We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$47
View deal
Booking.com
$50
View deal
Agoda.com
$34
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Priceline$40
Hotels.com$47
Travelocity$47
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
93
19
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
93
19
3
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 118 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Half a year has passed, since our last visit here. Much has happened since. With great attention to detail, the new owners have personally overseen every detail of this place. The rooms were quite nice before, but if you see them now, you will be surprised too. Neat decorations blend in so well with the lush tropical garden outside. The breakfast area has been remodelled and equipped with cozy furniture, the breakfast itself is worth the little surcharge for it and the few rooms they have will sure go fast in high season.

The owner couple (Dutch/German) is perfectly multilingual and dedicates time to each guest, if you have questions about Koh Chang. Their fleet of rental scooters is well maintained and rents are cheap. This covers for a location not directly at the beach, because it opens up at least three different mile-long beaches within a 5 minute distance from Baan Ton Rak.

Their bathrooms are outstanding and in a class of their own! We extended our planned stay and will return again. Make sure to book early, as their few rooms go fast.
They are very kid-friendly at this resort! Our youngster loved it there.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Baan Ton Rak and great place to relax and the couple that own the place Heinz and Anja are so helpful its unbeliveable, there is so much to do around the area as well, you can hire a motobike from them as well and cruise around at your own time, Baan ton rak is a credit to Koh Chang, Heinz and Anja they have done so well looking after the place ! as soon as you walk into the place you feel like it is home but in a different country, Thanks for my stay will defo be back again!!!! Jez Hibberd / London - England.

Room tip: All rooms are really nice and clean and really looked after.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez252
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

What a lovely place! Great hosts (Anja and Heinz). They gave me and my friend very valuable tips on do's and dont's. Only six lovely rooms. If you are into small friendly boutique resorts, this is your place. Great breakfast. Spaceous and very decorative rooms. Very clean! And a great location. They rent ou scooters for only 150,- Baht per day and you're next door to the local action eventhough the resort itself is very tranquil. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkandCorine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 days in this cozy little resort on Koh Chang. Beach lovers may find it a bit far from the gorgeous bathing beaches, but the short drive on the rental moped covered this minor deficit for us well enough. The resort is in the main island road and hence serviced by the island taxis (convenient, when coming from the ferry). Past the resort village of White Sands Beach, the B&B is near the Hat Khai Muk Beach or a few hundred meters before the islands Post Office.
Rooms are nicely decorated and the lush garden is well kept. Enormously well outfitted bathrooms with plenty of amenities and a comfortable bed made our stay enjoyable. WiFi is provided free of charge on the premises. A big plus are the sculptural decorations within the entire resort, various fountains and reliefs provide a pleasant atmosphere. Good food can be had nearby (local Thai dishes), but the splendor and variety of Koh Chang's restaurant variety is within a few Kilometers reach.
Heard that the owners want to add a pool, that would enhance this place even more.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This place came to be a first choice on our first ever trip to Koh Chang after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. It really matches with most positive comments.

The just few rooms are nice trial to be elegant, space full and airy. Extremely comfy beds! A very friendly owner Gary. A good initial attempt to create a kind of secluded place with a lovely small fish pond and lots of Angkorian statues all around in the outside lounge area. Though the whole decoration theme had a feel of rush and little uncared for. We found the non-existence of any gate looking little awkward, while you sit and chat in the lounge area - you are constantly overwhelmed by the road traffic sounds. And the road noise is quite strongly heard in the front rooms as well (The place is located right on the main road of KC), so to us it wasn't really secluded and didnt' felt like staying on island but rather in Bangkok roadside cafe. But the rooms comfort level had forgiving point.

In spite of liking the place overall we had to leave just after the 2 nights stay. Simple reasons for that:
- none of us can drive the scooter (The place is situated between major beaches, so you ll have to DRIVE not walk to visit for a swim the White Sands, Kae Bae etc.)
- we are vegetarians (yes, that happens to those coming to Thailand:))) (And we had a great deal of trouble finding food just around Ban Ton Rak, since it is little bit isolated and there are just few small restaurants with very limited menu choice around.) We finally left for Kae Bae Beach to stay right on the beach and lots of food around wishing the BTR could be transferred there too:)

I believe however this place could prove a very nice spot to those who drive scooters and are non-vegetarians:)

Thanks to owner Gary for overall nice experience!!

Room tip: Choose backside rooms for lower noise level during the nights.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yangzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews