We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food, friendly staff & lovely atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magic Garden Resort
Ranked #17 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's one of those places in Thailand what still makes u feel like u are in Thailand. Great place to meet people. One of the best Pad Thais I had and Mai Tai here is yummy. And staff is very friendly and funny.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maija A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Mat, the Dutch owner is so sweet and watches over the place with a kind but firm hand. The food is the best on the island and he will be your best and free and correct info about Koh Chang. Try the Chicken Cordon Bleu and the passion fruit caiprinas. So awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank stonelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The food served here at Magic Garden is AMAZING! It's a relaxing location also with nice big sofas & dim lighting! Heaven!

Koh chang itself is the most beautiful island I have been to so far! Lovely like minded people staying here. Beautiful beaches (even more so in south)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

i got recomended to stay in magic garden. i cant say my stay has been great because of the staff. i ordered food on the first day, it was quiet in the restaurant and yet my food took 1 hour to arrive and that was after the staff had eaten his! then he doesnt even bring me any cutlery!! the next morning i ordered the prisoners breakfast which was 2xtoast with butter and jam...really not difficult but some how it took about 40mins n came out cold! then on the 3rd day i went to pay for my room (daily) and they told me i hadnt payed for the day before when i clearly had! they had not written it in the record book. after waiting for more members of staff to discuss the problem they said it was ok. so i go to my room to find they have changed the locks?????????!!!!!!!! they changed it 'for my own safety' also the room is ment to have hot water, it has the system but only cold water comes out.

its a shame coz the bungalows are nice and the garden is pretty but be careful the paths can be really slippery when wet..as i found out! i wouldnt stay here again, there are better and cheaper places around.

Room Tip: ask for a room futher down away from the music blaring from the bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachaddict89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Did not stay at Magic Garden but just want to advise any passers by to get Chulee's Thai cooking book and take it home with you. It's amazing!
Anne, DK

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneBC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

After staying for 2 nights on the beach we were glad we explored Lonely Beach further and found the Magic Garden.
Our bungalow was clean, well maintained and the hot shower for the price we paid was unexpected. The bungalows look really cool from the outside and laying in the hammock on our own porch the garden gave a really relaxing feeling and very close to nature.
We ate a 3 different occassions in the restaurant (where they play really cool tunes) and all 3 times the food was excellent and the service genuinely friendly.
Unfortunately Koh Chang was the last part of the trip and we could only stay for 5 days in the Magic Garden. When we come back we certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: They have two kind of bathrooms, open roof and closed. We looked at both and decided the open roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

After checking all the possible guesthouses on internet in Koh Chang, I wanted to try this one and was totally disappointed. Although the huts look nice from outside, they are not good that all inside. Ours was not clean, the mosquito net was full of holes and outside, they leave all the garbage which stinks really bad. Because of the noise from outside, it is not possible to sleep anyway (but we knew this before). I am sure one can find a better place in Koh Chang for 500 Baht per night (we did find, but it was too late).

The bar area looks nice, but the woman working there looks really unmotivated, probably she needs support, as he is serving most of the time alone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#16 of 133 in Ko Chang
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Flower Resort
Sea Flower Resort
#2 of 14 in Ko Chang Tai
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
3.8 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
7.9 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Garden Resort

Address: 37 / 4 Moo 1, Lonely Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Magic Garden Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing