We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Well-run”
Review of Top Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Top Resort
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Well-run”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Top Resort for 4 days, and enjoyed my time there the longer I stayed. At first I felt completely out of place, as 90% of the guests and all the management conversed in German, of which I do not speak a word. On the front desk there was a Top Resort Guide to Koh Chang given free to guests, but all the copies were in German. When I asked for an English copy, I was told that they did not get any printed, just in German, because, "We specialize in German clientelle." At that point, I was somewhat regretting my choice of choosing this hotel.

However, my deluxe room was large and clean, with a spacious balcony that had two sets of sliding glass windows, keeping the room very soundproof. There was no phone in the room, so any requests or questions meant I had to walk down two flights of stairs to the front desk, however. The bathroom was fairly large, with basic equipment, and plenty of hot water for the shower, once I had figured out how to get it to work. Someone prior to my arrival had pushed the wrong button, and all I could get was cold water, but when I asked the manager at the front desk he accused me of pressing something, and sent noone to help. Eventually I figured it out and pushed in a reset knob and got hot water.

The private beach is a quite a hike down some very steep steps to a very rocky little bay. No sunbathing here, but perhaps a nice place to do some snorkling. The pool was not overly large, and was full of guests with kids for the four days I was there. The staff were friendly, but not overly so, and the room was cleaned very promptly each day.

The highlight was definitely the fantastic ala carte breakfasts at Paul's restaurant, that sits near the back of the hotel property on the top of a cliff overlooking the sea. Paul is a character, who is incredibly funny and perhaps more then a little eccentric as well. The breakfasts were fantastic, and came with a basket with not only white toast, but real German brown bread and crusty rolls as well. Bacon and Eggs, with coffee and toast was a meal that would last me half the day!

The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk south of the public access entrance to White Sands Beach, with many other bars, spas and restaurants nearby.

I would recommend this hotel to all German speakers, but for others I would definitely have some reservations about recommending it. For myself, should I return to Koh Chang, I would likely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LosBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    49
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
27
85
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Although Top resort is aimed more at the German tourist this is a great place for people no matter where you are from...From the start the feedback and help from Bernhard through email was second to none ,all the staff speak very good English and were so helpful with me and my family!!..We stayed in the family bungalow which was more than adequate for our 9 day stay and the pool and gardens are constantly being looked after and cleaned by the friendly staff!! we spent songkran at the hotel and had a brilliant laugh with all the staff who loved joining in with water fights...this was a very memorable trip for me and my family and we hope some day to return to koh Chang and The Top resort!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed there from Feb 5th to Feb 10th and loved every minute of it. The resort is very clean, the beds are comfortable, everything is maintained well and the stuff is one of the most helpful I've every experienced. I highly recommend the restaurant there as well. Great food, great view! Like I said - we loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bienchen185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last week and were very happy with the experience.

We arrived on Monday afternoon without a booking and asked for 3 nights in a Standard Room. However, they only had the Tue + Wed available in a standard room...and thus gave us a free upgrade to a sea view bungalow for the 1st night. Both the bungalow and the standard room were great.

German managed, but v. English-speaker friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The management in this place are truly abysmal. We were overcharged on the bill and then when we queried it they called the police! I get the feeling that this happens a great deal as the police were somewhat bored by the whole thing and were apologetic to us and the matter was sorted - but the resort management never showed their faces. The poor receptionist had to try and sort the matter, and he was obviously not charged with enough responsibility to make decisions. The management were hiding from us all the time, although they were nearby! The manager/owner (?) just was not interested in hearing what we had to say and just kept telling the staff to call the police.

The resort itself is reasonable. It is small, but the rooms are at a fair price. They are not the cleanest rooms I have ever seen (nor the best equipped), but they come at a fairly low price so my expectations were managed. I would say that, with the terrible management attitude, there are better resorts in the price bracket in the middle of White Sands - Top is definitely out of town (but not quiet!). If you are German then yes, you would probably feel more welcome, myself and my family (4 adults and 2 kids) didn't feel welcome at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Thewatcher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed with a our son ( 3years) at the hotel for 4 nights over Christmas. The deluxe room was more then what we expected. Large room with a balcony. The hotel has a small pool however this was not a problem as there was almost no guests by the pool. The minibar and the laundry service in the room have the same prices as the 7eleven store down the road.
The hotel personnel where very nice. It is a short walk to the beach, 10 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denheliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Almaty City, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am very dissapointed about some comments, that resort was not so good because have no direct way to the beach!
Guys, open trip advisor before you plan to stay at Top Resort, not after this!
I have set the highest score to this hotel, because I have not claims or complaints for this hotel, because I have faced with very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms and good restaraunt.
Several times I have asked Managers to solve my problems (wifi for examples) and they always do their best to make our stay there as pleasant as possible.
I wish prosperity and development to Top Resort!
See you in December 2012!

Room Tip: Garden Bungalows, Family Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EugeneM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#48 of 73 in Ko Chang
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
976 reviews
8.8 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#28 of 73 in Ko Chang
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#31 of 73 in Ko Chang
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Resort

Property: Top Resort
Address: 24/45 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach Road, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Top Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thailand's biggest island in the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Chang, offers with the Top Resort several suitable accommodations for the discerned lover of a tropical island. Our family-style resort is placed at the southern end of the "White Sand Beach" community, in the tranquility and privacy of a huge and lush tropical garden, which hugs a cliffside.Our layout is designed with maximum comfort in mind, we offer 12 well proportioned hotel rooms, 3 garden bungalows, the family apartment and 3 seaview-bungalows, overlooking the Gulf with its mindboggling sunsets.Our flagship rooms called seaview-villas, both have recently been completed and feature unobstructed panoramic views over the Gulf of Thailand from either your privat terrace or panoramic window. Let us be your host for an unforgettable vacation and provide you with a holiday residence in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Top Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing