We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run, great kitchen and staff, beautiful private beach. Less character due to its size.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well run, great kitchen and staff, beautiful private beach. Less character due to its size.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you're used to small boutique hotels with a character (like us), this hotel will be overwhelming, due to its size, catered to the masses. After our first night however, the friendly staff, excellent kitchen and beutifull private beach made us extend our stay with two more nights.

We've had mixed experiences with the front desk staff. Our last minute booking totally freaked out the receptionists which did not make us feel welcome. Our request to extend our stay for thesame low rate was however granted with a welcoming smile. Things went very wrong on our check out on august 14th, we were advised by front desk receptionist thippawan to leave the hotel at three o clock the latest in order to be able to catch the ferry on time and get a van to bkk airport. We therefore cut off our last day of vacation, had our lunch in the spa to save time and asked her, upon her advice, to order a 'taxi' for 70 baht at three o clock. The taxi arrived 25 minutes late. When questioned, Thippawan first tried to turn our story around by saying we had turned down an earlier cab at 14.15. Finally, she explained that our cab was a tongsew, and not a private one and therefore a fixed time of departure could never be guaranteed. When confronted, she agreed that she should have informed us beforehand and not afterwards of the various means of transportation and the specifics of each. When we asked if we would now still be able to catch ourferry, the answer was no, as the ferry would leave at 15.45. This really upset us. We asked for a solution, ie a transfer offered by the hotel,but this was not offered. We finally got into our tongsew, and believe it or not, we made it on timeat the pier where the boat only would leave at 16.00. Frustratingly, we saw an empty Amari van that had also just arrived from the hotel. All this stress could have been avoided if the reception would have the correct information about the ferry times, not have rushed us without a reason, provide us with the optionof a van, and inform us upfront about the fact that tongsews do not have a guaranteed time of departure.
All in all, a sad end of a great stay at the Amari hotel, which was however a little daunting at first due to the many russian and israeli guests (which means: fight for your right at the breakfast buffet).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaiteOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    280
    78
    19
    10
See reviews for
251
510
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sohar, Oman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After 11 delightful days on the Amari Koh Chang( Thailand) I would recommend this resort to any one who wants to have some excellent time away from the daily stress. Situated on the, not so touristy island of Koh Chang, both the resort and the island it self gives a relaxing time for adults and children of all ages. The Amari staff are on the top of the game, helpful in any way you need it. As we where there in the off season, the hotel, was like "our" home, and especially the head chef and his staff made our trip/stay very satisfying and great for all ages. The resort it self has a great 50 m pool and two smaller pools for kids to use. The resort is situated directly on the beach which offers a great swim ( if the weather holds up) and kayaking opportunities. The room we (a family of 4) had ordered where spacious and well equipped with TV and cable channels for everyone to enjoy. The restaurants offer a good variety of food from Thai to Italian and the morning buffet was to every ones liking. On minus though is that the beach at time can be very filthy from the rubbish that that flushes up on the beach at tide. The staff tries to clean it, but is is a loosing battle (sometimes). Our over all experience is a very good hotel for the family that is looking for relaxation, as Koh Chang has not much other to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area or inner court gives the best view. Rooms on the higher floors have a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a lovely resort. It is well maintained and the pool is lovely. The rooms are big and spacious. We had a sea view and it was beautiful. The staff at the front desk and the restaurant are very nice and speak good English.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travebunny_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samut Prakan, Samut Prakan, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

6 years agoo i was lat time in AMARI KOH CHANG,
but ther was 100% no chnage no renovation nothing
the location .. hmm this place has seen better time

breakfast is ok and good
staff almost friendly
overpriced for the location
rooms unchangedd stell a 50 cm TF TUBE inside
bad smell in the non smoking room in almost all the rooms what i have seen
bad small from aircon
the maanagement heve to think about some renovation otherwise amari will craack down same as many other hotels in KOH CHANG

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walfried R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have stayed here twice now. On our first night My partner had a fall as she was trapped in there lift doors and happened to drop ice cream and apple pie. We were stuck in the 3rd floor in the furtherest away room from the lift. I called for help. The cleaner had cleaned the mess with a wet mop however she also cleaned the floor inside the lift so on explanation to what happened with no wet floor sign up she fell again. We receieved an ice back. Next morning we had to go to hospital; where she now will be operated on her knee and possible back. Nothing at all from the manager except a card saying sorry for your inconvienience. We charge £5 for chocolate as she couldnt reach a shop. Also management blamed her for the fall and said injurie occured before our stay. At 5pm that night before the accident she has a full body scrub and massage where I'm sure they would notice a near broken leg and back damage dont you. I will never be back and infact have written to the president of The Amari as I always stay with them where ever I go. Discusting treatment. The GM is ignorant aroggant and very rude. I will never be back here as for happy hour you dont so much as get a peanut with your cocktail,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LauraFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Ms. Fleming,

Thank you very much for your comment.

At Amari, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, because of that we have also taken your case very serious at any time, including providing from our side the support bringing you by our own transport and on our own cost to the hospital for a check - which we also have recommended to you several times.

It is not about emotions or something personal, it’s about facts, which have been shown during and after the investigation via CCTV camera to you:

1. The elevator is well maintained and has opened and closed perfectly within the standart timing.
2. It was further shown, that my team has given you a helping hand at the moment when you have snapped with your injured ankle and the resort is not to be blamed at any time for this.

For a further follow up I certainly will continue to support to clarify in a very serious way and based on the shown and given facts.

Thank you very much and we hope you will get well soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
193 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just couldn't leave this hotel, so we changed our plans.
Great hotel with the best service.
A very lovely and clean hotel. Good breakfast and very good food in the hotel-restaurants.
We took the cooking-class and learned to make thai-food; great!
The pool is big and the beach is nice. Comfortable beds outside, and always clean and dry towels.
We also used the spa several times. Comfortable and good quality massage!
We will highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had a superiorroom with a garden view. Big room with a kingsize bed, extra bed and sofa. Good spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solvang446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Amari Emerald Cove two times now, the first was for our honeymoon in February 2010 and we went back a second time bringing our parents along for the journey in November 2011. The Amari is the best 5 star resort in Koh Chang. From the moment we arrived at Trat Airport, we were greeted by a driver with a friendly face who offers us a cool towel and refreshing drink as we drive to the pier to catch the ferry. When we arrived at the hotel, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are fantastic, clean and the perfect place to stay. The restaurant staff and SPA staff are extremely friendly and helpful and also remembered us from our last visit which is always nice! The manager walked past us in the reception area and offered to take a photo of our group which was a nice touch.

The Amari pool is not that big but the atmosphere is nice, the bar by the pool is great and the staff are very good with taking orders and bringing it to you on your sun lounger :-)

The beach directly in front of the Amari is not much of a beach, however within 10-20 meters is a long stretch of beach with lots of restaurants and other resorts also to enjoy.

The restaurant food is fantastic, I would recommend the 5 course private dining on the beach that the hotel offers as it is very romantic and a perfect way to begin or end your holiday :-) Hotel prices are fairly reasonable given it is a 5 star resort and they have happy hour everyday which is 2 for 1!

The only downside we have ever had was with the wifi connection to the room (it didnt work on one of our stays) we had paid in advance for this as part of our room package and they told us it was an issue with their server on the island and that it couldn't be fixed (we were not offered a refund or compensation of any kind - but we didnt ask for it either) Not a big deal as the only reason we needed the wifi was to check our work emails !! It was a good excuse not to work in the end....

All in all we would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetonaJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.1 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
971 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.4 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Cove Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Cove Koh Chang

Property: The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Address: 88 / 8 Moo 4, Tambol Koh Chang | Amphur, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Emerald Cove Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wild beauty and peaceful setting of Koh Chang, one of Thailand's best-kept island secrets, at The Emerald Cove Koh Chang. This five-star Koh Chang resort on set on secluded Klong Prao Beach offers 165 rooms and suites, all with views of either the sea to the west or the jungle-covered hills to the east. While the soothing modern Thai interiors of the rooms and suites tempt you to relax inside, Koh Chang adventures await just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emerald Cove Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Emerald Cove Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Amari Emerald Cove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing