We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Reggae Bar/ Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riddim Shack, Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Riddim Shack, Bar and Grill
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Riddim Shack is a reggae bar, rasta-rant and chill out. Cooking a selection of Caribbean food, serving cold beer, cocktails.We open at 12 noon and close when we're done, sometimes still partying at dawn!!! Riddim Shack was born 1 December 2011, it was a dream that started many years ago.See you soon
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
“Best Reggae Bar/ Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

If we come to Ko Chang, the Riddim Shack is the one thing we're definitley going for dinner! Everything is super fresh and suuper nice! We love ot here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonasLore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very small and basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food here is very basic and there was a local drunk who was very off putting and intrusive to our space. We were told he is in there a lot.There is only one thing on the menu jerk chicken. When we asked for drinks the only thing we could get was rum punch or beer. Don't know how this is ranked number one for food in koh Chang there are plenty other restaurants in koh Chang that are far far better. The owner was nice and gave us some tips for things to do.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 989emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RastaDaveRiddim, Owner at Riddim Shack, Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear 989emma,
I can only apologise for you visit to Riddim Shack.
It is low season now and as the food we cook has to be fresh, it is bought and cooked to order. The 'drunk' man you spoke of has now been asked not to return as he was changing the atmosphere here.
I hope should you return to Koh Chang you will try us again.
Thank you for your feedback it's things like this that will help us in the future.
David
Owner of Riddim Shack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Davids riddim shack is the best bar on the island, no doubt about that. He's always very nice and friendly and playing his reggae riddims. After we discovered him at kai bae walking street we went back every night for a couple of beers and cocktails.
Thanks David for everything
L&T

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EricThCartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
1 review
“Top, top, top!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

One of the best chickens of whole Koh Chang. And à very, very Nice owner, David! You must visit this bar!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantaldv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, great host, great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were recommended going to the Riddim shack from someone we met on the ferry. I am so glad we tracked the place down.
David is a fabulous host and made us welcome immediately. He cooked us some Jerk chicken and we were so impressed we went back the following day. The rum punch is a bit lethal, but that's a good thing ;-)
It was so nice to meet someone on the island that is English and was able to point us in the right direction regarding elephant trekking (which he even booked for us) and other pointers about being in Thailand.
Make sure you visit!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorianrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riddim Shack, Bar and Grill also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang Tai, Ko Chang
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing