We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice, clean and nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boonya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boonya Resort
Ranked #11 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good choice, clean and nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed in Boonya almost one month. We got a fan room upstairs, with refrigerator and even a watercooker. Clean ( daily roomservice ) but maybe the furniture should be changed because they are bad smelling.
nice swimming pool, large parking area and almost quiet, because it's a little bit away from the mainstreet. Some Shops and Restaurants nearby.
Just a good choice for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_TULACI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
33
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surin, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed in the Boonya Resort, 5 times in the last 3 years.......It is a fantastic little resort......It has a gorgeous swimming pool and a sitting area to relax.....It is situated in a nice quiet area of the island and has plenty of parking space..........The staff are so friendly and very helpful.........The owners are, our friends now.......My Wife and I are heading there for our Christmas holidays 2013, which will be our 6th visit............All we had to do, was to ring up and book our chalet.......All done and my Wife chatted with the owner, for ages, catching up on old times..........Every visit, we get a very warm welcome............
I would strongly recommend the "Boonya Resort" to anyone visiting Koh Chang.........

Room Tip: My preference are the chalets, but, to be honest, all their rooms, are clean and well maintained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place was selected by my Thai friends after checking out a few other places. If you are looking for a simple, quiet and clean place at a reasonable price you should be satisfied staying here, although I would not call it a resort. They have rooms with AC or Fan and a number of nice bungalows. Room was large and bed was very firm. There is also a swimming pool. Furnishings were old and worn, but it was clean and had a cold fridge and good shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The island has so many options that we weren't too happy with our choice to stay at the Boonya. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The Boonya is a two-storey motel where the fronts of the majority of the rooms look out onto the parking lot. That isn't such a bad thing, however the whole front of the room is smokey glass. So, for privacy you have to keep your curtains completely closed. The curtains were made of a satiny pink material. We didn't spend a ton of time in the room, but when we wanted to rest and have some down time out of the heat and sun the room just wasn't comfortable.

On a positive note, they have a restaurant right nearby and they make great banana pancakes :) They do have a pool onsite as well but we didn't use it so I can't comment on it.

I don't think it would take a lot to make this place more cozy and more inviting, but for the price I would rather pay a bit more and get a more comfortable room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 863KarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks off season so got a fantastic rate for an air conditioned bungalow. This is not a big place and there are no frills but the staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were spacious enough and cleaned regularly.
The grounds outside the bungalows are well kept with a nice variety of plants which makes a pleasant view when sitting on the porch and you get a free tokay with every room which keeps the mosquito population down.
It's a bit of a walk to the beach but still doable or if you are feeling lazy just wander on to the road and flag down a taxi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was accommodated here in a fan room by a company that I was to do some business with, the accommodation I was provided in the units was basic but clean. The first room was fan cooled only which was not an issue, the bed was comfortable the sheets and linen clean. The 2nd room I occupied at the end of my business was an air conditioned room which was of a similar design as the first again it was clean and comfortable which is all that I require.

The staff (management) were friendly and helpful the domestic staff spoke little English as they are Cambodian and dont appear to have had the exposure however they kept my room clean and tidy. There is a pool which I used on several occasions it appeared to be well maintained.

I chose to eat at the Boonya Restaurant at the front of the property and found the staff and food excellent and not overly expensive. The karaoke was a bit hard to take at times.

That said I would and will stay there again when on Koh Chang as it suits my purposes its not 5 star but then if that is what you seek go to the Dewa or Amari.

Next visit I may take a bungalow as an option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Wildgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Located on the road by klong prao it is a bit away from the beach. However, it is a very clean place with a really good value for money. Paid 1000 bath a night in high season for a big, new bungalow and got free wifi, nice swimming pool and daily cleaning.

Quiet place, only a bit noise from the road. Staff was friendly and in general the place was really well kept and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graugart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.1 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#7 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
1.8 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#10 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dewa Koh Chang
The Dewa Koh Chang
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonya Resort

Property: Boonya Resort
Address: Klong Prao Moo 4 | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boonya Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is under new management by the Italian Family Christine and Roland Losso. We are speaking English, Italian, German and Thai. We have several beautiful and clean bungalows and rooms with air condition, TV, mini Bar, hot shower and WIFI, located within a tropical garden. We offer a delicious Breakfast, Thai and Italian specialties and drinks. Our swimming pool area and cozy deck beds invi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Boonya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing