We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love,love,love”

Mak Mak Family Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 237 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Mak Mak is a cozy family restaurant which serves Thai food as well as French and Italian and has a extended choice of Seafood Bbq in High Season. The restaurant is half closed, half open and has a big bar in the center and a free 8" Pool table. There is a childrens playground in the garden.
Langnau am Albis, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love,love,love”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

If you wanna have the best italian pizza in Koh Chang, you just can find it there. I visit Koh Chang three years already and I always come a lot of times in here to eat my most favourite pizza. Not just the pizza even the Thai food is one of the best I tried. The owners, Edwin and his wife are leading the restaurant together. They and the waiters fulfill every wish of the costumers and the service is very friendly and you never need to wait a long time for your order, what actually is not typical for Thailand :) The restaurant looks very beautiful and charming, the toilet is clean, there also is a children playground and for adults there is a free pooltable. After the nice meal you also have the possibility to enjoy a real Italian icecream and to take a nice drink and the bar.
Its a real must to come in here.
Thank you Mak Mak from my side and I surely will come again.
Martin & Tamara

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    157
    81
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent for families”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ate at this restaurant on our last night in Kai Bae and we regretted that we had not found it earlier. Reason being is that not only do they serve great food, at a reasonable price, but they have a children's playground at the back of the restaurant. We sat in the restaurant for about 3 hours (usually we are in and out of a restaurant within an hour with a 3 year old), ate our meal in piece, had an uninterrupted conversation, whilst our son happily played with a bunch of other kids in the playground - what a fabulous place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Super thaifood and the best steak ever in Koh chang. We lived here more than a month now and the wish for european food start to come up. Then the steaks, even with bernaise was appreciated very much. Thestaffa little lazy after christmas and new year, but i can forgive them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Chang, Thailand
1 review
“Very good place”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We tried Regina pizza in that restaurant - so it was so great to find a real pizza on koh-chang. But if you prefer thai foods, this restaurant is the best choise - whatever you order everything is ecxellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalmarishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food of our stay in Koh Chang”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I followed the reviews from here to this restaurant. This restaurant is located at Kai Bae Beach area, south of a hotel called The Stage. Very easy to find, and we were instantly greeted kindly by the owner of the restaurant. We ordered 3 warm dishes: Stir-fried prawns with garlic, Green curry with chicken and Yellow curry with beef.
I have to say this was the most authentic thai flavours we had in Koh Chang. Just the right amount of chili in the curries and very creamy with fresh coconut milk.
The ambience was really nice too with outdoor seatings and you can gaze at the main street while eating. We could even see the owner in action with taking the orders and expediting. It really felt like it was very organized and everyone was in a good mood. The service was really kind and the food came out rather fast and the presentation was really pretty, with coconut cream and fresh basil sprinkled on top of the curry.
3 warm dishes, 2 rice and 2 fruit shakes for 750BHT. Totally worth every piece of baht.
No doubt the best dining experience of our stay in Koh Chang.
Looking forward to coming back to Koh Chang and try the green curry again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e_nieuwkerk, Owner at Mak Mak Family Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear mrminguan,

I want to thank you for your review on behave of the whole Mak Mak family. We receive many good reviews, but "the best food on Koh Chang" is the first time. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our restaurant so much. Not only the food, but also the ambiance and most of all service. We will continue to keep up and really hope to see you again in our restaurant.

Thank you very much

Edwin Nieuwkerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mak Mak Family Restaurant also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang Tai, Ko Chang
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Mak Mak Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing