bathrooms and a walk-in shower and separate bath. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the room equipped with everything you'd expect. There was a large balcony to sit and enjoy the sea views and breezes (all rooms have seaviews). We also found these rooms quiet. At night the staff would bring you chocolates and put an oil burner on the scent the room-a nice touch.
Generally the service was really friendly and good but there were a couple of times it needed improvement, for example, at breakfast they could be slow to replenish your tea/coffee, on the 1st day at breakfast no one told us there was a room next to the restaurant full of food, we only saw the small selection in the main restaurant and thought that was it (until the 2nd day), they were very slow to clear plates at the buffet, there were never enough towels by the pool and sometime food orders took a very long time to come. But the service was very good really, especially the reception people were very helpful.
The resort has a pool with a great view of the sea they also have free bikes and kayaks (make sure you paddle across the bay as it is beautiful). Yes it is not the nicest beach (swimming at high tide is good) and the beach chairs are old and grubby, but the setting is so nice you can overlook that. Some of the grounds look a bit neglected, with a lot of weeds and some parts are a bit old, but overall it's fine. The rooms are very well-maintained. I had some great food and some very average food. Breakfast was actually quite good.
The resort offers a free shuttle to white sand beach (the nearest town) 4 times per day (around 11,2,5 &7) but the times were not always ,convenient. If you went in for dinner you would need to get a local taxi back (around 100b per person). They will also take you to the ferry port for no charge.
The resort has just been taken over by Furama so they may have improvment plans for it but I would definitely stay here again as it was a very pleasant& lovely place. I would recommend the resort for families and couples but not for those who need to be near the action or need nightlife

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Globerwal,
Good day from Koh Chang,

First of all, thank you most sincerely for taking the time to give your comments on your recent stay with us at FuramaXclusive Resort & Spa, Aiyapura Koh Chang (Formerly Aiyapura Resort & Spa). We always appreciate having our guests bring to our attention, as you have done, for our further improvements.

On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you had overall enjoyed stay with us and especially impressed with service provided by our well trained staff.

The points you have raised are being given due attention as we constantly strive to rectify our shortcomings and find better ways to meet guest expectations and serve you better.

Last but not least, We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you again with the world-renowned tradition of Thai hospitality.

Sincerely yours,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager, FuramaXclusive Resort & Spa, Aiyapura Koh Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had a three day conference at this beautiful place. Me & nearly 70 other colleagues from all a cross the globe attended this meeting. It was a great experience which i would remember for the rest of my life.
excellent service: especially chaiwat & eh very cordial & helpful.
the resort is spread over a large area of about nearly 1.5 km x2 km. has its own private seashore. It has a submerged pool-bar. One finds lots of peacocks running around the landscaped gardens
the resort has private pool villas, oriental villas, standard & delux rooms. the resort also offers a great spa service. it a great place to just chill away from the crowds....your own space in the pristine island of koh chang!

Room Tip: room no 001 is the best oriental villa with a fabulous bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pankaj078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Mr. Pankaj,
Good day from Koh Chang,

Thank you for taking the time to express your kind 5* Star feedback about your recent stay at Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang. I am delighted to read that your stay with us was amazing and that all our staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you also for the wonderful comments about our service and Hotel location. I will pass along your praises to our entire team.

Last but not least, We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you and your colleagues again with the world-renowned tradition of Thai hospitality.

Sincerely yours,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager, Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel is lovely hotel in extensive grounds with Bali style and other buildings all contributing to a great atmosphere. The villas are well spaced out and even when in a standard room you never get the feeling of being on top of each other. The grounds are big enough to have a jogging track at the back and even a jungle walk. There are also a couple of short piers into the sea. Excellent views over the bay and to some of the other islands. The sea in front is a bit shallow and the tide does go out some way but the water is still good for swimming at high tide and my friends said the swimming was excellent though I didn't try it myself. For those who prefer the pool, the hotel pool was also looked good. The hotel is about a kilometre from the main road and and although there are some other buildings between the road and the hotel, the hotel is at the end of the road so you never get bothered by outsiders. This is wonderful for those like us who love peace and quiet but if you want the night life and 'excitement' then this hotel is probably not for you. Helps as well if you have a car, as we did, but for those who don't there is a hotel minibus to White Sands Beach a few times a day and the hotel also rents motorbikes and also has free mountain bikes and kayaks for the energetic.
Rooms were comfortable with all the necessaries. Comfortable mattresses. Nearly all the rooms had at least a reasonable view and most had balconies or verandahs. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful and informative,
Food at breakfast was brilliant, an excellent range of both hot and cold dishes of which around half the items were changed daily so we never got bored. Great views from the breakfast terrace as well. There is also a restaurant right by the beach which we tried one evening and were pleasantly surprised by the quality. Prices were not cheap but OK for a top Thai resort hotel.
Downside was that internet access was not cheap but at least it was available.

Room Tip: Unless you particularly want a villa, the standard rooms are absolutely fine, and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Mr.Arthurrvr,
Good day from Koh Chang

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang. Indeed the resort is perfect for people who wanting peace and tranquility.
It is always a great pleasure to read through notes such as yours, for they help us in our continued effort to see to each and every need of our valued guests. I will be certain to share your compliments with our team including Housekeeping for their efficient service and others across the resort for providing enjoyment and total relaxation in meeting the guests’ needs, Chef Kung and his culinary team for delighting with each dish served and lastly.

Once again, thank you for your visit and we do hope you will return to Koh Chang and to our resort for your future holidays.

With kind regards,

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager, Aiyapura Resort & Spa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Nice, clean rooms - no bugs! The pool was nice, but the 'beach' is a bit odd. Either you love it or you hate it.

Friendly staff, excellent service! We had to amend our hotel bookings and reserve a dentist appointment - the reception attendant took care of both things in Thai - brilliant!

The hotel is a bit far away from White Sands Beach, but the hotel offers a shuttle service for free and/or you can rent a scooter from the Beach.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poytatennaajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear Sir & Madam,
Good Day from Koh Chang,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your kind feedback regarding your stay with us at Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang, It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you get the chance to come back and visit us again soon.

Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager, Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

the resort is beautiful, but a little secluded. The grounds of the resort is impressive the pool is very nice.
Like- the service was very good the people at the front desk are very courteous and professional. Anything we have asked the went above and beyond to fulfill. The rooms are very nice , they have a outdoor shower which is always fun.
dislike- you cannot swim at the ocean the water is not nice, pretty muddy, which is always disappointed for a beach resort. the resort is PERFECT for people who want quite or couples who are not interested in party bars, or any night life. It is terrible for families with kids because its far away and there is not a lot of activities in the low season. i must say that the restaurant was disappointing as well. but overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liadamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear Sir & Madam,
Good Day from Koh Chang,

Thank you for your positive comments. Indeed the resort is perfect for people wanting peace and tranquility. Sadly at this time of year the low tide is in the morning (the opposite to high season) which makes swimming even more difficult. We will take on board your disappointment with the restaurant. Our aim is that we maintain standards in all areas of our service - even in the low season. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to be of service to you again in the near future

Best regards
Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager, Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

The resort is very isolated at the end of a road. There are no other hotels nearby and you need a car or some kind of transportation to get to any alternative restaurants. The bicycles provided do not really help as the road is quite hilly (and the climate is hot...). The rooms are nicely decorated but once you enter the bathroom you realize that the hotel is not new. The villa rooms are quite small and you can hardly fit an extra bed. The standard double was a lot bigger!
Because of the location it´s then important what the hotel offers. Well, if you are in for a spa it looks nice (we didn´t try it) but the prices are a lot higher than other spas around, the restaurant at the beach is ok but quite boring, the breakfast is sub-standard for a hotel in this price range. No shopping...
The pool area and the play area along the beach are actually very nice but the beach in itself is not really what you dream about when you go to a tropical island, muddy and not swimmable. The bad thing about the pool is a very personal experience. My camera "disappeared" from the pool bar while I was playing with the children in the pool. These things do of course happen but the 1 point in service for this resort is rewarded because of how the issue was handled by the management.

Room Tip: 2 of the normal villas have a small pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matjesill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Aiyapura Koh Chang, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Sir,
Good day from Koh Chang,

We appreciate your feedback. Aiyapura Resort & Spa appeals most to people looking for a private location away from the bustle of the tourist areas. If you read the many reviews in Trip Advisor you will see that the beach is not the primary factor for booking, but people appreciate the beautiful views of the lagoon and the mountains, and our extensive gardens. Our hotel is now 9 years old - but designed in a traditional style rather than as a chic boutique hotel, and we have rooms and villas of different size and design. Again, I cannot be more apologetic for the fact your camera could not be found, we have reviewed how we will deal with such (and I'm sad to say 'rare') occurrences in the future. I am sorry If you feel we handled the situation badly. It is always difficult to assume that staffs have been dishonest where there is no previous history of this before, but we have put policies in place to log when people leave valuables unattended, and have put up new signs asking people to be aware of the risk.

Best regards
Chaiwat Piriyapada
General Manager, Aiyapura Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
9.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
6.3 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
10.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aiyapura Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aiyapura Koh Chang

Property: The Aiyapura Koh Chang
Address: 29 Moo 3 | Klong Son Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Aiyapura Resort & Spa Koh Chang)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#16 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aiyapura Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Pet Friendly Resort- Situated in the Gulf of Thailand is a tropical island paradise, affectionately called Koh Chang or in English, Elephant Island. Koh Chang is the second largest island (429 square kilometres) in Thailand after Phuket. Despite its size Koh Chang is quite undeveloped. It is a picturesque island of virgin rainforest, untracked jungles, high mountains, spectacular coastlines, fine white sandy beaches, clear blue sea, colourful corals, breathtaking waterfalls and an abundance of marine life. Aiyapura Resort & Spa Koh Chang is an independent hotel located on a forty acre beach-front property in Klong Son Bay. Beautiful Thai style villas and suites are surrounded by green tropical gardens with ocean views, set around a large 30 metre leaf shaped swimming pool. We offer the perfect natural environment for rest and relaxation, and a well-located base to explore all the activities Koh Chang has to offer. Koh Chang can be reached from Bangkok by direct flight in only 45 minutes, or in 5 hours by car or the hotel van service.Only 5 minutes from the ferry pier (many high end resorts are up to 1 hour from the pier) and White Sand Beach is easily accessible with the hotel shuttle bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aiyapura Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiyapura Resort And Spa
Aiyapura Resort Koh Chang
Aiyapura Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing