We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mick 2”

Monkeys Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 232 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Bar, European, Asian, Thai, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Monkeys Restaurant & Bar offers you a wide choice of homemade meals - well known western dishes,steaks, pastas, Mexican,chicken dishes, Thai, Cambodian & our famous Monkey Burger. We have clean, comfy surrounds with a relaxed atmosphere. We have free Wi Fi, free pool table, live English Premiership football, puzzles and quiz nights.Our waiting staff speak reasonable English and will try their best to give you good service.We welcome singles, couples and families We are located in the middle of White Sands Beach Resort.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mick 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Really social guy and helpful when it comes to guidance when it comes to the locals. He also knows his football. Food was good and fresh and drinks where perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MYazd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick D, Owner at Monkeys Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi this is Mick 1.I was away in Khon Khaen during your visit to our restauarnt, the small matter of my wife having our 1st baby. I`m delighted you thought our food was `good, fresh and the drinks perfect`. As for Mick 2 well he is my business partner, best friend and together we really do want our customers to have a nice time. We both love football and now Mick 2 can relax since Aston Villa avoided relegation....but I`ll have to wait until next season to see if Leicester City can get promoted :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    76
    39
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best bar in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean and well run, friendly staff good atmosphere. Shows sports on tv did not try the food but has a mixed menu for all, priced ok.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kookaddski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Raw chicken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We ate here not long ago and whilst the place has a lively vibe and the prices are reasonable we were very disappointed with the food. My husband and brother ordered the kebab which had obviously been pan fried and not bbq'd as described. The sauce was also not as described at all and the veggies were barely cooked. The last 2 pieces of chicken meat my husband cut into were completely raw and he was poorly that night and and all the next day. When we complained we didn't even get an apology. It's incredibly dangerous to serve up raw chicken and I'm so glad that I didn't eat anything here as I'm 6 months pregnant! Beware.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flot1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick D, Owner at Monkeys Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
You`re right "Raw chicken is incredibly dangerous". I will tell my wife and one of my waitresses who eat here everyday and often a dish with chicken in it.....and who are both 8 and 7 months pregnant respectively. You`re also probably right that you "didn`t get an apology" after you complained. As any customer or friend that knows myself, Mick 2 or any of my staff will testify that although we work 7 days a week, we don`t put our heart and soul into our work, and so therefore we are completely insensitive to any complaints recieved from customers. However we do have a sense of humour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant food in a friendly atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My family and i went in for a drink one night and got talking to the owners Mick 1 and Mick 2...we were so impressed with friendliness shown by them that we decided to go back with our friends from Australia a couple of nights later. The place was spotless clean and the food was great at a very reasonable rate and yet again both Micks were always on hand for a chat and a laugh even playing Connect 4 with the kids!! The one thing that stood out at this restaurant was how the owners really worked hard in wanting you to feel at home with little puzzles and games left out for the kids to play with and were always wanting to join in for a laugh with everyone!! Highly recommend trying out Monkeys if your in Koh Chang!! Chok Dee to Mick 1 and 2 and all the staff!! From The McGowans

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick D, Owner at Monkeys Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It was a great pleasure seeing you and your family Paul. Me and Mick 2 do try hard to make sure everyone feels very welcome at Monkeys including kids (even though I refuse to lose at Connect 4 :-) )....anyway its good practice for me with my wife having our 1st baby next month.

We hope to see you again and all the best for Daniel with his Muay Thai career.
Mick 1 & Mick 2
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Monkeys bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

You must try Monkeys Bar..... It's the best

A must go

Excellent staff, excellent food, Mick & Mick are good fun

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick D, Owner at Monkeys Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Google Translation
Jag är så glad att läsa era vänliga ord. Från mitt hjärta tack så mycket. Vi har många underbara kunder från Sverige. På julafton hade vi ett strömavbrott på kvällen i 2 timmar. Men efter att vi tände ljus en tabell över 16 svenska kunder sjöng sånger och det var en fantastisk kväll.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeys Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Monkeys Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing