We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Perm Poon Sub Boat Trips day trips
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Perm Poon Sub Boat - 5 Island Snorkelling... 650Bht (£12:50) per person for a full days Snorkelling visiting 5 islands (Koh Yak Lak, Koh Rang Beach, Koh Marping, Koh Yak Yai, Koh Wai).

We were picked up on time at 07:45 at our accommodation (White Sands beach resort) and driven the 30 mins south along the western coast road to Ban Bang Bao pier, where our trip was leaving from.

the boat was a really good size and even with the 70+ people (international cliental) on board there was plenty of room... if your a sun god head straight up both flights of stairs once on board and lay uour towels out up on the roof... (plenty of shade available throughout the day as and when required), Otherwise just pick a seat sit back and relax...

The views are simply breathtaking from the minute you set off and its at this point that the crew introduce themselves... All the crew are extreamly helpful and speak a decent standard of English... there was ample time for snorkelling at each island location and the crew are in the water with you pointing things out, diving to the bottom for dropped snorkels and helping the older and younger people on and off the boat.. (Buoyancy aids are provided for those who are not strong swimmers). You need to remember that your booking comes with one free snorkel and mask no matter if you have 1 or 20 or more members in your group / family... If your on a budget, you could all book separately for the same trip and avoid the 200Bht (£4) hire fee for the additional mask & snorkel... Fins (flippers) are also available for hire at 100 Bht (£2) per pair per person for the day don't come as part of the package, in my opinion you really don't need them...

Lunch was way more than i was expecting and consisted of noodles, rice, chicken. Vegetables, Eggs, all beautifully cooked with fresh pineapple and watermelon for desert. Fresh cold drinking water available throughout, as well as tea and coffee (soft drinks, cola, beer, crisps etc are available to buy- very cheap) after island 4 we also had a small afternoon BBQ with salad.

Kayaks were made available at each location (free) as was a small inflatable speed boat at a couple of locations to drop off on deserted island beaches those who had had enough of snorkelling. Bring your own towels.

Once we got back to Ban Bang Bao pier where we had half an hour to do a spot of shopping in the amazing pier market and then we met our transport which dropped us back at our accommodation.

My only criticism would be that a couple of the islands are pretty close together, but all in all a highly recommended great value for money day out and one that is not to be missed...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebates22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    6
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what else do you want for $20?”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After reading the pompous gits review before me stating he was such a experienced diver that he didnt have to wear a life jacket then complain when they told him everybody had to wear 1 i just dont know what people wnat for $20..They pick you up about 9am give you a hearty rice breakfast, lunch,snacks, tea coffee help yourself all day...tell you were your going on a map in poor english(what do you expect?) snorkelling,kayaking.Then after all that at the end of the day at 5pm you get dropped off at your hotel...maybe aussie_bandit wants his money back??? poor guy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere, no regard for passengers or the reef”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently have returned from a trip to Thailand including 6 days in Koh Chang. We booked the “5 Island” dive trip on Perm Poon Sub through our hotel, and to say we were disappointed is an understatement. I am a qualified diver, however my partner isn’t. so we decided to do a snorkelling trip instead. I have been on my fair share of dive boats over the years from Australia to the Middle East, so I think I am fairly well placed to comment on our experience.

We were picked up promptly and on time by our bus at the front of our hotel in Kai Bae Beach, and were taken on a shortish ride with other passengers down to Bang Bao. We walked through the charming fishing village, and boarded the boat. The boat we were actually going out on was moored one boat away from the pier, so we had to climb on the first boat, and then work our way off the side of the desk of that boat onto the other, with minimal hand holds etc… safety clearly wasn’t a major factor here!

We boarded the boat and took our seats up stairs, on plastic chairs that were tied with string to the sides of the boat so they didn’t move around too much. The boat then headed off, no introduction, no safety briefing, nothing… everyone left to fend for themselves. The boat was packed, and it seemed that the staff had a lot of family and friends on the boat, as being the high season, there were not a lot of paying guests. This was reflected in the service, where the staff were all too happy to show the local Thai’s the animal identification charts and the map of where they were going, but didn’t show it to either ourselves or the two Russian couple in front of us.

We pulled up at the first snorkelling site, and were greeted with the view of four other boats, and about 200 people in the water. It was made compulsory to wear flotation devices in the water, which makes it impossible to snorkel properly as you can’t actually dive under the surface. When asked if we could go without we were told that that wasn’t possible, even though we are quite capable swimmers. I thought this might have been a safety policy, but I proved that theory wrong (more on that later).

So into the water we go, welcome to a mass of bubbles, bread being fed to the fish and general disregard for the preservation of the reef and the animals. The snorkeling sites were OK at best . People were allowed to stand on the reef, the guides were picking up urchins and other animals and bringing them to the surface, and even scraps from the food being prepared were being thrown overboard. One of the guides was pulling people along by getting them to hold onto a life jacket, he pushed past me in the water, asked me to get out of the way as he had paying customers on his guided tour, I was absolutely shocked.

We climbed back aboard the boat, to find that food was served and ready to go. It was a nice meal of local thai curries etc. One Thai passenger grabbed a plate and began to serve himself, so one of the Russian men thought it was ok to start serving, only to be shouted at and told that it was not ready to eat yet… this was a common occurrence with snacks later on and even the main meal… it seems that locals were allowed to do as they pleased, but foreigners were treated as second class customers. I have never seen anything so rude from Thai people ever before, or ever again!

The fruit was refrigerated; however the chicken skewers for the bbq were left out in the open air for a good 2-3 hours prior to being cooked, so needless to say we passed on those as they would have been well past their best.

I think the absolute lowlight happened when an Australian man was climbing down the ladder from the top deck to the one below, he slipped and fell quite awkwardly. All of the staff just looked and some even laughed… he had to help himself up and hobble away.

Beware the 5 islands pitch… in reality 3 of the islands are within about 100m of each other… hardly a change from one reef to the next! At one point we stopped between two islands, about 40m apart. This was classed as a ‘2 island stop’, and you could choose to either snorkel or to swim to the beach of the larger island. At this point I was told that I was allowed to swim to the beach without my life vest… so much for not being allowed to swim without one earlier!

If you want to do the snorkelling, do it with another operator, this company has no regard for their paying customers, safety of the passengers or crew, and no care for for the reef that they are bringing people out to see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Aussie_Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable day”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We did the 5 island day trip. 700bahtPP. We were picked up early morning, stopped off at a few other resorts to pick up other customers before arriving at Bang Bao. We had a lot of thai families on board the day we went out and it was most enjoyable. Snorkelling gear was available if needed. We bought bread rolls beforehand for 20baht a packet at Bang Bao Pier.
There were heaps of fish especially if you had bread to throw in the water. We were fed twice and there was also water,coffee available.. The captain offered me his tea bags which i thankfully accepted. After snorkerlling we headed by rubber duckie to Koh Rang beach, here there were heaps of mobiles hanging from the trees of dead coral...We headed to Koh Wai with the help of some music..Some of the staff had the younger ones up for a dance..It was beautiful heading back to Bang Bao seeing the light house.. We were driven back to our resort at the end of the day..most enjoyable and we would happily do another day trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckyJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for beginners”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We chose the five island tour for some snorkelling with one rookie & one experienced member and had a great day out. The 'slow' boat is very comfortable, offers good food & very friendly service.

The snorkelling itself is a mixed bag - the first stop is the best reef and beginners are taken round the reef and have the local sea-life pointed out & explained to them so its a great introduction. The second & third islands are actually side by side and you're not really given enough time to explore both but again there's plenty to see and do. The fourth stop is a small reef but with food for the fish being thrown overboard you're very quickly enveloped by huge shoals of fish which is tremendous fun. The final stop is a bit of a rip - you do get the benefit of a stop on beautiful Koh Wai but there's little in the way of snorkelling.

Overall a very fun day but if you're an experienced snorkeller you may get less than you expected. If you're new to the sport then its highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank squaretiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perm Poon Sub Boat Trips day trips also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Perm Poon Sub Boat Trips day trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing