We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week. Spacious room, enjoyed the seating area and balcony attached. Room was clean and the housekeeping was very good.
Staff in the restaurants were of a high standard. The breakfast staff were very polite when dealing with rude and difficult guests mainly east Europeans. Anyone staying at this resort should definitely eat at the Just Thai and Sassy Restaurants on site. The 1st night it was raining so we decided to eat in, next 2 nights we went to other restaurants locally and consulted the trip advisor for reviews. Neither of the ones we chose reached anywhere near the standard and quality of food and service as the Amari and yet the bills were very similar. Normally we do not eat at the hotels where we stay when travelling so this was the exception we thought why go out and pay the same and be disappointed so we ate in for the other nights of our stay. Enjoyed the happy hour around the pool each day though the pool attendants could have been a bit more active in collecting towels and wiping down sun loungers and tables after the rain. Plenty of sun loungers for all either facing the pool or the sea. Very enjoyable stay and great timeout holiday would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay on Koh Chang.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon, and it was an absolutely beautiful place to be.

On check-in we were shown to the wrong room (garden-view rather than ocean-view), but the staff acted promptly when we alerted them of this, and we were upgraded to a suite for our entire stay. The suites are huge, and have a separate living area and two balconies, as well as gorgeous views of the water. We were also given some sparkling wine and a 'congratulations' cake, which we enjoyed on the balcony overlooking the pool.

The pool is lovely, and the beach here is very good for swimming. We rented kayaks from the resort to paddle to some of the islands in front of the resort, which are great snorkelling spots. We also went to the Breeze Spa a few times, and their massages are truly fantastic. The food at the resort is good, but there are also a number of restaurants right on the beach within a few hundred metres of the resort.

We thought the staff here were excellent -- very attentive, genuine and helpful -- and we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in the low season. Great facilities but let down by the management's attitude and pettiness. This marred our visit. All other staff were excellent. Didn't get the upgrade TripAdvisor offered & a lot of variety in room costs - from 5000 baht for 1 night to 7899 baht for 3 nights so look around. This was at the end of a 2 week backpacking trip so we were ready for some luxury aka hot water! Not a great place to meet people - hostels are more fun! Great for peace & quiet and the pool was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Emerald Cove in august 2013 for only 4 days. But 4 days never to forget!

On arrival our rooms were not ready (despite our request to check in early). But straightaway the apologies from the guest relations lady. We were offered drinks en some food and the ability to change so the kids could go in to the swimming pool.

The pool staff and breakfast ladies are so kind. A lot of people give them a hard time (especially some Russian guests) but they just keep on smiling and try to do their best. Very professional!

Compliments to Mrs Punthida from front office, she really was the best host we can imagine. During our stay she helped us out with taxi's, sites to visit and advised great restaurants in the area.

Hopefully we are able to come back to stay at the Emerald Cove again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartBlikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I spent 6 nights here last week, the resort is beautiful but I would not rate it 5 stars (even if there are a lot of services, including towels and bag for the beach...). I think some maintenance is needed (trees in the garden, air conditioning, TV, ... and there must be a way to clean the original bathroom doors!). The "private" beach is small, but the Klong Prao beach is huge and very nice.
The swimming pool of the resort is wonderful and breakfast is good.
P.S. August is absolutely not the right season there... we had bad weather for three days on a row!

Room Tip: "Ocean facing rooms" only have the sea in front, those on the ground floor can have people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuVagabonda64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just got back from Thailand where we spent 4 nights at the Amari hotel on Koh Chang. Can't fault the place, great location and facilities. Friendly staff and clean and well maintained rooms.
We stayed in the low season and had complimentary spas! There is a 50m pool right next to the beach, great to cool down or exercise in. I had my birthday during the stay and the management organised a tasty cake and birthday card. It's the small things that make a difference and Amari ticks all the boxes, great value for money. We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at deluxe room ; bed and all facilities of hotel were so comfortable and convenient. Hotel has own beach. In my likest of this hotel it is a swimming pool which opens 24 hrs nearby beach. All hotel areas and rooms were very clean. I spent there 2 nights until my last days at here I wanted to extend my short vacation. Breakfast is as hotel standard... it 's ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.1 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,037 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
1.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.1 mi away
The Dewa Koh Chang
The Dewa Koh Chang
#3 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $85 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand's best-kept island secrets, at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing