We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and well located (a little bit uphill)”
Review of Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Lodge
Ranked #28 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Elche
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice place and well located (a little bit uphill)”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice place in White sand beach, distant from the noise of the street, but close enough to go walking to any restaurant or to the beach.
Nice rooms with a little terrace. There are some uphill, what is a little inconvenience if you have to carry heavy luggage.
It's clean and with nice views of the forest in the mountain (uphill rooms)
Good restaurant.
Shower ok.

Room Tip: There are many rooms and some uphill. You'll have good views but you'll have to carry your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambolebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for a week, since there wasnt anywhere else to stay on white sands. The walls were thin, many ladies of the night stayed with thier friends and famlies.
The rooms were dirty could do with a lick of paint and new mattresses and pillows. Smelt damp in the room. You have to walk up steep steps to get to the rooms. Not a good place for families. More for single people.
Breakfast was good but not included in the price.
This place is an over priced hostel for single men.
Location a bit far out and inland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed 8 nights,very relaxing with mountain views and sound of ocean! Clean rooms friendly staff and great owner.Air-con and cable TV,good shower etc! A great little place to eat just across from the lodge (eat there or take back to your room, a family run business) Short walk to beach,shops,restaurants etc,and food stalls open about 5pm on main road and plenty of bars up the road too.If you don't mind stairs second from the top "good".Missing black dog!!! best dog i've seen in Thailand!!!!

Room Tip: The higher you go,the better! But the stairs may worry some people!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewB62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Room was £6 a night for twin so was super cheap. Hot shower and clean towels daily! Really lovely staff and dogs and about 1-2 mins walk from great food stalls and the beach. Absolutely would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swailes_from_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were travelling Thailand so were abit low on funds by the time we got to Koh Chang so we were looking for budget accommodation , after reading the reviews for Island Lodge we couldn't believe our luck to find this little gem for such a good price!
Lesson learnt...if it sounds too good to be true then it probably is. We booked a standard cabin with a fan as we didn't expect to be spending much time in the room anyway,we just wanted somewhere clean to sleep.
We were greeted at check in by two Thai ladies and the one helped us up steps with our bags to our room...oh my gosh!!! The double bed was on the floor,yes in the floor,there wasn't enough room to stand with your arms stretched out either side let alone another person in the room aswel,the bathroom was like a dungeon and there seemed to be someone already living there...a frog. The bed was like concrete an the fan useless,the curtains were dirty and sticky,I understand that you get what you pay for but this for me was abit too much. It wasn't long before we asked for an upgrade. We moved to a room up about 4flights of stairs with air con,an actual bad and amazing views ! Perfect ! Although u couldn't sit out and enjoy the views from the fantastic balcony because the patio furniture was filthy! Again bed was solid but we have realised that this seems to e the norm around Thailand anyway. Again more lodgers in the room,this time lizards but you are in the rainforest I suppose so decided to grin and bare it. As is know on Thailand your used toilet tissue is to be put in the bin and not flushed which is fine but why then do they not clean the rooms for 3days!! Meaning you have a bin full of used toilet tissue in the room for 3days,not hygienic. We didn't see any staff after the first day. In fact we had actually started to move our stuff to the new room before officially upgrading because there were no staff around. I don't know wether because it was low season then this was the norm (+we seemed to be the only people dull enough to stay there) We stayed 3nites paying $600a nite until we saw sense and moved to a fantastic place on the island for $650 per night,still a bargain! I understand that you get what you pay for and wasn't expecting anything fantastic just clean rooms and I maybe could have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLJLPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I have loved it here and I would recommend this 100%! It's so peaceful and located in a quiet area with no disturbances.

Fantastic if you're on a budget! I stayed in a bungalow with a fan 600 baht per night (i think this was high season???) It contained a double bed and a bathroom with excellent access to wifi and hot water.

The rooms are cleaned every 2-3 days with clean towels and sheets.

The rooms are basic but in a place like Koh Chang it's unlikely you will stay in the room all day...unless it rains therefore sit in the dinning area and have a beer, read a book!

I would like to thank you personally for making my relaxing holiday just excellent. Tonight is my last night here and I wish I had longer!

A simple 5 minute walk to the beach and main street...excellent to burn off all those beers at the end of the night! The hill is a bit steep but you get used to it!

I have stayed here for 11 nights and I am very sad to leave.

Graham is very friendly along with the other staff, he was very helpful and patient prior to my arrival and tried to help me all he could when booking my room.

A huge thankyou to you and I will hope to return soon!


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleyhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

stayed here from the 15/12/2012 to 26/12/2012 found it to be nice the room was very clean and the staff and owners were both very friendly and very helpful
stayed in a fan cooled room which was very comfortable
i would stay here again it was a good experience
the food was very nice and the prices very reasonable
you have to walk up abit of a hill off the main road but it was worth the walk
found it very easily and it was nice to be away from all the noise of the main town

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.2 mi away
Elephant and Castle Bungalows
0.1 mi away
Apple Beachfront Resort
Apple Beachfront Resort
#38 of 115 in Ko Chang
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
The White Elephant Resort
The White Elephant Resort
#26 of 115 in Ko Chang
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Erawan Koh Chang
The Erawan Koh Chang
#2 of 107 in Ko Chang
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macura Resort
Macura Resort
#19 of 115 in Ko Chang
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Bill Steak House
Buffalo Bill Steak House
#61 of 107 in Ko Chang
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Lodge

Property: Island Lodge
Address: 8/17 Moo 4, White Sand beach | Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and charming resort and only 200m to the beautiful white sandy beach. Close to all entertainments and restaurants.Rainforest and some sea/island views. Motorcycle and car rentals, popular excursions and super restaurant featuring healthy breakfasts, Euro/Thai foods, great house wines and cold beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing