We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but isolated”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We knew little about the layout of Ko Chang so it was not the fault of the hotel that we felt a bit isolated. The hotel pool more than made up for the lack of a nice hotel beach but not being able to walk to other beaches was a disappointment. The hotel management was helpful with suggestions for getting around although the options were limited to taxis and motorscooters and as the roads are steep and narrow the latter was not an attractive option. We had a superior room looking out towards the ocean. The room was beautifully clean and the bed comfortable for us although quite firm. The only negative was being woken a couple of times during storms when for some reason the room's vestibule light went on. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of options. Definitely a good value hotel that provided a pleasant and peaceful environment .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trainlovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

More or less on the end of the road (and beyond!) lies this wonderful Tropical Beach resort where I stayed 2 weeks. I had a very nice time there but for other travellers it is worth knowing a few facts:

The road ends about 1.5 km before the resort and after that, you have to go on a bumpy dirtroad to get to the resort. You could however walk along the beach to and from the main road which is only about 600 meter. I had a motorbike and I quite liked it but other people felt a bit trapped there.

The beach in front of the resort is very rocky and not so nice for swimming but if you walk about 300 meter towards the main road, there are lots of nice places to swim and relax, with free comfortable beds to lie upon all day as long as you have something to eat or drink there. I found it to be the best beach on the island to read and relax and where beds are free.

Now the bugalows are detached and therefore much more quiet than in other resorts where neighbours can be noisy. There is a neighbouring resort that sometimes has Karaoke evening that can be noisy but usually they stop earlyish (10 PM).

On the other hand, the lights stay on all night in the park and the curtains are very thin, so I felt like it was day i.s.o. night every time I woke up in the middle of the night. I decided to use my blankets and towels as curtains to dim the lights, very annoying.

The people in the resort are very friendly but asking for a thinner pillow never resulted in actually getting one.

Overal it was a very relaxed stay, with friendly smiles everytime I saw one of the staffmembers. The rooms were spacious and clean (but why not paint the walls i.s.o. the prison-look raw concrete?) and eventhough all the minor negative points, I would still recommend it to any body who just want to enjoy the sunset, the beautiful views of the mountains and the fishermen looking for shellfish. They might even find this resort to be perfect!

Room Tip: I don't think it is worth paying more for the front bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is on the opposite side of the ferry, passing Bang Bao Bay Village. It’s hard to get there because the last km to get there is not paved, and the last few kilometers before getting there are full with steep hills and curves; so taxis will charge you more to get there... THEREFORE: it’s ISOLATED! Which is AWESOME if you are looking for peace and tranquility.

We absolutely loved the location. You have the best views from here, since you can see all the big islands that you can not see from any other part of Koh Chang. The breathtaking views and the tranquility makes this hotel extremely romantic... no loud groups here!

Really good swimming beach, great snorkeling (they also provide snorkeling gear for FREE!) Free kayaks and PLENTY of places to go in them! You have a refrigerator in your room, AC and a patio with 2 chairs and a table (plus a hanger to dry your clothes! great idea for the swimsuits...) Oh! and there is a TV with a DVD player and they have movies and books that you can use for free (we didn't)

The hotel is very cheap, and don’t expect any luxury here... just come for the location, I think it’s a good value. They have a free breakfast (not very good, but oh well! Not a big deal, at least you can get your morning java). Food is not their forte, but you can walk to the hotel next door that has amazing food, there are several other small places you can go walking on the beach within 1km. OR you can get some amazing fresh fish in Bang Bao Bay Village, wich is just 4 km from the hotel.

The last day, we found out that they rent bikes for the day (for $6!!!) Next time, we'll rent one!

In a few words: great beach, big size rooms, Free Internet (good speed!), good water pressure, very friendly staff, very peaceful.... and...

GREAT value, you can not beat the price for the place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank morochaargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here recently with a friend for about 5 nights - 2 or 3 would have been better.

The bungalows are modern, with mozzie nets, fridges and inside showers - all the normal things you would expect - quite nice. The beach is very small, with only a handful of sun beds, which are mostly in the shade. The breakfast is a standard buffet, nothing special, with a couple of choices only, and if you are really good you may get a fried bug in there as I did! :-)

Didn't try their lunch or evening menu - walked further down the beach every evening to the other resorts. In fact spent the days at the resort next door (began with a C cannot remember the name) as they had a much wider beach, less coral, more sunbeds and a swimming pool (residents only).

The resort is at the far end of the island, in fact at the very end of the road! So its remote and although there are resorts to walk to on the beach (about 6 or so) there is nothing else to do here really and you cant walk to the road to get a taxi as the taxis dont come to the end of the road. So you will need to hire a bike (no insurance - standard at 250bt a day) and explore that way.

To be honest its a fine resort, I would say couples only and the bungalows are modern and clean but the beach isnt good and next time I would just go straight to Koh Mak and by pass Koh Chang altogether ....

Room Tip: Ps, it doesnt matter whether you get a sea view or not as the bungalows are rarely more than 50 yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger_Totty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had booked and had the paper work to prove we had reserved and paid for accomodation. We were told there wasn't a room for us. End of story, no offer to help find an alternative, no offer of a cold drink, nothing. Having been told that there was no room we were simply ignored in the hope that we would go away. We asked to speak to the manager/owner, eventually we were given the phone to speak to her. The same story, they were full, there was no room, go away. We were fortunate, we had a laptop and managed to find accomodation, probably the only accomodation on the Island, and after much hassle persuaded the manager to book this for us and transfer us. It was an hour away by taxi. End of story, nope, when we came to check out we were presented with a bill for our new accomodation. Sorting this out lead to a delay, we missed the ferry we wanted and we missed the minibus we had booked back to Bangkok. It ruined our NEW YEAR, as we had other family and friends booked close to Tropical Beach, so we weren't able to meet up easily. We did manage it but at a high cosy in taxi fares. We heard from others staying at the resort that a similar thing happened to some Scandinavians too. Again no room. DON'T GO THERE!!!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is located on the sea shore, plus minus O.K. Swimming pool not heated, water very cool. Staff speak very bad english, some hardly understande, especially in the restaurant. They mix orders, bring coffee that is not ordered. Most of staff are from Cambodia, not Thai. Spa centre overpriced, good masage salon, low prices, good quality, just behind the conner, Dada massage.
We booked superior beach front, that should be 54 m2, hardly 30, including bathroon. Rooms were cleaned only late in the afternoon, should be durning breakfast time, like normally in 5 star hotels.
Food for breakfast - average, good quality. Actually resataurant food was very good quality, just bit overpriced.
Check out - examine your bill!!! Examining bill I found out that half of it was not mine. Took 30 minutes to clear everything out. Be carefull.
They do not change Euros or Dollars at the reception.
Over all the hotel is nics, but do not expect 5 star service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Fairly basic (very comfortable, spacious and aircon fridge tv etc) but charming bungalows right on the beach to the south end of Koh Chang. Absolutely perfect for a romantic getatway from it all break. The staff are nice and helpful, will book you reasonably priced activities, eg motorbike, car hire, massage & elephant jungle ride, all of which which we we did and thoroughly enjoyed.Koh chang is a great island with many different resorts each with a different flavour, fantastic place to explore.

When crossing from the mainland at Trat, easy to get sucked in to paying a fortune to be transported to tropical beach, a good tip is to get a normal taxi (shared song tao) when you land on koh chang, they won't take you all the way to tropical beach for some strange reason, or rather they will charge a fortune to take you the last 10 minutes, however ask them ti drop you at the 7 - 11 in bang bao and the staff at tropoal beach are happy to collect you from here.

Restaurant was OK and shut early, but nice basic Thai food and service with a shuffle lol (you will uinderstand if you go). All in all we would wholeheartedly recommend Tropical beach for a romantic couples break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
7.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
3.8 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#34 of 73 in Ko Chang
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
290 reviews
6.6 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#28 of 73 in Ko Chang
90 reviews
4.2 mi away
Garden Resort
Garden Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Koh Chang

Property: Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Address: 42/1 Moo 2, Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Beach Koh Chang 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Beach Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing