We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all true!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Ton Rak Boutique Resort
Ranked #15 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's all true!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a real boutique resort with a dedicated, friendly, knowledgable European owner who really takes care of his property. Spotless clean - 6 rooms - with a very cool Thai vibe. Well shaded, bikes for rent; terrific place to chill or use as home base. Thanks Heinz!!! Looking forward to visiting you again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zzuBzzuBTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
40
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Domodossola
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Only one word to Say: amazing!
The place is clean, confortable and quiet.
It has only six rooms, all with ac private bathroom, safety boxand king size bed! We staied there 4 days and we enjoyed every moment...and heinz, what can i Say.....it's a friend, always ready to give an hand, always friendly.
In really few places you can feel an homestay holiday as in baan ton rak, i think the best b&b in koh chang, and maybe in thailand....
So if you can find a room here, don't think about that.....Just book! That's my advice. You can also rent a motorbike here and go around the island by yourself
Ps in the night you Will feel safe, there's bella(the dog) Who ensure your sleep!

Matteo & Valeria
Italy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rakpearlbeach, Owner at Baan Ton Rak Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello Valeria and Mateo
thx for this comment we had a great time maybe see you next year again

A BIG HUG!!!! to both of you

greetings Heinz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

For all those ofyou who would like to stay close to the beautiful Western beaches of Koh Chang the Baan ton rak is the perfect place. The hotel is located between Klong Prao and White sand beach at beautiful and lonely Pearl beach. The rooms are clean, well-equipped and even the ones facing the rioad are quit.
The estate reminds of a Wellness hotel in Bali and is a beautiful place to relax. Breakfast is availabele for 100-180 Baht and is the best we has in our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

but I would like to thank you, Anja and Heinz, for such a paradise and such a warm and beautiful place in person. there is not much more to wish for when travelling. the German breakfast was delicious, the rooms spacious, very clean and the towel-art just amazing. thanks bee for battling with us and giving us everyday a new towel-animal. just coming into the resort gives you an atmosphere of quietness, relaxation and holiday! friendly hosts give you a welcome feeling that after a short time or even minutes you will never want to leave. we definately are coming back.....thank you so much and see you soon again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seal0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I can't quite believe I'm writing this but when we told the owners, at 9.30am, that we'd like to check out two days early they threatened to call the police and have us thrown off the island... I have never been treated like that anywhere.
The reason we wanted to check out is that, although the hotel is very well put together, with nice room fittings and an amazing shower, the location means that its a 100baht taxi ride from the nightlife that we were looking for and the surrounding area seems abandoned and messy. Also, once we checked out other accomodation options, we realised that 1400baht a night was quite pricey for the area. So we decided to check out after one night at Baan Ton Rak, as someone in a previous review did as well, however the owners demanded that we pay another 1400baht to recompense them. They threatened to call the tourist police and have us thrown off the island when we refused. I appreciate that it must be difficult when guests check out early, which is income they were depending on, but I think that is the risk you run owning a guesthouse and that there are ways of handling such a situation in a way that doesn't turn threatening and aggressive.
I am not posting this review to be deliberately vindicative, but because I think the owners need to have a bit of a think about how they handle guests in the future. I'm hoping we just caught them on a bad day but if they are so desperate for income that they resort to this sort of behaviour then they perhaps need to reconsider their business.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank clarkerosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rakpearlbeach, Owner at Baan Ton Rak Boutique Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Sorry this is really not worth to comment every hotel in the world will charge you. if you are booking 3 nights you have to pay 3 nights it is also not worth to ask tripadvisor to delete this comment we wish miss clarke and mr tolley a nice holiday in ANOTHER Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Baan Ton Rak it's a really wonderful place. Only 6 spacious rooms provide privacy, quiet and kind of comfort. Amazing and stylish decor will be made in the memory forever. Owners are very friendly, helpful and after few days you can treat them as a friend.I am very happy that I could meet them! They have delicious breakfast, perfect cup of coffee, fresh sausage and bread at the European level. There is no problem to walking to White Sand Beach - there is only 10-15 minutes road - of course there is no problem to take a taxi or motorbike also. I recommend this place to everyone who looks for peaceful and relaxing stay - ask for a massage at the hotel, it was really really amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monikaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathum Thani
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Half a year has passed, since our last visit here. Much has happened since. With great attention to detail, the new owners have personally overseen every detail of this place. The rooms were quite nice before, but if you see them now, you will be surprised too. Neat decorations blend in so well with the lush tropical garden outside. The breakfast area has been remodelled and equipped with cozy furniture, the breakfast itself is worth the little surcharge for it and the few rooms they have will sure go fast in high season.

The owner couple (Dutch/German) is perfectly multilingual and dedicates time to each guest, if you have questions about Koh Chang. Their fleet of rental scooters is well maintained and rents are cheap. This covers for a location not directly at the beach, because it opens up at least three different mile-long beaches within a 5 minute distance from Baan Ton Rak.

Their bathrooms are outstanding and in a class of their own! We extended our planned stay and will return again. Make sure to book early, as their few rooms go fast.
They are very kid-friendly at this resort! Our youngster loved it there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.8 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
1.6 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#7 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
2.9 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Ton Rak Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Ton Rak Boutique Resort

Property: Baan Ton Rak Boutique Resort
Address: 36 / 10 / 9 Moo 4 | Pearl Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Ton Rak Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is a beautiful boutique hotel set in the fascinating scenery of the green mountains. There are 3 houses with 6 double rooms within a wonderful tropical garden. It is an ideal place for quiet and relaxing holidays. The resort lies between the beautiful beaches of White Sand and Chai-Chet. Wireless internet is available free of charge. It is only a 200 m walk to the sea and 1.5 km to the main tourist place of Koh Chang, White Sand Beach. Some small restaurants and shops are nearby. The ferry passage from the continent inclusive transfer to the resort lasts ca. 45 minutes. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished and have a bathroom with shower, WC, air-condition, minibar, safe and SAT-TV. Board: European breakfast Extra: free-of-charge shuttle to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Baan Ton Rak Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing